or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
I’d like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

How Babies Think: The Science of Childhood [Paperback]

Alison Gopnik , Andrew Meltzoff , Patricia K Kuhl
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (19 customer reviews)
RRP: £9.99
Price: £6.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10. Details
You Save: £3.00 (30%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 6 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Saturday, 20 Sep.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover --  
Paperback £6.99  

Book Description

5 July 2001
Learning begins in the first days of life. Scientists are now discovering how young children develop emotionally and intellectually, and are beginning to realize that from birth babies already know a staggering amount about the world around them. In the first book of its kind for a popular audience, three leading US scientists draw on twenty-five years of research in philosophy, psychology, computer science, linguistics and neuroscience to reveal what babies know and how they learn it.

Frequently Bought Together

How Babies Think: The Science of Childhood + The Philosophical Baby: What Children's Minds Tell Us about Truth, Love & the Meaning of Life + The Scientist in the Crib: What Early Learning Tells Us About the Mind
Price For All Three: £26.42

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Phoenix; New Ed edition (5 July 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 075381417X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0753814178
  • Product Dimensions: 13 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (19 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 96,839 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Amazon Review

Learning begins in the first days of life. Scientists are now beginning to realise that from birth babies already know a staggering amount about the world around them. In the first book of its kind for a popular audience, three leading scientists draw on 25 years of research in philosophy, psychology, computer science, linguistics and neurosciences to reveal what babies know and how they learn it. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

Book Description

A cutting-edge exploration of what evolutionary psychology is teaching us of the development and learning of children, in the tradition of Matt Ridley's The Red Queen and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful for students? 30 Sep 2004
By PDG
Format:Paperback
I read this a book as a new parent and found it wonderfully infomrative and entertaining. I judged it as a university lecturer, health professional and someone who studied developmental psychology in depth as an undergraduate.The book is excellent - it is a model of good communication. Accesibility is sometimes quite compatible with academic rigour even though many in the business act as if it is not. If it's not your thing fine but don't knock it!
It is not designed as a sole textbook. It pulls together a broad range of higly complex research in a way that is understandable and gives the bigger picture of a whole child at the centre. It gives a good account of the conclusions of up to date research but it doesn't give detail of it nor is it the best source to use to get straight to the primary research. Its a small price to pay for making the book so readable. I would hope that students have access to other texts and references to primary sources in any case.
The role it can serve and does serve well is to give a broad picture to any novice to the 'academic' discipline. New students need that more than new parents. New parents will I think enjoy the ride and might benefit from the ocassional reminder that all that dribbling gurgling and chaos emanates from a sophiticated being who is solving problems now and will be teaching you new things in a year or two....
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read 19 May 2003
Format:Paperback
As a university educated mother I found 'How Babies Think' fascinating. The ideas carefully and articulately explained in the book have opened my eyes to the way my daughter is developing in front of me. Unlike a typical parenting book, the emphasis is on the mental process and placing this in context, rather than 'what your baby SHOULD be doing by X months'. I've recommended this book to many of my parent friends to help them understand their own young children.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating 23 Jun 2007
Format:Paperback
Help you understand how babies and young children think.

There are some surprising findings about how much even newborns know.

I thoroughly recommend it to anyone who has young children in their life (and I'm only an uncle). (I've given copies of it to a few new parents I know).
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book for all parents and grandparents 3 Sep 2010
By bobby
Format:Paperback
This little book is a fascinating insight into the minds of young children and I just wish I had known some of this stuff when my own children were born. I will be passing it on to sons and daughters in law. It is a bit deep scientifically in places but made me laugh in others.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Format:Hardcover
An excellent book which destroys many myths about babies and young children and how they think and perceive the world and the people about them. It will be an invaluable help to anyone involved with babies and young children - parents, grandparents, teachers etc. The style of writing is a bit American-folksy at times and the odd prejudice appears (what do the authors have against Martin Buber?), but a truly fascinating and valuable book to those of us who are not behavioural psychologists.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback
I delayed getting this book because of the negative reviews, until my friend recommended it. I really regretted not having read it sooner! If you are interested in questions like "when do children develop a concept of self and other / categorisation / human faces" etc. then this book is ideal. In other words, perfect for any new parent with an interest in psychology, philosophy, neuroscience* or artificial intelligence. Yes, it could have been more concise - but that is true of a lot of popular science, and at times I enjoyed the style of the prose (especially the closing chapter).

*If you are specifically interested in neuroscience then "The Science of Parenting" by Margot Sunderland is a better choice.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How babies think 27 Jun 2010
Format:Paperback
An excellent text book for students doing early childhood qualifications. Easy to read but very informative about child development. A must for all childcare students.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting! 30 May 2010
Format:Paperback
This book gives a great insight in babies brain development - found it really interesting for my degree studies!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, well written.
Very interesting and insightful read. Babies know more than you think!
Published 1 month ago by T
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book
I read this book when I was pregnant and found it a fascinating account of the latest theories about how babies think.
Published 15 months ago by GreenSparrow
5.0 out of 5 stars good
this was easy to find, was what i was looking for, was good quality with no hassels what so ever
Published 21 months ago by Mrs. Wendy Adam
5.0 out of 5 stars great
good buy and can recommend to all. It is worth the money. Try it too you will not regret it.
Published on 11 Jun 2012 by sanamond
2.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fluffy writing
This was given to me as a really interesting revelation. Book synopsis appears to be: Babies know more than you think. Read more
Published on 23 April 2010 by P. A. Caruana
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on babies I've read!
This book is so refreshing-- no 'expert' prescriptions or diy parenting gobbledygook! It's fascinating to read what science reveals about the infant brain and what it tells us... Read more
Published on 7 July 2009 by Fried Green Chillies
3.0 out of 5 stars misleading title
This book reports on some interesting findings about the way babies think. However, the rest of the book talks about how cool it is to be a scientist, and especially a... Read more
Published on 29 Nov 2007 by Katerina
3.0 out of 5 stars far too long
This book is far longer than it needs to be. From a parent's perspective, the key points could easily be summarised in one short chapter. Read more
Published on 2 Jan 2005
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback