Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £4.49

Save £12.50 (74%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

How to Be Black Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 20 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£4.49

Length: 275 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £9.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Audible Narration: Ready

Get a Free Kindle Book
Between now and 26 February 2016 you can earn a free Kindle Book by simply downloading and registering the free Kindle reading app, buying a Kindle Book, or buying a book. Learn more
Get a £1 credit for movies or TV
Enjoy £1.00 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle ebook from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle ebooks) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at on Friday, 26 February, 2016. Terms and conditions apply

Product Description

Review

“A hilarious blend of razor-sharp satire and memoir...Using his own story and humor, Thurston demonstrates that the best way to ‘be’ anything is to simply be yourself.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Terrific...How to Be Black is an assault on nostalgia--a satirical, biographic attack on the idea that ‘blackness’ or any label should be derived from historical description.” (Fast Company)

“A hilarious look at the complexities of contemporary racial politics and personal identity.” (Booklist)

Struggling to figure out how to be black in the 21st century? Baratunde Thurston has the perfect guide for you...Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness and other blogs that take satirical shots at racial stereotypes are sure to love How to Be Black. (The Root)

“One of the smartest and funniest books I’ve ever read.” (Christian Lander (via Twitter))

From the Back Cover

  • Have you ever been called "too black" or "not black enough"?
  • Have you ever befriended or worked with a black person?
  • Have you ever heard of black people?
  • If you answered yes to any of these questions, this book is for you. Raised by a pro-black, Pan-Afrikan single mother during the crack years of 1980s Washington, DC, and educated at Sidwell Friends School and Harvard University, Baratunde Thurston has more than over thirty years' experience being black. Now, through stories of his politically inspired Nigerian name, the heroics of his hippie mother, the murder of his drug-abusing father, and other revelatory black details, he shares with readers of all colors his wisdom and expertise in how to be black. Beyond memoir, this guidebook offers practical advice on everything from "How to Be the Black Friend" to "How to Be the (Next) Black President" to "How to Celebrate Black History Month."


    Product details

    • Format: Kindle Edition
    • File Size: 1031 KB
    • Print Length: 275 pages
    • Publisher: Harper (31 Jan. 2012)
    • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
    • Language: English
    • ASIN: B005GFPZZO
    • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
    • X-Ray:
    • Word Wise: Not Enabled
    • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
    • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 20 customer reviews
    • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #231,731 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
    •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


    More About the Author

    Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

    Customer Reviews

    4.4 out of 5 stars
    Share your thoughts with other customers

    Top Customer Reviews

    Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
    This book has closed gaps in my life! Being a post-colonial white person in Zimbabwe really made it difficult to relate to the local people well. This book changed that!

    After reading and changing my lifestyle to suit I now have access to all the things that I could not as a white person such as exclusive nightclubs, the secret fist bump, b**ches, etc. My life has opened up to a whole new level! Level BLACK!

    There are drawback however, every time I fly I am subject to quite regular searches, practically every time actually. Police also stop my car and question any women in the seat next to me if they are being coerced by me in anyway. The office staff also never approach me individually now always in packs of two or three, maybe as a defense in numbers thing and alwayshave that terrified animal sparkle in their eyes that a cat has before it is hit by a car. For some reason now that I think of it security cameras all seem to track me individually wherever I go supermarkets, back alleys, everywhere, I am not sure if this is a personal safety thing of being black or not but I suppose it is a bonus to personal safety.

    black/10

    Overall the benefits out way the drawbacks.
    Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
    Thank you for your feedback.
    Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
    Report abuse
    Format: Hardcover
    How to be Black is simply one of the best books you will buy this year. It is about more than just learning about the author, or how to be black, it's about celebrating a culture and lifestyle which is embodied by Baratunde. If you can also buy the audio book from audible, you will get far more from listening to the author than the book alone. Also tell your friends it's time to black up ;)
    Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
    Thank you for your feedback.
    Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
    Report abuse
    Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
    It is a great read. The first half is definitely better than the second half. It has the great lesson that Martin Luther King mentioned: Don't let the colour of your skin determine anything you do, don't do, think or say. It does not shy away from the realities of being black but puts an incredibly spin on it and makes it funny. I frankly recommend it to anyone regardless of ethnicity, gender or nationality. The title is misleading, its more a book about how to be yourself, your real self!
    Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
    Thank you for your feedback.
    Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
    Report abuse
    Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
    Thought provoking and funny. When people come round and see it on my shelf, they raise their eyebrows at me and say 'you don't need this book. It sounds dumb', but then I make them read it and they get it. Lots of laughs, and also epiphanies about race/the world, have been caused by this book. Love it.
    Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
    Thank you for your feedback.
    Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
    Report abuse
    Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
    Great ideas,are so simple and this book is very much a simple idea. Thanks Lord Thurston of black. A must read for people of any shade or shape.
    Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
    Thank you for your feedback.
    Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
    Report abuse
    Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
    Love this book! An interesting read for all ethnic backgrounds, heritages and houses of Hogwarts. It's comical, thought provoking and insightful. I have come across a lot of indirect/misunderstood casual racism, throughout my life and always experienced a pause moment. Where I was sure that the question, or statement was personalised for me. As if to label me different in a nice, politically correct and eco friendly manner. But I digress.
    Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
    Thank you for your feedback.
    Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
    Report abuse
    Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
    Its funny but we didn't realise how autobiographical it was, still a good read though and always a talking point
    Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
    Thank you for your feedback.
    Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
    Report abuse
    Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
    I bought this for my boyfriend and he won't let me borrow it because he has a long list of people he wants to read it first. It appears to be laugh out loud funny and rather touching, too. Although Thurston is from the US, and so the book is very much in that context, it's a lighthearted look at race that applies anywhere, really. Highly recommended and a great gift for someone with a sense of humour.
    Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
    Thank you for your feedback.
    Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
    Report abuse

    Most Recent Customer Reviews


    Customer Discussions

    This product's forum
    Discussion Replies Latest Post
    No discussions yet

    Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
    Start a new discussion
    Topic:
    First post:
    Prompts for sign-in
     

    Search Customer Discussions
    Search all Amazon discussions