Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah [Kindle Edition]

Richard Bach
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (141 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £7.99
Kindle Price: £5.49 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £2.50 (31%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £5.49  
Hardcover --  
Paperback £7.99  
Audio, Cassette, Audiobook --  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Book Description

In the cloud-washed airspace between the cornfields of Illinois and blue infinity, a man puts his faith in the propeller of his biplane. For disillusioned writer and itinerant barnstormer Richard Bach, belief is as real as a full tank of gas and sparks firing in the cylinders ... until he meets Donald Shimoda - former mechanic and self-described messiah who can make wrenches fly and Richard's imagination soar...



In Illusions, the unforgettable follow-up to his phenomenal New York Times bestseller Jonathan Livingston Seagull, Richard Bach takes to the air to discover the ageless truths that give our souls wings: that people don't need airplanes to soar ... that even the darkest clouds have meaning once we lift ourselves above them ... and that messiahs can be found in the unlikeliest places - like hay fields, one-traffic-light midwestern towns, and most of all, deep within ourselves.


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Page of Start over
This shopping feature will continue to load items. In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading.

Product Description

Review

"The five books that changed my life" (Woman)

Book Description

An inspirational classic novella and mystical adventure story, from the author of the international New York Times bestseller Jonathan Livingston Seagull. Perfect for fans of Nevil Shute's Round the Bend.

Product details


More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the best book ever written :-) 1 Oct. 2007
By ImReallyAnElf VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I first read Illusions 28 years ago, and it blew me away to find this guy saying so simply and so engagingly all the things that I'd struggled so hard to find out for myself .. all the things that really matter in life, but written like a fairy story, or an hour round the fire with a good friend, or ... well, you get the idea, I'm sure.

I kept having to put the book down every few pages, and just go, "oh YES! why couldn't I describe it like that?"

I must have bought around 20 copies by now - to give as presents and to replace when someone I'd lent it to said how much they loved it, and I told them "just keep it, then".

I still read it now & again ... and enjoy it as much as ever. I wonder how many books have that sort of loyalty? Not many in my (book!) case.

It's a fascinating book, because it can be read on so many levels: simply as a light fantasy; as a parable for all the spiritual things that really matter in life; a buddy story ... or indeed all of the above at once.

I call it my Bible, because I feel the God I know would prefer it to the Bible we're brought up with .. sorry to anyone who finds that blasphemous and upsetting, but that's my honest belief.

And it's so gently amusing while it's telling you something profound ... oh, that school teachers could grasp the value of that!

Look out particularly for the part where the vampire appears in order to illustrate the point that it's NOT always a good thing to do whatever you want so long as you hurt nobody .. that's one of favourite bits, along with the Butch Cassidy/tomato sauce blood explanation.

If you want a totally feel-good overall experience, and to be reminded of things we all would be better for remembering, do buy Illusions. I'm almost certain you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful to you?
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Introduction to Richard Bach 14 Aug. 2006
Format:Paperback
This is the first book you should read by Richard Bach. It is a short yet compelling story infused with the notion that reality is not what it seems. There are many insightful visions in this text and like most important lessons, we already know them but need to be reminded from time to time.

If you have a few hours to spare then read this book. It will not change your life but it will change your attitude.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Changing 4 Jun. 2005
Format:Paperback
I bought this book several years ago and from the first page it captured my imagination. Make no bones about it, this book is life and thought changing stuff. I have lent my copy to many friends and now it has started to fall apart, hence I have returned to Amazon to buy another copy.
I try to reread it about once a year and every time I pick it up, the story manages to provide answers to whatever questions about life that may be in my mind at the time.
Probably the best book I ever bought.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to change your life? 25 May 2006
Format:Paperback
Since discovering this book I have bought many copies of it to give to my students at the end of their 'A' level courses. An apparently simple story clearly told - but one which will tease you and make you review your own life and re-read the book over and over again.

If you need to reaffirm the purpose of life, see the wood from the trees, live life to the max and escape from a world view riddled with cliches ( ! ) then this is the book for you.

Undoubtedly the best present you could possibly give to yourself or any one else.
Was this review helpful to you?
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Inspiration 1 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
I was lent the book by someone who had already made a great impression on my life, I had been inspired by this person and their views on life but when I read 'Illusions' i realised that this book was the source of my friends beliefs. I have always questioned life, it's meaning, my role, and worried about my responsibilty to others, within Illusions i have found many of my answers and have since been able to view things from different perspectives. You can get out of the book any answers that you want, you can read things as you wish to read them - it will therefore satisfy any mind and help with the answers to any questions. Thank you Nathan for passing on 'the massiahs handbook'.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still extraordinary after 15 years! 3 July 2001
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
Richard Bach's classic is one of the very first self-development/spiritual books I ever read, and 15 years later it still compares very favourably with the best of the rest. There is profound truth and subtle humour on nearly every page, and I strongly recommend this beautifully written book to anyone who has not come across it yet.
The author meets stranger and fellow pilot Donald Shimoda and the story unfolds. About a third of the way through Richard starts reading the "Messiah's Handbook" which is quoted liberally from then on. It contains various pearls of wisdom.... "You teach best what you most need to learn", "Argue for your limitations, and sure enough, they're yours" and (one of my favourites) "You are never given a wish without also being given the power to make it true. You may have to work for it however".
The chapter where Shimoda and Richard visit the cinema to discover the meaning of life is a high point and the twist at the end of the book is absolutely brilliant. Enlightenment!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback
I first came across this wonderful, wise, witty little book about thirteen years ago around the time when my daughter was born and both events turned my life around !
Recently, I gave my copy to that same daughter and now she is enjoying its timeless, transformative, wisdom just as I did.
This is a book that transforms lives and that will make a wonderful little gift for just about anyone that you care about. Buy a few copies and leave them on buses and in waiting rooms and know that you will have brought a glimpse of enlightenment to whoever finds them .
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking & Inspiring.
Wow. A read that transcends past trying to understand to knowing. Just puts a different perspective on life. Won't be forgotten. Thank you Richard.
Published 11 days ago by Ashok Karra
2.0 out of 5 stars Short, disappointment
Great start rapid finish like an empty sandwich beautifully crafted but totally unsatisfying. I love this author I love his words and thoughts. Read more
Published 24 days ago by DJR
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
I liked the simplicity of the book but yet profound. We all have a choice, and it's good to share 😘
Published 1 month ago by Sandra Davies
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful tale.- full of wisdom and extremely readable
I read this classic years ago, and have now re-read it. It is a book one never forgets. I read it in Danish, so my quotes from it are my own translations from this language. Read more
Published 1 month ago by Iona Main Stewart
5.0 out of 5 stars As if by magic the shopkeeper appeared
I can't recall ever having laughed out loud whilst reading a book as I did with this one. It's time to let go of the rocks and stop being afraid. Thank You.
Published 2 months ago by Kevin Smollet
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
loverly story, helped me years ago.
Published 2 months ago by ceri smith
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Potentially life changing read..full of nuggets of wisdom
Published 3 months ago by Ernest Maylip
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book about the infinite human potential and the way ...
A great book about the infinite human potential and the way we can achieve it by using our mind differently
Published 3 months ago by Luca Regano
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Good present
Published 3 months ago by Ana Delgado
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
RECOMMENDED!!!
Published 3 months ago by Anton Fortein
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category