£11.66
  • RRP: £11.88
  • You Save: £0.22 (2%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Hypertheticals: 50 Questi... has been added to your Basket
Trade in your item
Get a £0.79
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Hypertheticals: 50 Questions for Insane Conversations Cards – 15 Jun 2010


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Cards
"Please retry"
£11.66
£5.47 £7.69

Frequently Bought Together

Hypertheticals: 50 Questions for Insane Conversations + Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs: A Low Culture Manifesto + I Wear the Black Hat: Grappling with Villains (Real and Imagined)
Price For All Three: £34.81

Buy the selected items together


Trade In this Item for up to £0.79
Trade in Hypertheticals: 50 Questions for Insane Conversations for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.79, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 56 reviews
53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
Nice balance of lightness and depth 22 Jun. 2010
By Danny Volt - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Cards Verified Purchase
Not as good as getting a "real" Klosterman release, but this what-if deck of cards is thought-provoking, most of them featuring Klosterman's off-the-wall wit.

It has potential for party fun, assuming your crowd includes mostly pop-culture-obsessed, half-drunk philosophers.

One downside: About half of the questions previously appeared in "Sex, Drugs and Cocoa Puffs." Readers of that book won't find as much new material. But if it has been a few years since you read SD&C, it's fun to revisit those ponderables again.

A nice tide-over until Chuck gets us another book.
29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
Fun and Engaging with the right mind set. 16 Jan. 2011
By David Stutzbach - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Cards
Stumbled across this product and it seemed absolutely engrossing, so me and the wife picked it up. We both find this set of 50 questions (many are not that insane) to be a lot of fun. We bring them along with us in the car and depending on the group of people we might be encountering for an evening also to parties.

One of the cards prompted my mother, my wife and myself into a rather lively debate on how far you can hold a child accountable for their actions, and whether or not the adult version of that child is to be judged based on those actions. It's a conversation that lingered for at least a couple of days as new thoughts and arguments were presented. I brought it with me to a party that included some friends who we usually play somewhat unstructured boardgames with, and thought they would have thoroughly enjoyed it, but the interest level just wasn't there. To others it reminded them of school (i don't see how that's possible).

It's a product that your either going to really enjoy or just be bored to tears with. The latter of which i don't see how it's possible. A bit of how I approach it is to at times play the devils advocate on idea's that me and my wife instantly agree on, or see eye to eye on. In this way it allows us to unravel the question a bit more, and on at least one occasion doing this made me change my mind altogether. There are layers to most questions, but more then one card features a dud, but that may just be my outlook on the question. Much is left up to interpretation and this is a good thing.

As far as the quality of the cards, that leaves something to be desired. They are thin, very thin which i guess helped to keep the cost down, just don't let any younger kids get a hold of them lest they be folded bent and torn. The box they are housed in is robust thankfully. The cards title is on one side and features usually a clever bit of art (nothing intricate simple design motifs) and the reverse is the question. When you first read a few the questions seem to ramble on, but you quickly realize this is to help address "what if's" that might arise when discussing the question.

All and all a solid product and if your one to find your self browsing the cultural studies section at your local book store, then this is more then likely a product you will find yourself enjoying and reaching for anytime you get the opportunity. My favorite question thus far has been one involving "Stereotypical Jesus".
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Mildly entertaining 12 Jan. 2012
By Adam D - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Cards Verified Purchase
The cards are actually very well written. Each scenario goes into enough detail, where the group of people can actually have a meaningful conversation.
Some scenarios are better than others.
You also need to have a diverse group of people to play. Playing with people who think exactly like you yields little fun.
Can be good for car rides and at home.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Great for fans of Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs! 18 Jun. 2011
By Ivygirl22 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Cards Verified Purchase
I read Klosterman's book for a project and found that the questions interlude made for great conversations with my friends!! So I bought this for my friend's graduation present and we spent a good while discussing our opinions! Fantastic product!!
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
Really makes you think 3 April 2014
By S. Kosloske - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Cards Verified Purchase
I don't want to sound snooty/snobby, but this set really tells you which of your friends are capable of Critical Thinking. From first read, the cards can seem like very simple topics of conversation. But there are so many options/variables to consider in each one, you'll learn a lot about your own ability to think on your own, as well as your friends. It will lead to very interesting conversations. And a few arguments.

You can use these for "breaking the ice" at parties, or just as interesting topics for conversation among friends you've known for years.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Look for similar items by category


Feedback