Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars22
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2013
How To Meditate: Meditation Techniques For Beginners (Quick Start Guide) by Colin G Smith is a wonderful guide for a beginner into meditating.

This book is well written and easy to understand and I found it very helpful as a beginner.The author explains what meditation is and debunks the myths about mediation. He also describes three basic relaxation meditations so the reader can begin practicing as you read.

A very useful guide and I enjoyed it and will pass the information along with book to my friends and family. So if you want to learn how to meditate effectively, relax your body and mind, master meditation techniques for beginners and connect with your Essential Self get this Quick Start Guide today.

5 stars and a relaxing thank you!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
This is a well-written book that introduces the reader to the basics of meditation. It starts out by explaining what meditation is, the history of meditation and the history of the word itself. The book goes on to debunk myths about meditation and explains how meditation affects brainwaves.

Before reading this book I thought meditation was a form of relaxation. Little did I know that there's a technique for relaxing BEFORE one meditates. The book goes into detail about how to perform different types of meditation exercises.

For anyone whose interested in learning how to meditate, this book is a good starting point.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
Practice meditation every morning and it will bring you a sense of rejuvenation. It allows me to pause and contemplate on my life. People today are extremely busy and ego oriented, the only way we could look inside ourselves is to pause from the quick paced world.... A short but meaningful book!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
How To Meditate: Meditation Techniques For Beginners Guide Book ~ Colin G Smith

If there is one genre I can relate to, it is that of being a motivational author. I always enjoy authors who have the desire to make a difference in other people's lives by inspiring them in a positive and helpful way. This handy guidebook by Author Colin G Smith certainly fits the bill. He writes in an easy-to-read style by starting at the very beginning of his chosen subject. He not only elaborates on methods to meditate but also fully explains exactly what the term means in the context he is using it and its possible positive benefits.

The quote he mentions at the beginning of the book by Buddha stating, "We are what we think..." sets the pace for the suggestions to follow. Better health...both physical and psychological as well as the spiritual benefits of relaxation and enlightenment...are certainly steps in the right direction. The many varied positive consequences of learning to effectively meditate are endless, such as reducing stress in our lives and finding inner peace and contentment. Good stuff!

Inspirational Author & Book Reviewer ~ Dolores Ayotte
Up The "Down" Ladder: Simple Ideas to Overcome Depression
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
This book by Colin G. Smith is an interesting and informative introduction to the art of meditation. The guide is well written and explains the wonderful benefits that you can gain through meditation. The author backs up these benefits with scientific facts. There is also a fascinating chapter on Tonglen Meditation which is a special healing practice with an emphasis on the breath. This meditation was kept secret for hundreds of years because it was so powerful.

I have always been really interested in meditation techniques and I have found this book particularly helpful and straightforward to follow.

If you are interested in finding out about what meditation can do for you then I would give this book a try.

Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
Basically 20 pages spaced out, its like a small pdf..Was expecting a proper book.
No wonder the kindle buyers are happy.
Sorry maybe the content is great but its just to short, could have found all this on google.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
How to Meditate is a great guide that takes you through the basics of meditation, providing the information necessary to find a place for this stress relieving technique in your life.

I always thought of meditation as one thing- didn't know there were 6 different styles. Like mindful meditation, breathing and mantras. He author does s great job introducing these concepts to help clarify take-action Information. Makes meditation in general easier to grasp and apply, at least for me.

This guide gives you all the info you need to practice and benefit from meditation. I suggest you read it and go find your Zen! Nice job!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
I've read a few of Colin Smith's books and once again I was impressed by the straight-forward way that he explains meditation and encourages you to have a go. I'd always heard that meditation was complicated to learn, and of course there's a lot of religious mumbo-jumbo associated with the art, but not here. Everything is laid out in a simple to follow system, with lot of alternatives you can try until you find what works for you. I'm really enjoying the journey, thanks to Colin and his accessible writing style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
As a busy person surrounded by lots of very busy friends, this little guide comes in handy. Although brief, Smith’s guidebook provides a nice run-down on the basics of meditation, especially on the methods of relaxation before practice. Smith’s writing is easy, to the point, and packs important, well-researched information. I would recommend this book for anyone looking to make meditation a daily practice and lead a more relaxed, stress-free life. This guide is a nice introduction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
In our rather hectic world this book is something that you can settle down with and relax. The book starts of with a very interesting look at the history of meditation, what it is and how it works. Inside you will find 5 meditation routines all of which are easy to follow and all of which could do you some good. This is a book that's written by someone who knows what he's talking about and it's ideal for anyone wanting to make a difference to their lives. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)