Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars16
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£25.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2001
As a newbie to finance I wanted a book that would ease me into the normally mysterious and murky world of finance, stocks and shares. I bought this book from Amazon and although I wouldn't call myself an expert I have a much firmer grasp of share dealing. I am outperforming my friends who have been trading 18 months and even in this bear market I am still in profit. Buy this book now.
0Comment18 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2001
First I tried to read "Using the Financial Pages" by FT but after I read a few pages I stopped. Definitions and more definitions. This book is different because it have examples. Thus you understand much better things like EPS, PE, etc. From my experience people who understand things well can also explain them well and I think Michael Brett is one of those guys. If you want to invest in stocks, this book is worth the money, as it will help you understand the fundementals.
0Comment25 of 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2007
This book is packed with jargon and explanations and it works well as a reference. It helps me to pick out bits of interest. It doesnt work so well reading it cover to cover, it doesnt always flow very well and it tends to have short examples rather than captivating stories.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2009
The book is certainly very thorough. For someone reasonably familiar with financial services products this works well but for the total beginner there is too much detail that can serve to confuse.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2010
This book is very good. There are good books also about financial affairs in Spanish, but I think English is the "natural" language of stock market and finances as Spanish is for bullfight. Terms and words in international stock market and finances are widely English.
This edition has however an unavoidable empty, because dating from the year 2000, the author, logically, speculates too much about the Euro, the general European continental money unknown by then in real practice. Today, we know much more about that, for good or bad.
Stock market is a dangerous but convenient entertainment to know and practice when one gets older, because one can "play" there until the end of his life, a thing impossible in another areas. In that sense this book is very practical but academic, and doesn't contain nor mentions that Economics and stock market sinks his deep roots in human psychology, you can be sure of this. A banknote and ever a gold bar or a diamond are worthless if you don't give to these an affective psychological value so, for being successful in Economics you must know some of the psychology of human masses. This signifies you must read at less weekly economic press and not to ignore the politics. The rest depends of you and no one book can teach you all these.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 February 2010
I am so pleased to find a book on financial education that really does take you from no knowledge to a good working understanding of the terms and processes of the financial market. So many books explain jargon by using more jargon that's only explained later in the book. Michael Brett must be a trained educator. A very friendly tone without being 'goofy' or patronising. A very british style that is approachable even if numbers bring you out in a rash (which is my case!). Lots of clear examples and illustrations, the style is conversational rather than lecturing.

Chapters include (this is only a significant selection):

- First Principles
- Money Flows and the Money Men
- Companies and their Accounts
- The Investment Ratios
- Equities and the Stock Exchange
- What Moves Share Prices
- Venture Capital and Leveraged buy-outs
- Government Bonds and Company Bonds
- Banks, Borrowers and Bad Debt
- The Money Markets
- International Money: the Euromarkets
- Financial Derivatives and Commodities
- Commercial Property and the Market Crashes
- Savings, Pooled Investment and Tax Shelters
- Print and Internet: the Financial Pages
- How to read between the lines
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
The book covers most the hard concepts and jargon in finance in a clear and easy to follow explanations.
An excellent book for non-specialists. The material in the ebook is well written and extremely helpful.
11 comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
The most important thing is the content of the book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
Good price with value.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
Good condition
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse