Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
41
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2000
Not one of Leather's most known books, nonetheless it ranks right up there in value with his other works. From the beginning the reader is caught in a web of twisted conspiracy and international spies, a world of murder, treachery, revenge power and love. One can actually visualize the events as they take place, you are transformed into the times and surroundings by the author. One can "feel" the characters, they live and breath and the build-up reaching to the headlong confrontation between ex-SAS Howells, Dugan and Ng is unbeatable. This is a well-constructed stunning thriller that's well worth digging out-especially if you are a Stephen Leather fan.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2008
Despite this being dated (before the 1997 handover), it remains a good read, and is recommended!

Howells is an ex-British assassin brought out of retirement to take out a Triad leader in Hong Kong. He kidnaps the daughter as bait, and takes on the wrath of all triads and the HK Police. At the same time the British, Chinese and CIA want to take out Howells.

The plot is strong and there are some very clever deceptions which keep the reader enthused. The novel is also a nice retrospect for those of us who have lived in HK pre-handover.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2002
Another graet effort by this author . All of his books are well written and fast paced. Overall if you have never read a Stephen Leather book I would suggest that you start with The Chinaman , a great read.
This book tells a tale set in Hong Kong and you get a real sense of the City prior to the 1997 hand over. Geoff Howells a well trained killing machine is brought out of retirement to kill Simon Ng , a Chinese Triad leader. Along the way Howells kidnaps Ng's daughter Sophie. This is the only part of the book that I had a problem with as large sections of the book ignore the fact that the little girl is locked up and alone in a toilet on a boat. However a very good book and a satisfying read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
I have read most books by Stephen Leather but this one slipped me by till recently. I live in Hong Kong and he does a great job at recreating the city, many of the bars he references are still active and he goes into small detail where necessary that is still freakishly accurate. It's worth a read besides this, and if you like the other books then you will love this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2012
This books takes you straight to Hongkong from wherever you are reading it. The description of the town is really authentic and it reminded me of my visits to Hongkong before the takeover. Very well written, like all of Stephen Leather's novels. You can really tell, that the author has spent time in that town. Must read, if you like top end bestselling thrillers..!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
Another great book from Stephen Leather.I enjoyed the book as i visit Hong Kong alot with my work and it was easy to relate to places mentioned in the book. I will not go into detail about the story as it would spoil your read , i will say if you enjoy Stephen Leather you will enjoy this one, happy reading.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
As usual Stephen Leather has done his research thoroughly and comes up with a believable story which is unpredictable and clever. His characters bring the story to life and you find yourself wondering if they are representative of real people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2012
Hungry Ghost

This is a first rate thriller and should not be missed. Based in Hong Kong in the lead up to the "Handover" to China in 1997 it deals with "dirty tricks" initiated by a maverick MI6 boss involving political assassination and murder, followed by CIA intervention and even "dirtier tricks" that also backfire. The exotic setting in Hong Kong is authentic as anyone who has lived there will readily recognise, the author having worked as a journalist in Hong Kong for a number of years. Stephen Leather's time as a Hong Kong journalist also provided him with knowledge in depth of the workings of Hong Kong Triads, the local equivalent of the Mafia, which he passes on in this novel. I really wish that more of Leather's novels had a Hong Kong location and I thoroughly enjoyed this one. More please, Mr Leather!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
As usual, full of interesting characters and a great story.. I like how some of the characters get cameo roles in some of his other books, when you bump into them again you already know what makes them tick.
Read "The Chinaman" great book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2012
Very good book but I wouldn't expect any less from Stephen leather. I have read pretty much all of Stephens books and find them generally attention grabbing. Only 2 left to read now. I ll be looking for a new author to latch onto in a couple of weeks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.