How to Be Black and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
£14.88
  • RRP: £16.99
  • You Save: £2.11 (12%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
How to Be Black has been added to your Basket
Trade in your item
Get a £0.56
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

How to Be Black Hardcover – 5 Mar 2012

17 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£14.88
£7.25 £7.18
£14.88 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

How to Be Black + Cookin' With Coolio
Price For Both: £22.57

Buy the selected items together


Trade In this Item for up to £0.56
Trade in How to Be Black for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.56, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Harper (5 Mar. 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062003216
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062003218
  • Product Dimensions: 14 x 2.4 x 21 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 61,765 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

“A hilarious blend of razor-sharp satire and memoir...Using his own story and humor, Thurston demonstrates that the best way to ‘be’ anything is to simply be yourself.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Terrific...How to Be Black is an assault on nostalgia--a satirical, biographic attack on the idea that ‘blackness’ or any label should be derived from historical description.” (Fast Company)

“A hilarious look at the complexities of contemporary racial politics and personal identity.” (Booklist)

Struggling to figure out how to be black in the 21st century? Baratunde Thurston has the perfect guide for you...Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness and other blogs that take satirical shots at racial stereotypes are sure to love How to Be Black. (The Root)

“One of the smartest and funniest books I’ve ever read.” (Christian Lander (via Twitter))

From the Back Cover

If You Don't Buy This Book, You're a Racist.

Have you ever been called "too black" or "not black enough"?

Have you ever befriended or worked with a black person?

If you answered yes to any of these questions, this book is for you.

Raised by a pro-black, Pan-Afrikan single mother during the crack years of 1980s Washington, DC, and educated at Sidwell Friends School and Harvard University, Baratunde Thurston has over thirty years' experience being black. Now, through stories of his politically inspired Nigerian name, the heroics of his hippie mother, the murder of his drug-abusing father, and other revelatory black details, he shares with readers of all colors his wisdom and expertise in how to be black.

Beyond memoir, this guidebook offers practical advice on everything from "How to Be The Black Friend" to "How to Be The (Next) Black President" to "How to Celebrate Black History Month."

To provide additional perspective, Baratunde assembled an award-winning Black Panel—three black women, three black men, and one white man (Christian Lander of Stuff White People Like)—and asked them such revealing questions as:

"When Did You First Realize You Were Black?"

"How Black Are You?"

"Can You Swim?"

The result is a humorous, intelligent, and audacious guide that challenges and satirizes the so-called experts, purists, and racists who purport to speak for all black people. With honest storytelling and biting wit, Baratunde plots a path not just to blackness, but one open to anyone interested in simply "how to be."


Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By A. Radford on 14 Nov. 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This book has closed gaps in my life! Being a post-colonial white person in Zimbabwe really made it difficult to relate to the local people well. This book changed that!

After reading and changing my lifestyle to suit I now have access to all the things that I could not as a white person such as exclusive nightclubs, the secret fist bump, b**ches, etc. My life has opened up to a whole new level! Level BLACK!

There are drawback however, every time I fly I am subject to quite regular searches, practically every time actually. Police also stop my car and question any women in the seat next to me if they are being coerced by me in anyway. The office staff also never approach me individually now always in packs of two or three, maybe as a defense in numbers thing and alwayshave that terrified animal sparkle in their eyes that a cat has before it is hit by a car. For some reason now that I think of it security cameras all seem to track me individually wherever I go supermarkets, back alleys, everywhere, I am not sure if this is a personal safety thing of being black or not but I suppose it is a bonus to personal safety.

black/10

Overall the benefits out way the drawbacks.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Mr. A. Kinsey on 21 Mar. 2012
Format: Hardcover
How to be Black is simply one of the best books you will buy this year. It is about more than just learning about the author, or how to be black, it's about celebrating a culture and lifestyle which is embodied by Baratunde. If you can also buy the audio book from audible, you will get far more from listening to the author than the book alone. Also tell your friends it's time to black up ;)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Edgar on 11 Aug. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
It is a great read. The first half is definitely better than the second half. It has the great lesson that Martin Luther King mentioned: Don't let the colour of your skin determine anything you do, don't do, think or say. It does not shy away from the realities of being black but puts an incredibly spin on it and makes it funny. I frankly recommend it to anyone regardless of ethnicity, gender or nationality. The title is misleading, its more a book about how to be yourself, your real self!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Naomi J on 17 Nov. 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Thought provoking and funny. When people come round and see it on my shelf, they raise their eyebrows at me and say 'you don't need this book. It sounds dumb', but then I make them read it and they get it. Lots of laughs, and also epiphanies about race/the world, have been caused by this book. Love it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By chaz on 30 Dec. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Great ideas,are so simple and this book is very much a simple idea. Thanks Lord Thurston of black. A must read for people of any shade or shape.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Love this book! An interesting read for all ethnic backgrounds, heritages and houses of Hogwarts. It's comical, thought provoking and insightful. I have come across a lot of indirect/misunderstood casual racism, throughout my life and always experienced a pause moment. Where I was sure that the question, or statement was personalised for me. As if to label me different in a nice, politically correct and eco friendly manner. But I digress.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Maria Pearson on 13 May 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Its funny but we didn't realise how autobiographical it was, still a good read though and always a talking point
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Miss K on 5 Feb. 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I bought this for my boyfriend and he won't let me borrow it because he has a long list of people he wants to read it first. It appears to be laugh out loud funny and rather touching, too. Although Thurston is from the US, and so the book is very much in that context, it's a lighthearted look at race that applies anywhere, really. Highly recommended and a great gift for someone with a sense of humour.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback