Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars27
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 June 2009
There is only one book I can say has changed my life and this is it.

The techniques, the attitudes and the whole selling ethos are in there. At the beginning of the book there are stories about people who learnt true selling practices and went on to become successful, and I remember really wanting to be like those people. So I read the book a few times, adopted every lesson and dumped my preconceptions in favour of Tom Hopkins view of what selling is all about. I started selling; started earning good money and haven't really looked back since. I still re-read parts of this book to remind myself what made me successful.
If you're in sales this is worth the money 100,000 over. Yes it is cheesy and the language is dated, but the results are very real... and you will enjoy the cheesy prestige and the cheesy money that comes with success.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2010
I bought How to Master the Art of Selling when it was published in paperback in the 1980's. If you are new to sales and want to be successful this is a good primer. Some reviews that these are old techniques but they work. An important part of selling is not only a variety of sells techniques and how to get the close. Make no mistake this is a handbook on how to help you become a better salesperson and increase your income. The instruction contain in this manual will walk you through the methods use to help influence people to buy what your selling.

The author has taken what he has learned worked and has written his his proven sales techniques in this book and he list them in an easy to follow format.This is a book you can use as you read it and will come back to for reference and to enhance your salesmanship. When I first purchased this book I was working as a stockbroker and had to cold call and the amounts of closing determined if you came back to work the next day. These techniques worked very well. Now having said this these techniques will not work against sophisticated customers and I have turned these techniques against salesmen who have tried to use them on me. So the consumer can also learn from this book.

Also if you are new to sales or have been in sales for a while and are getting discouraged Mr. Hopkins book will help to motivate you to sell.And this positive outlook and motivation is contagious. People want to know that the salesman knows what he is talking about. The book goes so far as to give you scripts on how to get a customer use to saying the word yes which once placed in their subconscious he implies will make the sale easier. I personally have no problem saying no. It is true as another reviewer stated this book masters the art of getting the clients to sell themselves to you by teaching you to ask the right questions. The instructions and suggestions are given through a variety of sales conversations. An easy to use book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2003
This book may date from the 80's but I still read it at least once a year and the techniques learnt from it have increased my sales success exponentially. Can't recommend it highly enough!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2005
Tom Hopkins has a number of products for sales training and this is a revised edition of his book produced some time ago. His basic philosophy is that sales is learned and not innate. What he does is give you phrases and script to learn and deliver almost like an actor with practical examples across a wide range of industries. Although some parts are a little american and some parts dated (you will need to change the words for yourself) this book would give anyone a good grounding in sales and would improve anyones sales ability and is especially useful for those brand new to sales. The methods are crystallised in his videos although these are expensive. The best salespeople do the basics extremely well and this book will show you how to do that.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2002
This is a book i first read a few years ago. It gives you a good grounding in some of the basic techniques and provides and idea of where to go if you are setting out on the road to sales success.
A lot of the techniques are dated now but it is suprising how many people don't use many of them or are unaware of these techniques, especially here in the uk.
There are other books that are more customer focused that will add significantly to the knowledge gained from this particular title but you have to start somewhere. Learn the techniques in this book and you will have a skills set to build upon. I would find this book more suited to salespeople in door to door or direct sales environments rather than account management. However i think there are still good ideas to be gleaned for all. If you are in credit card, gas/electric, or home improvement sales then this really is a must for you book shelf.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2001
I can't count how many times I've read this book and each time I do, I discover that I still have a long way to go.
Some UK people may feel that some of the verbal skills taught are "too American". I felt this way too but if you give Tom a chance, he'll show you that you really can pressure (yes pressure!) and lead buyers to deal where there was very little chance of a "yes". Buy it and apply it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 1998
I first picked up a copy of this book in the USA and at that time I'd never heard of Tom Hopkins. It's one of the finest books on how to sell that I've ever read. And every word is true. There is no secret other than hard work,technique and practice and Tom shows you how to apply yourself with all three to increase your income dramatically. I followed it and from a personal point of view I can't recommend it highly enough. It must be good - I lent the book out and now I can't get it back! So now I have to buy another copy. Well worth the money- in fact, well worth twice the money. Just follow what Tom says and you can't (and won't) go wrong.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2002
This is a book i first read a few years ago. It gives you a good grounding in some of the basic techniques and provides and idea of where to go if you are setting out on the road to sales success.
A lot of the techniques are dated now but it is suprising how many people don't use many of them or are unaware of these techniques, especially here in the uk.
There are other books that are more customer focused that will add significantly to the knowledge gained from this particular title but you have to start somewhere. Learn the techniques in this book and you will have a skills set to build upon. I would find this book more suited to salespeople in door to door or direct sales environments rather than account management. However i think there are still good ideas to be gleaned for all. If you are in credit card, gas/electric, or home improvement sales then this really is a must for you book shelf.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2009
Quite simply if you want to achieve or progress your sales career then read this book. I was astonished to read some poor and lukewarm reviews. I have been selling 30 years and am UK based and I learnt something from reading this book. Of course a lot of what is said you should know already if you have been in sales for 5+ years but crucially do you apply it? If you say yes you are a liar. Sorry to be blunt but that is the truth and you know it!

Tom Hopkins covers every angle and you will recognise yourself in situations he describes both from the Champions viewpoint and from the average sales person's view. If you are in any average sales person category Tom has given you the tools and ideas to break out and become a Sales Champion. Simple as that. Up to you if you want to apply them.

I am a born and bred Brit and did not find any of this "too American". Those who have said that are being either lazy or snobby and should get over it.

Read this book if you are new to sales or experienced (like me). Then re-read it every 6-12 months. If you do and apply the methods taught by the author, then you will without question, progress, succeed, and ultimately become a Sales Champion.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2005
Ok there are some arm bending type techniques in the book but there are much more positive lessons in this book than negative.
If you take tie downs as an example, he explains the principle very well and gives a few good examples.
Throughout the book he gives example statements and responses which are useful when you're building scripts. The call pre call planning advice is good along with the sequence plan. A few too many old style closing techniques, but all in all a worthy purchase if you're interested in sales particularly business to business.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)