Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars134
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£21.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2011
Ever wondered what it would be like to be Godzilla or even Mothra, ploughing your way through Tokyo suburbs, intent only on defeating your irradiated opponent in a feast of atomic-induced rage? Well, thanks to Magic the Gathering creator Richard Garfield you can in King of Tokyo. He obviously couldn't get the official licence sadly.

It's a two to six player game that is short on rules and fast to play, with anyone over the age of six or so able to pick up easily. It's also very fast, which means that you can finish a game in a matter of 15 or so minutes. To become the King of Tokyo a player has to either reach either the defined number of victory points, or defeat all their opponents. The central mechanic of the game allows each player to roll six dice up to three times to achieve either - victory points, claws (which allow you to attack your opponents), energy or health. By collecting energy cubes you can purchase special abilities in the form of cards, although in the sessions played so far, I found these to be frustratingly a bit too random in terms of quality to really think about using a great deal.

The game's components are colourful and will appeal especially to younger children, with the creators electing for robust cardboard cutouts rather than figurines. There is a small, well-made board which determines who is the current incumbent of the title and the aforementioned power cards are drawn beautifully.

In terms of strategy, the game is easy to pick up without being too deep. One player will become King, which enables them to attack all the others players simultaneously. They can attain victory points by keeping this position, but conversely they cannot heal themselves. All other players can attack the king individually if they wish, but if they decide to, then upon receipt of damage the King can yield, which means the attacker must then become King of Tokyo. As such, it's

In a six player game, it is much harder to retain this position, so one must be careful. The result is usually a fast and furious game in which some players are eliminated without being able to really do much. The upside is that once one player goes in a six player game, the others usually follow suit soon after.

If you're looking for something that can engage all the family quickly in a fun, albeit aggressive, game, then King of Tokyo is a worthwhile purchase.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
Do not play it with less than four people. My family found it lacked depth and were surprised at the rave reviews.
Plays much better with many many more players.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
I saw this game on Rab Florence's top 50 board games list (over at rockpapershotgun.com and well worth a read if you're a boardgame newbie), and it did not disappoint! Each game takes roughly half an hour, in which time you will have gained ridiculous powerups, occupied Tokyo about 5 times and retreated again and caused a lot of mischief with your mates. The game is basically king of the hill, where everyone off the hill (Tokyo) has to attack the king, and the king attacks everyone else at once and gains points, but cant heal. This, coupled in with the lovely dice, the energy cubes and the character models (chunky 2D cardboard, really nice) make the game very tactile and a pleasure to play.

tl;dr: 10/10 can't stop playing!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
I bought this game to play with my 12 year old son to try and get him away from the PS3. He was not interested in "boring scrabble or monopoly" so I read about different games and settled on this, mainly because I thought the theme would appeal and it reviewed favourably.

The game works better with 3 players or more in my opinion as the two player game can sometimes be over a bit too quick so you don't always get into the cards and stuff but it is still playable with two. The monsters are all the same in that they have no individual identity other than the pictures on the scorecards and their representation in the playing area and there is a player elimination element which some people won't like. These are all minor gripes for me and there is an expansion that apparently adds a little bit more strategy, gives the monsters more of an individual identity and makes the 2 player game more fun so I will be looking to get that at some point.

If you are looking for deep strategy this is not that game. If you are looking for a light entertaining filler that doesn't take too long to play I would quite happily recommend it. The game has been a success in that my son is now interested in more in depth board games and will now quite happily ditch his PS3 controller for a handful of dice. We have had a lot of fun playing this and my partner and her 11 year old daughter also enjoy it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
I bought this on a Black Friday deal a couple of years ago without having done much research. All I knew was that I wanted to try out more board games.

I'm so glad I bought it as this has become our most-played game at home with the two of us and with friends at game nights. The way we introduce it to friends is 'Yahtzee with Monsters'. You roll dice to try and gain victory points to win or to try and get hits on other monsters. That's the basic game. But you can also buy cards which give you additional abilities.

We play with friends and even though it is quite a quick game we end up playing for hours! It's a great game to play competitively with friends and I would recommend buying the expansions too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2016
Not much to say that hasn't already been said about this game. It's a great game that I am equally comfortable playing with my 5 year old son and his mates, my friends, or even the parents. Very easy to play and only takes a few moments to explain.

If there is a criticism it is that the winner can often be determined as much by the draw of the cards and roll of the dice as by any skill on the part of the player. But then who cares when you are having this much fun. A super, light game that is suitable for any occasion and usually over in 20 minutes or so.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2015
Bought for £21.79 total in June 2015

King of Tokyo is a great relatively quick game. It's easy to learn and pretty fast paced. The main concept is to gain 20 points, either by occupying Tokyo centre, through dice throwing or buying cards. You play as a monster attacking Tokyo. Your character has a limited amount of damage it can take, though you can also heal (but not in Tokyo). On your turn you have to possiblity of attacking, healing, gaining points or gaining power cubes. This is all done via dice throwing so there is an element of randomness, though you can re-roll twice if needed. You can buy cards to boost attributes/attack etc with power cubes.

The game is best played with more than 3 people. Having 5 or more opens up more than 2 monsters in Tokyo itself which brings an added layer of depth. It can be quick to play so despite people being eliminated, it really isn't too bad. The graphics are vibrant and detailed, and the set is very good quality with large easy to see dice and cards for each character and a points tab. I would say this will appeal to the game enthusiast and the casual gamer too, though don't expect too much tactical nuance.

Overall this a very good game, and one I shall be playing for years to come. The price tage of less than £22 all in in was great too. I know there are expansions, so perhaps it is worth thinking about as long term investment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
This game is a light-weight filler that is all about having fun and not worrying too much about strategy.
The reason I've only given it three stars is that it features Player Elimination - in other words, when your monster dies, you're out of the game. This is fine as long as everybody understands this at the outset, but it's rarely fun to be knocked out of a game and have to wait for the rest to finish before you can play something else.

I could see it causing arguments amongst children too, as the core of the game is to decide who to attack and then inflict damage on them :-). Children that enjoy a bit of aggression and can deal with being eliminated will have a blast though, rolling dice and beating up other monsters.

Another minor criticism is that all of the monsters you play are the same in the base game. However, if you buy King of Tokyo Expansion Board Game this does make all the monsters different. With this expansion I would give the game four stars, but it does increase the cost significantly.

If you buy this game (or any other boardgame), you should definitely look on the superb Board Game Geek website to get lots of free variant rules that will add a lot of value to your purchase.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
I am 20 y.o and I am into board games. Tried this game with a group of people around my age. However, if you are looking at this game for young children, definitely go for it !

PROs:
Everybody loved it.
It is incredibly easy to teach and it is really fun when played in 3+ players.
2 players can play it but you might need to tweak the rules a little in order to make it last longer.
It has this element of back and forth which I always love in a game. No matter how desperate a situation is, you can still recover given the dice are in your favor.
It is a dice game so you need to expect some randomness, but you can always increase your odds by having a good strategy.
The art is amazing. It really feels like a nice polished game. Children and adults will love it.

CONs:
I can't help but feel that after a while it will become a little repetitive using the basic rules. I feel that with a creative mind, this game can be much much better as you can come up with different variants of the game so old players can still enjoy it.
The cards, although many, it is rarely that people get to buy a lot of them, given the high cost of some of them and the fact that gathering energy can set you back a little.

Overall it is a really fun game and it is guaranteed that you and you friends will have a blast playing it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I really enjoyed this, wonderfully simple fast paced game.
The great rerolling dice based game mechanic at the heart of KoT has a nice balance of chance and choice. My children and I had so much fun continuously relinquishing control of Tokyo once we'd all taken a few hits, and trying not to be the one stood there getting ganged up on.
The pieces are all gloriously ilustrated, and printed on nice sturdy thick card.
Now to rope in a few more players so we can see how different it is 5 or 6.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)