Ice Claw: Danger Zone and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
Price: 1.77

or
 
   
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Ice Claw: Danger Zone on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Ice Claw: Danger Zone [Paperback]

David Gilman
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 3.59  
Paperback --  

Book Description

3 July 2008 Danger Zone

Max Gordon. Wanted for murder.

Two thousand freezing metres high in the mountain peaks, Max Gordon is grappling with death.

His race to win an X-treme sports challenge has become a race to survive. Max witnesses the last moments of a mysterious Basque monk, who screams a cryptic clue before plummeting to his death. The clue is a prophecy that fortells of a cataclysmic ecological event which will kill millions across Europe.

Now Max is trapped in the darkness of a dead man's secret and the hunt is on. How will Max prove his innocence when nobody will trust him – and he can trust no one?



Product details

  • Paperback: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Puffin (3 July 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0141323035
  • ISBN-13: 978-0141323039
  • Product Dimensions: 3.2 x 12.9 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 381,130 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

David Gilman has had an impressive variety of jobs - from firefighter to professional photographer, from soldier in the Parachute Regiment's Reconnaissance Platoon to a Marketing Manager for an international publisher. He has countless radio, television and film credits before turning to novels. From 2000 until 2009 he was a principal writer on A Touch Of Frost.

Product Description

Review

David Gilman's debut The Devil's Breath is a lot of fun . . . the relationship between the two boys provides thrills and spills and the eco angle will go down well. What Gilman, a successful scriptwriter, does superlatively is heart-pounding action (Amanda Craig The Times )

A big solid blockbuster, packed with tough men, beautiful women and exotic locations. The descriptions of the Bushmen are fascinating, and the big set pieces are always exciting, ensuring that readers will race through this enjoyable adventure story (Guardian )

David Gilman's The Devil's Breath takes no hostages in an exciting fast paced story that never lets up (Nicholas Tucker Independent )

Adrenaline-packed (Publishers Weekly )

This is action-packed adventure at its best, with lots of relevant references for today's teens, who will gobble it down. (Kirkus Reviews )

About the Author

David Gilman is an incredibly exciting new talent to the Puffin list. The author of Danger Zone: The Devil's Breath, he is also a successful screenwriter. For the last six years David has been principal writer on A Touch of Frost, with last year's episode garnering a BAFTA nomination. He served in the Parachute Regiment's Reconnaissance Platoon and has has travelled the world, gathering inspiration for his books along the way.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FantasticInstallment in A Fantastic Series 28 Nov 2010
By AngusJ
Format:Paperback
Hi,

I'm 15 Years Old - and the closest thing you will ever find to an expert on all major fictional spy series ever published in English, From James Bond - to Cherub and Alex Rider - without talking to the authors themselves.

After finishing "The Devil's Breath" in a mere two days, I couldn't wait for "Ice Claw" to be released - and I was not to be disappointed. Gilman has created yet another imaginative, and completely captivating story line - incorporating the thrill of his "X-Treme Sports Challenge" (despite a somewhat monotonous name) with the genuinely fantastic plot: "Max witnesses the last moments of a mysterious Basque Monk, who screams a cryptic clue before plummeting to his death. the clue is a prophecy, which foretells of a cataclysmic ecological event that will kill millions across Europe."
I fail to understand how - in 2010 - this series has failed to take off. I feel that, although it may not reach the level of Cherub, the Max Gordon series is a fantastic rival for the likes of Alex Rider, or Jimmy Coates - a truly fantastic read and whatever the age- whatever the interest -I encourage you to buy the entire series now.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Max Gordon trilogy 12 Aug 2011
By JMR
Format:Paperback
I would recommend the Max Gordon trilogy : Ice Claw, Blood Sun and Devil's Breath for boys (or girls) aged 13-14 who've enjoyed the Alex Rider style of adventure books. You need to read all three in order as background events are sequential through the three books.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too 6 Jan 2011
By TeensReadToo TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover
Gold Star Award Winner!

Max Gordon and his friend, Sayid, are in the French Alps where Max participates in an Xtreme sports challenge. While practicing for the event, Max crosses paths with a monk who dies before his eyes. The monk screams out a clue with his last dying breath after saving Max's life.

Max can't forget the monk. He needs to know who murdered the man and why. With dangerous men after him, he needs help. Luckily, one of the boys he competed against lends him a hand.

Max doesn't give him the full story. He's not sure who to trust. He and Sayid, who is hurt, do their best to unravel the mystery. They can't do much because Max's face is plastered all over the news as a murder suspect.

Can Max clear his name by revealing the true murderers - before those responsible come after everyone in his life?

The sequel to THE DEVIL'S BREATH, ICE CLAW contains the same fast pace, danger, action, and adrenaline rushes as the first book. Again, Max fights against nature, his better judgment, and bad guys to stay alive. He's persistent, smart, determined, good-hearted, and lucky. The first chapter sucked me in and I was hooked for the entire wild ride.

I can't wait for the next DANGER ZONE novel!

Reviewed by: Jennifer Rummel
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.8 out of 5 stars  4 reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Ice CLaw 1 Sep 2012
By Al Miller - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
A fast paced, well written novel with plausible characters. My only criticism is that Max is more like Superman than a 15-year old boy.There seems to be no physical feat that he is incapable of. Nevertheless, this is delightful read.
5.0 out of 5 stars Ice Claw 24 Feb 2011
By Kendal A. Rautzhan - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
Visit Greatest Books for Kids ([...]) for more great book suggestions.

Read aloud: age 10 - 11 and older.
Read yourself: age 11 - 12 and older.

Teenager Max Gordon is a competitor in an X-treme sports challenge. Max is snowboarding alone high in the French Pyrenees when, not far away, a bald-headed monk skies furiously across the face of the mountain with enormous skill. Pursuing the monk is another expert skier, who aims his rifle and shoots the monk. As Max tries to help the monk, an avalanche is barreling towards them. In that instant, the monk screams some cryptic words, then tears a medallion with its cord off his neck, throws it at Max, and succumbs to the avalanche and his death.
Piecing clues together, Max is embroiled in a mystery that predicts a violent ecological event that will kill millions of people across Europe. What does the monk have to do with any of this? Why is it that everyone Max thinks he can trust he can't? And why is Max Gordon being accused of murdering the monk? Will Max be able to stay alive long enough to solve the mystery and avert the needless slaughter of millions of innocent people?
As fast-paced, unnerving, and action-packed as any novel for young adults can be, "Ice Claw" will grip you from the first page straight through to the last. Fans of James Patterson novels and Jason Bourne movies, be prepared: "Ice Claw" is a wild and exciting read in simply every regard.
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too 6 Jan 2011
By TeensReadToo - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
Gold Star Award Winner!

Max Gordon and his friend, Sayid, are in the French Alps where Max participates in an Xtreme sports challenge. While practicing for the event, Max crosses paths with a monk who dies before his eyes. The monk screams out a clue with his last dying breath after saving Max's life.

Max can't forget the monk. He needs to know who murdered the man and why. With dangerous men after him, he needs help. Luckily, one of the boys he competed against lends him a hand.

Max doesn't give him the full story. He's not sure who to trust. He and Sayid, who is hurt, do their best to unravel the mystery. They can't do much because Max's face is plastered all over the news as a murder suspect.

Can Max clear his name by revealing the true murderers - before those responsible come after everyone in his life?

The sequel to THE DEVIL'S BREATH, ICE CLAW contains the same fast pace, danger, action, and adrenaline rushes as the first book. Again, Max fights against nature, his better judgment, and bad guys to stay alive. He's persistent, smart, determined, good-hearted, and lucky. The first chapter sucked me in and I was hooked for the entire wild ride.

I can't wait for the next DANGER ZONE novel!

Reviewed by: Jennifer Rummel
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended for boys and girls! 18 Oct 2010
By Keith - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
What a rip-roaring read, Max is at his best again battling an evil villain! From the first to the last page the reader is kept on the edge of their seat by the non stop action. Max is faced with what at first seems to be insurmountable odds against his survival, but through his abilities, mental and supernatural, manages to transcend almost impossible odds. David Gilman weaves many interesting facts into all of his novels and also inspires teens, boys and girls, to confront diversity with logic, resourcefulness, courage and determination. I highly recommend this novel as an unforgettable read.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback