Start reading The Idiot Government Reviews (A Laugh Out Loud Satirical... on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.
OR
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Idiot Government Reviews (A Laugh Out Loud Satirical Comedy) (The Idiot Reviews Book 3)
 
 

The Idiot Government Reviews (A Laugh Out Loud Satirical Comedy) (The Idiot Reviews Book 3) [Kindle Edition]

Pete Sortwell
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (28 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £4.99
Kindle Price: £1.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £3.00 (60%)
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for £0.00 and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £1.99  
Paperback £4.99  
Kindle Unlimited
Kindle Unlimited
Enjoy unlimited access to over 650,000 titles and thousands of audiobooks on any device for £7.99 a month, including this one. Learn more


Product Description

Product Description

We’ve all seen the news over the last few years, watching in wonder and disbelief at the situations the people entrusted to run the country get themselves into and then proceed to lie their way out of. Just imagine, and this won’t be hard, that they were so stupid that they wrote reviews of the items that got them into or out of their latest bit of trouble and posted them online.

Ted Williebond is angry, not only at having to settle for running the opposition, but also for the bullying he had to endure at school by Cameron Davies and Gary Osburn, who now run the Government and don't mind pointing that out to Ted every time they see him. Join Ted as he foolishly leaves reviews of such items as Silly String, vodka and thick curtains as he tries his hardest to bring down the coalition.

On the other side of the fence we've got Daniel Dangly, a foolhardy old school politician from Southamptonshire who, try as he might, cannot outrun the press, who seem to stalk him for easy stories; and Elouise Munch, a career girl more concerned about who's defaced her designer handbag than the people in her constituency.

Running the show though isn't Cameron Davies or Ted Williebond; in fact it is Betty Rivers, the CEO of Information Inc.

It can't work out well, can it?

Welcome to The Idiot Government Reviews

About the Author

Pete is 32 and lives with his wife, Lucie, and their pet sofa, Jeff. He's been writing for just under three years and they've been pretty eventful; well, more eventful than he thought sitting on Jeff, typing, would be, anyway. First published in the Radgepacket anthology with a story he'd written during month five of his new hobby, Pete's now featured in a total of ten different anthologies and has been amongst some very fine company. (Although I've been the best in all of them, I know that because both my Mum and Jeff told me and they're both honest-to-God Christians ... possibly.) Author of comedy e-books 'The Village Idiot Reviews', 'The Office Idiot Reviews' and 'The Idiot Government Reviews', 'More Village idiot Reviews.' These books sell more than he ever thought they would, and he's hooked. 'Dating in the Dark' is Pete's first self-published novel. His traditionally published novel, 'So Low, So High', was published by Caffeine Nights in June 2013.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 370 KB
  • Print Length: 87 pages
  • Publisher: Sorted Publishing; 1 edition (16 Dec 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00APOA59W
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (28 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #167,367 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Pete is 32 and lives with his wife, Lucie, and their pet sofa, Jeff. He's been writing for just under four years and they've been pretty eventful; well, more eventful than he thought sitting on Jeff, typing, would be, anyway.

Author of comedy e-books 'The Village Idiot Reviews', 'The Office Idiot Reviews' and 'The Idiot Government Reviews', 'More Village idiot Reviews.' These books sell more than he ever thought they would, and he's hooked. 'Dating in the Dark' is Pete's first self-published novel. His traditionally published novel, 'So Low, So High', was published by Caffeine Nights in June 2013.

In December 2013 Pete hit the top 100 UK kindle chart with two of his books. The Village Idiot Reviews and Dating in the Dark: sometimes love just pretends to be blind.

In January 2014 he hit #16 in the overall Kindle Chart.

More Office Idiot Reviews is due for release in March 2014.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A funny political satire 12 Jan 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
This is a review of The Idiot Government Reviews (A Laugh Out Loud Satirical Comedy)

This book, like the others in the series, tells the story through reviews of products available on Amazon.co.uk.

Full of instantly recognisable characters from the world of politics, like Cameron Davies, Ted Williebond, Elouise Munch and Gary Usborn, the story lurches from the sublimely funny to the ridiculous, offering an insight into the murky world of political intrigue.

This book caricatures recent political history in 'Southamptonshire', and, with a little thought, accurately reflects some real events though in a typically oblique way. A lot of the fun in this book is trying to work out the satirical references.

Though it will date very quickly as political events don't last long in the public consciousness, it is an entertaining book, with some laugh out loud moments.

4 stars for this original concept.

Please note that I received my review copy direct from the author Pete Sortwell.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Governments gone mad! 18 Dec 2012
By Lively
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Well this is the one, if you have ideas about the government this is about as good as they get,being imparcial myself as i dont have an opinion on our government (see i can lie like them) it just shows what a useless bunch of twats they really are, although fictitious characters once again we can see these people in the government old school network and all, the author has captured this well 3rd in the series and this is the best yet had me laughing and visualising them using the reviewed items. If you want some light relief from the governments strangle hold this is for you enjoy :).
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like it a lot 24 Mar 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I like it alot. I brought this after reading the others in the Idiot Review series, It's a little different as in you can tell who the characters are supposed to be. It's just as funny though and a really clever way of writing. I'm looking forward to more from this author.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would have paid 5 Jun 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
I got this book on a free download however I would have paid double the asking price it is now. I loved the way it was written in reviews and I loved the way the writer has poked those in power with a stick. Cameron Davies is clearly the PM and he's often left with egg on his face, much like the leader we have now!

I great read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Political satire at it's best 5 Jun 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
Political satire at it's best

I've never read a book quite like this before. There are other books that poke fun at the Government, this one is different. I worked out who all the characters were except a couple who I'd love to know the real identity of.

The situations are ridiculous in the normal world however the author hits the nail on the head with the way he puts it, It may be brash, it may be silly but we see worse in our newspapers everyday from the word of Whitehall.

A fantastic read and very funny.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read 24 Mar 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
Read it in one sitting. I've been a fan of this author since I read The Village Idiot Reviews, this is the third in the series that i've read and just as good. I like how I could guess who the real people the characters where based on. there were several moments when I wished I wasn't in public reading it, due to laughing out loud and looking crazy. I'm looking forward to the next release.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clever concept 14 Dec 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is a clever narrative device, though the humour is sometimes forced because the stories are being told by the central characters. The satire is sharp and focussed and, in these times, much needed.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An okay read 21 Nov 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
For me this fell between satire and comedy with occasional excellent glimpses of both - but not quite enough in my opinion
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars So this was a funny little read
We all see and hear of the idiocy by governments on a daily basis. So this was a funny little read. Good to see this author keep the humour I enjoy so much. Read more
Published 1 month ago by lee wright
3.0 out of 5 stars One Joke
The tale of a government crisis told through the medium of Amazon product reviews. The politicians of today are thinly disguised - Cameron Davies is prime minister, Ted Williebond... Read more
Published 2 months ago by jacw2000
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Good.
Published 3 months ago by Clive Westfield
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish
not funny just annoying.
would recomend to my worst enemy
Idon't see why i should have to write a certain number of words
blah blah blah blah blah
Published 8 months ago by Ian Cairns
1.0 out of 5 stars Painfully unfunny
The very first chapter isn't bad, but I gave up after less than an hour of reading.
It might have been free, but still not worth it !

Now deleted from my Kindle.
Published 8 months ago by D R Gillen
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful series of books
I love this series of books: ingenious, clever and funny. Read in a day or so - and as you are reading it, click on the actual Amazon links for an even funnier experience. Read more
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting concept, topical in 12-13
It's an unusual idea and it works quite well. Each product reviewed leads to a further incident in a tangled web of political machinations, some of which are very funny. Read more
Published 14 months ago by John Hope
5.0 out of 5 stars great satire
I see the news and sometimes can't believe the things people in power get away with. I'm glad someone has satirised them in this slapstick way. Read more
Published 14 months ago by pinkwallpaper
2.0 out of 5 stars don't waste your money
I looked forward to this book, but found it juvenile rather than smart. Turned the pages anticipating something more in depth and inciteful, but seemed more spiteful.
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish
I hate it, i have tried to get into it several times but it just isnt funny. Its not a story just little stories that are very strange
Published 16 months ago by slimheather
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category