Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars9
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2011
I got a copy of the Pevsner Architectural Guide to Hull by David and Susan Neave Yale University Press for a mere £9.32 and I would strongly recommend it to everybody from Hull as it is a beautiful thing to behold. This book will have you a bit dewy-eyed as it has 250 solid pages devoted to building after building after building. I thought I knew Hull but this made me think again about so many parts of Hull which I just took for granted. Particularly strong was the level of vernacular detail which was superbly Hullish on the 10 recommended walks:

The Old Town: High St.
The Old Town: West of High St.
Waterfront
Queens Gardens & the Northern Suburb (Georgian)
City Centre West & Park St.
Beverley Road, Pearson Park & Spring Bank
The Avenues, Newland & Newland Park
West: Anlaby Rd & Hessle Rd.
East: Holderness Rd & Garden Village
Sutton-on-Hull

Recommended excursions:

Hessle & The Humber Bridge
Cottingham & the West Hull villages.
East of Hull: Hedon & Burton Constable
Beverley.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2011
This is a beautiful book.
It is pocket size although full glos and so is a bit heavy but in a nice luxury sort of way!.
It has a decent intro about the history of Hull, enough to set the seen for the buildings, 1279 to present including the post war reconstruction for the 'most bombed' northern city in the second world war.
The intro and the section on the major buildings takes up 77 pages of the 250 pages. The walks take up the larger part of the book, it is an interesting way to explore the architecture of the area. I tried the walk around Pearson Park and the format works well, each notable building has a short entry with a few photographs, it made a very pleasant afternoon.To see one of the towers from the old town hall in Pearson Park is something, but to see a sketch of what the old town hall looked like realy brings things into perspective.Pearson Park needs saving it is brilliant. A good book to own if you live in the Hull area and have an interst in Architecture. It is not an history book though, No 1, the High Street gets no mention even though the famous waler Sir Samuel Standidge onced lived their.
Keith
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
I saw a good review of this boook in the Times. Living near Hull I fancied learning more about the city. The photographs and layout make this an attractive book to browse and I will undoubtedly be visiting Hull soon to complete some of the suggested walks.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
Don't let the fact that a "new" Pevsner for East Riding was issued not that long ago - this is a completely separate and original book that stands up on it's own merits.
Whilst not perhaps as in depth as a classic Pevsner, it is very readable and nicely illustrated, and has some very interesting walks too.
It also includes sections on Hessle, Hedon, Beverley and Cottingham.
Highly recommended
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
This book is excellent and hopefully will show people in the rest of the country not to believe everything that the media portrays. Although there are problems of deprivation in certain quarters, like in most cities, I might suggest that people come to see for themselves before passing judgment. There is a great history and the people are friendly and welcoming.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
Brilliant - as are all these completely rewritten Pevsner Guides - check out Leeds, York and Sheffield. Although I'm not from Hull, it is a fascinating city that, unfortunately, receives poor publicity nationally. Let's hope the City of Culture will change perceptions. I've told many people about Hull, based on some of this material, and a party of four went for an overnight stay, and I'm leading a party of 16 to the city. The layout, quality of photographs and in-depth knowledge will make any future books on the city very hard to surpass.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
Have lived in this City for 40 plus years and this "Pevsner" does a good job. Like the great original it has attitude and perspicacity.
It fits into many pockets and is a source of increasing pleasure as the City i thought I knew reveals further pleasures. They got the age of my house wrong, but so what. Well done you two! And as this City enters what seems to be a new period of unexpected optimism the book is a timely source for architectural and historical focus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
Excellent reference book,very well illustrated,easy to read
Iwet on aHistoric Houses meeting at Hull led by the two authors an had a fascinating insight to medieval and Maritime Hull.
If you go to Hull as a visitor take this book with you'!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)