How Should a Person Be? and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £8.99
  • You Save: £1.80 (20%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
How Should a Person Be? has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by momox co uk
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery. For DVDs please check region code before ordering.
Trade in your item
Get a £0.34
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

How Should a Person Be? Paperback – 6 Mar 2014

32 customer reviews

See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.19
£3.56 £2.56
£7.19 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 5 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

How Should a Person Be? + Gilead
Price For Both: £14.38

Buy the selected items together


Trade In this Item for up to £0.34
Trade in How Should a Person Be? for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.34, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Vintage (6 Mar. 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0099583569
  • ISBN-13: 978-0099583561
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 2 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (32 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 22,870 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"Helen Fielding made it funny and fictional in Bridget Jones's Diary; Elizabeth Gilbert did it without laughs in Eat, Pray, Love. Now in this mashup of memoir, fiction, self-help and philosophy, Sheila Heti has added a bit of a story, quite a few blow jobs and some cheeky exclamation marks, and finally made it credible" (Guardian)

"A really amazing metafiction-meets-nonfiction novel" (Lena Dunham, star and creator of HBO series 'Girls')

"A beguiling "novel from life" about creativity and authenticity" (Guardian Pick of 2013)

"Funny, bawdy and fiercely original, this is the book everyone's talking about - and for good reason" (Easy Living)

"A shamelessly funny read that’s got all of America talking" (Grazia)

"Part of a growing movement to explore the messiness, self-consciousness and doubt of young women who have been told the world offers them unprecedented opportunity, and who are discovering just what that means" (Kira Cochrane G2)

"It will be one of the most talked-about books of 2013" (Irish Tatler, 2013 Hot List)

"Original...hilarious... Part confessional, part play, part novel, and more—it’s one wild ride...Think HBO’S Girls in book form" (Marie Claire)

"Utterly beguiling: blunt, charming, funny, and smart. Heti subtly weaves together ideas about sex, femininity and artistic ambition. Reading this genre-defying book was pure pleasure" (David Shields, author of Reality Hunger)

Book Description

A raw, startling, genre-defying novel of friendship, sex, and love in the new millennium. Perfect for fans of Jennifer Egan, Joan Didion, Melissa Banks, and Leanne Shapton.

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful By The Fisher Price King on 4 Mar. 2013
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
I read this having heard great things about the book's human insights. But it struck me as narcissistic, shoddily written, grandiose and dull. It is marketed as a novel, but it's more on the lines of a memoir or diary reworked into something a bit like a novel.

Why two stars rather than one? Because there were a few funny, knowing moments that recalled Lena Dunham's sharper, funnier TV show Girls. Overall, though, it reminded me of listening - not by choice, but because there was no escape - to someone really self-obsessed talking to a friend on the train.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Roman Clodia TOP 100 REVIEWER on 4 Mar. 2013
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
If you're looking for a traditional `story', this will be a challenging read. Written in a self-consciously postmodern fashion - fragments, emails, recorded conversations - this is a meditation on identity, art, sex, and gender.

Sheila is a playwright who can't write her play, and her friends are artists - parts of this book are witty and smart (`how could I castrate my mind - neuter it! - and build up a resistance to know what was mine from what was everyone else's, and finally be in the world in my own way?'), parts are banal and mundane... like life itself.

This is theoretically-informed and draws on modern critical theory on art, text, psychoanalysis, and gender. In pondering why it's ok to spend time perfecting a work of art but not a sexual act (!), for example, this poses some provocative questions, and asks what is the role of the artist in a postmodern, capitalist society.

So this is one of those books which presses on the boundaries fiction, of narrative, of the novel, without providing easy definitions.

It's neurotic, self-consciously narcissistic, sometimes boring, sometimes obtuse, sometimes funny, sometimes really quite wise. I'm glad I read this but if you've hated other recent postmodern fiction (Swimming Home, Communion Town,Signs of Life) or the writing of people like Barthes, then this probably isn't for you.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By digit on 22 Nov. 2013
Format: Hardcover
Before I bought this, I read pages from it using the Amazon preview and liked them. After I finished it, squeamishly unable to keep such a bad book in the house, I gave it to charity. I've now looked again at the preview, which, interestingly, still makes the book seem good. Caveat emptor. Amazing editorial care has gone into omitting everything that was turgid, pretentious, convoluted and charmless -- everything that, breaking Heti's own rule, doesn't know 'where the funny is'. There is, in the actual book, quite a lot of this.

In the good fragments, Heti has a nice simple style and talks appealingly about life for a young artistic type by turns confusing, upsetting, touching, obscene etc. But you realise reading the whole that unlike a lot of people with a nice simple style she doesn't stick to it and she's not using it to say a lot with a little; she's just not saying much. Often she's committing that mainstay sin of bad writing, 'telling, not showing'. No longer having the book, I'm forced to do this a bit too, but the preview gives me this: Heti exclaiming, apparently in horror, 'These are my f***ing contemporaries!' and stopping there. I think I might know what she means, but no concrete evidence is presented for the prosecution. Future generations, who with luck won't be privy to the horror, are left guessing.

This isn't writerly economy, it's shirking. For all the self-loathing displayed, the frequent charge of narcissism from other reviews is right. It's partly in the self-involvement itself, but also in a disregard for the reader so total that Heti doesn't bother to explain to us whatever it is she's trying to say. She seems, in fact, too arrogantly lazy as a writer to even work out what this is.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Ian Shine VINE VOICE on 4 May 2013
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
This book is definitely not going to be to everyone's taste, but then Sheila Heti would be the first person to acknowledge that. For, as Heti says on page one, "you can admire anyone for being themselves", and that is really what this book is about; although more importantly it is the way that this book is concerned with this topic that makes it so monumental and has resulted in it receiving so much praise (although apparently not on Amazon).

"How Should a Person Be?" is not concerned with living up to traditional expectations of what a novel should be, it is concerned only with saying what it wants to say, and saying it in the best way the author can find to say it. It is a memoir-cum-novel-cum play about a female writer (also called Sheila) trying to write a play and failing, trying to hold together a friendship and partially failing, and trying to understand how a person should be, and finally understanding it (sort of) through her failings. By stripping away many of the pretences of traditional fiction, Heti finds a way of drawing the reader into her world, taking the reader along with her, through her failings and her despair and her sufferings and out the other side. And it is this highly personal, self-flagellating method of story-telling that helps to get across the book's message: "A life without failure, suffering or doubt [is] empty of those things that make a human life meaningful." A person should be someone who is happy to fail, who is prepared to keep on failing, to face up to their failings (as Heti is doing with this book, which is not the play she set out to write), and to learn from their failings; rather than someone who keeps running away from their failings in the hope of finding a place where they never fail, suffer or doubt themselves.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback