Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books even without a Kindle device-with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones and tablets.
How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours
 
See larger image
 

How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours [Kindle Edition]

Harry Mount
1.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (57 customer reviews)

Print List Price: 9.99
Kindle Price: 4.68 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: 5.31 (53%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

‹  Return to Product Overview

Product Description

Review

A lovely book, very engaging and easy to read. There are chapters on weather and soil and stone, on the history of hedges or the making of suburbia, all of them infectious did-you-knows. Mount is a natural and enthusiastic sharer of knowledge (Evening Standard)

Charming and nerdily fact-stuffed (Guardian)

Lively, a delight. Mount's paragraphs explode with information . . . I love all this, want more, and am given it. The sort of book, in its temperament and in its detail, that has helped to make England English (Spectator)

Mount is as perceptive as he is obsessive, and time and again he skewers with unfailing accuracy some aspect of our national character (Mail on Sunday)

'Fascinating. Mount's an intelligent, funny and always interesting companion (Daily Mail)

Product Description

Harry Mount's How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours is packed with astonishing facts and wonderful stories.



Q. Why are English train seats so narrow?



A. It's all the Romans' fault. The first Victorian trains were built to the same width as horse-drawn wagons; and they were designed to fit the ruts left in the roads by Roman chariots.



For readers of Paxman's The English, Bryson's Notes on a Small Island and Fox's Watching the English, this intriguing and witty book explains how our national characteristics - our sense of humour, our hobbies, our favourite foods and our behaviour with the opposite sex - are all defined by our nation's extraordinary geography, geology, climate and weather.



You will learn how we would be as freezing cold as Siberia without the Gulf Stream; why we drive on the left-hand side of the road; why the Midlands became the home of the British curry. It identifies the materials that make England, too: the faint pink Aberdeen granite of kerbstones; that precise English mix of air temperature, smell and light that hits you the moment you touch down at Heathrow.



Praise for Harry Mount:



'Highly readable, encyclopeadic, marvellous, illuminating. Mount portrays England via dextrous excavations of its geography, geology, history and weather' Independent



'Fascinating. Mount's an intelligent, funny and always interesting companion' Daily Mail



'Charming and nerdily fact-stuffed' Guardian



Harry Mount is the author of Amo, Amas, Amat and All That, his best-selling book on Latin, and A Lust for Window Sills - A Guide to British Buildings. A journalist for many newspapers and magazines, he has been a New York correspondent and a leader writer for the Daily Telegraph. He studied classics and history at Oxford, and architectural history at the Courtauld Institute. He lives in north London.

About the Author

Harry Mount is the author of Amo, Amas, Amat and All That, his best-selling book on Latin, and A Lust for Window Sills - A Guide to British Buildings. A journalist for many newspapers and magazines, he has been a New York correspondent and a leader writer for the Daily Telegraph. He studied classics and history at Oxford, and architectural history at the Courtauld Institute. He lives in north London.
‹  Return to Product Overview

ARRAY(0xac9f7abc)