Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Illusions : the adventures of a reluctant Messiah [Hardcover]

Richard Bach
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (102 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.



Book Description

1977
If you've ever felt alone in a world of strangers, missing someone you've never met, you'll find a message from your love in "The Bridge Across Forever."
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.


Product details

  • Hardcover
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press (1977)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0440043182
  • ISBN-13: 978-0440043188
  • Product Dimensions: 22.4 x 17 x 2.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (102 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 233,014 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"The five books that changed my life" (Woman) --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Book Description

An inspirational classic novella and mystical adventure story, from the author of the international New York Times bestseller Jonathan Livingston Seagull. Perfect for fans of Nevil Shute's Round the Bend. --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
First Sentence
1. There was a Master come unto the earth, born in the holy land of Indiana, raised in the mystical hills east of Fort Wayne. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the best book ever written :-) 1 Oct 2007
By ImReallyAnElf VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I first read Illusions 28 years ago, and it blew me away to find this guy saying so simply and so engagingly all the things that I'd struggled so hard to find out for myself .. all the things that really matter in life, but written like a fairy story, or an hour round the fire with a good friend, or ... well, you get the idea, I'm sure.

I kept having to put the book down every few pages, and just go, "oh YES! why couldn't I describe it like that?"

I must have bought around 20 copies by now - to give as presents and to replace when someone I'd lent it to said how much they loved it, and I told them "just keep it, then".

I still read it now & again ... and enjoy it as much as ever. I wonder how many books have that sort of loyalty? Not many in my (book!) case.

It's a fascinating book, because it can be read on so many levels: simply as a light fantasy; as a parable for all the spiritual things that really matter in life; a buddy story ... or indeed all of the above at once.

I call it my Bible, because I feel the God I know would prefer it to the Bible we're brought up with .. sorry to anyone who finds that blasphemous and upsetting, but that's my honest belief.

And it's so gently amusing while it's telling you something profound ... oh, that school teachers could grasp the value of that!

Look out particularly for the part where the vampire appears in order to illustrate the point that it's NOT always a good thing to do whatever you want so long as you hurt nobody .. that's one of favourite bits, along with the Butch Cassidy/tomato sauce blood explanation.

If you want a totally feel-good overall experience, and to be reminded of things we all would be better for remembering, do buy Illusions. I'm almost certain you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful to you?
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Introduction to Richard Bach 14 Aug 2006
Format:Paperback
This is the first book you should read by Richard Bach. It is a short yet compelling story infused with the notion that reality is not what it seems. There are many insightful visions in this text and like most important lessons, we already know them but need to be reminded from time to time.

If you have a few hours to spare then read this book. It will not change your life but it will change your attitude.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Changing 4 Jun 2005
Format:Paperback
I bought this book several years ago and from the first page it captured my imagination. Make no bones about it, this book is life and thought changing stuff. I have lent my copy to many friends and now it has started to fall apart, hence I have returned to Amazon to buy another copy.
I try to reread it about once a year and every time I pick it up, the story manages to provide answers to whatever questions about life that may be in my mind at the time.
Probably the best book I ever bought.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to change your life? 25 May 2006
Format:Paperback
Since discovering this book I have bought many copies of it to give to my students at the end of their 'A' level courses. An apparently simple story clearly told - but one which will tease you and make you review your own life and re-read the book over and over again.

If you need to reaffirm the purpose of life, see the wood from the trees, live life to the max and escape from a world view riddled with cliches ( ! ) then this is the book for you.

Undoubtedly the best present you could possibly give to yourself or any one else.
Was this review helpful to you?
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Inspiration 1 Oct 2002
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
I was lent the book by someone who had already made a great impression on my life, I had been inspired by this person and their views on life but when I read 'Illusions' i realised that this book was the source of my friends beliefs. I have always questioned life, it's meaning, my role, and worried about my responsibilty to others, within Illusions i have found many of my answers and have since been able to view things from different perspectives. You can get out of the book any answers that you want, you can read things as you wish to read them - it will therefore satisfy any mind and help with the answers to any questions. Thank you Nathan for passing on 'the massiahs handbook'.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still extraordinary after 15 years! 3 July 2001
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
Richard Bach's classic is one of the very first self-development/spiritual books I ever read, and 15 years later it still compares very favourably with the best of the rest. There is profound truth and subtle humour on nearly every page, and I strongly recommend this beautifully written book to anyone who has not come across it yet.
The author meets stranger and fellow pilot Donald Shimoda and the story unfolds. About a third of the way through Richard starts reading the "Messiah's Handbook" which is quoted liberally from then on. It contains various pearls of wisdom.... "You teach best what you most need to learn", "Argue for your limitations, and sure enough, they're yours" and (one of my favourites) "You are never given a wish without also being given the power to make it true. You may have to work for it however".
The chapter where Shimoda and Richard visit the cinema to discover the meaning of life is a high point and the twist at the end of the book is absolutely brilliant. Enlightenment!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful learning 7 Nov 2002
By Mr. R. N. Lock VINE VOICE
Format:Hardcover
Illusions is a wonderful experience. You are taken on a spiritual journey that will be insightful, enjoyable and engaging. I loved this book and learnt a lot about myself and where I am on my journey at this present time. Richard Bach has a brilliant way of making difficult concepts easy to understand. This book will be one you never forget and one you will pass on to your friends, so they can have this wonderful experience as well. my last words on Illusions : read it and learn more about yourself and our physical reality. brilliant !
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
perfectly beautiful timeless wisdom
Published 9 days ago by TJ Tribbeck
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
great
Published 28 days ago by eiram
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved Illusions, It was written just for me I ...
I loved Illusions, It was written just for me I am sure . But if you are considering reading it just read and hopefully it will teach you as it did me what you need to learn. Read more
Published 1 month ago by Amazon Customer
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time
I am still trying to work out what this book is about, I read the seagull and thought it was brilliant, I get a feeling that Richard was trying to get the same sort of thing going... Read more
Published 1 month ago by Harry
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
It is a brilliant read and made a wonderful present.
Published 1 month ago by Jo
5.0 out of 5 stars What if. . . . ?
Who wouldn't fall in love with the idea of a vagabond Messiah who flies a bi-plane??? Illusions is full of everyday wisdom , deep spiritual truths, challenging concepts, and giddy... Read more
Published 1 month ago by A. Knox
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Just great, read this book and you won't be disappointed.
Published 1 month ago by Lin
3.0 out of 5 stars Story
Quite a nice story with some interesting little maxims hidden in it, i would recommend it for a holiday read or a toilet book
Published 2 months ago by Tao
5.0 out of 5 stars Just wow!
I love this book; I had downloaded onto Kindle but may search for a hard copy, so I can hold it in my hands and pass it around. Read more
Published 3 months ago by TL Clark
5.0 out of 5 stars eye opening
After Jonathan Livingstone Seagull I had high expectations and was sure I would be disappointed - oh, the irony in that statement after reading the book.

Gripping... Read more
Published 4 months ago by Sara C
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback