Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars20
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2014
Excellent choice of pictures, great attention to detail in the descriptions.
Well, all the praise has been done by the other reviewers, here's some minor issues I noticed while flipping through the book:

- not mentioning the Dehen Knitting Company from Portland, Oregon in the Cardigan-chapter (especially when talking about Varsity Jackets) is, well, some sort of crime.

-it should have been explained not only that but WHY the Fred Perry became a key element in British subcultures (because FP was considered a working class hero having shown it to the Upper Crust on the Wimbledon Grounds).

-Some odd choices in the ACCESSORIES department: Should one have expected the Zippo, hip flask, leather wallet or something - well, what you get is the dunhill rollagas (lighter), the fountain pen and, most strangely: the moon watch. Hmmmmm.

And by the way: Tom Selleck's Magnum never ever drove a Testarossa - it was always a 308 GTS that he borrowed from Robin Masters.
("Magnum" started in 1980, the Testarossa went into production in 1984).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
Lots of info on the origins and development of everyday items like jeans, bomber jackets, tee shirts, Rolex watches and many many more. It's about stuff all around us, that for one reason or another has stayed the distance. Nicely written and with great photos, including icons Marlon Brando, James Dean, and my personal faves, Paul Newman and Gregory Peck wearing the various kit.

Did you know that desert boots were originally worn by traders in Egyptian markets? Whilst a soldier in Burma, Nathan Clark of Clark's Shoes saw soldiers who'd served in Egypt wearing them. On returning home he used the basic design to develop what is now known as the desert boot. If this sort of information appeals to you, you'll love this book. It's a great pick up and read bits here and there sort of book, though I seemed to get through quite a lot in one go, once I'd got it back from my husband! Just love it. Good fun, fascinating and easy to read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 August 2014
The title could lead readers to believe that the book will cover a selection of male style icons, with what made them such and rich pictorial accompaniment, which is not exactly what the book is about. Instead you get chapters organized around specific items, in categories such as outerwear, trousers, shoes, underwear, tailoring, shirts and sweaters, and accessories.

Some categories are more comprehensively covered (for instance outerwear), while others, such as shoes and accessories could well do with being somewhat expanded (surely the sandal, desert boot, the basketball shoe, the work shoe / boot, loafer, driving shoe and deck shoe are far from covering it - especially not at the more formal side of things; similar for watches - while both the Moon Watch and the diving watch category are solid choices, they fall far short of covering even the basic types).

The individual chapters are from two to four pages long and present a brief description of the garment, how it came about / became popular, in some cases who made it popular, often who some of the main manufacturers are (this area is also far from comprehensive and different readers may well feel that some iconic producers have been left out). This is usually accompanied by several pictures, at least one of which is a full page shot.

So overall definitely a solid book but one you will want to complement with others, going into individual classes more thoroughly / comprehensively, if you are really interested in the subject. Definitely an excellent gift for those, though, who are in the stage of taking their somewhat more seriously, though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
I bought this for my wife. She considers it to be her favourite book now. The content - the fashion, the photos , the presentation, the subjects, and the stories - all brilliant.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
This book is a wonderful read and offers an impartial view on the history of men's clothing and garments. The book is full of interesting facts that surround each garment, where it came from, who designed it and in some cases who made it famous.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
Bought this as a gift for my husband. He isn't into clothes or styling although I am in a vintage/retro way. We both loved this book as the pictures, information and trip down memory lane are fab.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
As a lover of fashion and photography, this book provided me with exactly what I wanted, an insight into the icons of mens style. Lots of brilliant writing coupled beautiful pictures. A great buy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
Bought this for my model son - who has 'everything' and he really liked it. Great book. Why do I have to write more words than I want to!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
This book had been on person's Wish List for quite some time but had been unavailable, so to receive it now was well appreciated
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Ordered this after reading a number of the reviews. It is good in some aspects, but I do have reservations.
I found it a little outdated in both the quality of pictures and information, and my feeling is it only warrants 3 * as it's continuity also leaves a little to be desired.
As an addition to a collection of books on men's fashion , the cost needs to be outweighed to the information , and there are better books available at the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)