FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Tree Savers
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: A used book that is in good, clean condition. Your item will be picked, packed and posted FREE to you within the UK by Amazon, also eligible for super saver delivery.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

A House In Corfu Paperback – 6 Jun 2002


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
£8.99
£4.20 £0.01

Frequently Bought Together

A House In Corfu + The Greek for Love: Life, Love and Loss in Corfu + Greek Walls: An Odyssey in Corfu
Price For All Three: £23.16

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Vintage; New Ed edition (6 Jun 2002)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0099422530
  • ISBN-13: 978-0099422532
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 1.5 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 417,977 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

'...a delightful memoir...' -- Publishers Weekly

'Here she lends her stunning prose to a unique memoir of the home her parents built on Corfu... on a journey through time' -- Cleo Pappas

'Tennant is strong on the ironic interaction between the Mediterranean sense of eternity and the repeated interruptions (plumbing and storms)’ -- Gerald Cadogan – archaeologist and writer

'This account of an alternative lifestyle... will appeal to travelers, expatriates and their admirers.' -- Publishers Weekly

Book Description

A delightful book in the tradition of Peter Mayle and Frances Mayes

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

55 of 59 people found the following review helpful By Michaela Jordain on 16 July 2002
Format: Paperback
I loved this book. Not only is it well written - I was living in a timeless world amongst the olive groves, as of page one - it also answered an important question for me: Most of us probably dream of finding a wonderful, magical place, of being able to do up a crumbling Tuscan farm house or Venetian villa,or of building a dream home on the sea, as Emma Tennant's family did in the 1960's. But, practicalities aside, would we be happy in a foreign land? Would our friends and families come to see us? Would it really work? The answer is a resounding 'yes', if 'A House in Corfu' is anything to go by. I may not manage it myself, but this book made me feel that it is a dream worth dreaming. It also made me happy. Read it. Michaela Jordain
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Issy on 8 Jan 2011
Format: Paperback
I love Corfu. Not the Kavos's and Sidari's which are thankfully far and few between but the hidden coves and mountain villages, so I thought this book would be an interesting read but it is painfully bad. The writing is drawn out and tiresome with very little to say. It could just about have been a good magazine artical if edited but as a book it is hard work and just does not draw you in or make you relate in anyway to the author.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By tangerina on 23 Sep 2014
Format: Paperback
A gently drifting narrative, very enjoyable for anyone who loves Greece. There is not a lot of structure to the book; it reads like diary entries over years, ending at some arbitrary point. But there are lovely descriptions of landscape and people, with often telling details. The style irritated me a little, as the author has a tendency to insert long asides and comments within already long sentences, overusing dashes and parentheses. But I got used to that and thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere created.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Milly on 18 Mar 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I have read this book before but lost it. Saving this one for the summer! It is a fantastic book and prefectly described!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Smint100 on 26 Oct 2008
Format: Paperback
Although I did enjoy the book, I did get a little annoyed when she complained about visitors searching out the house. Easy solution - don't advertise the house and the location by writing a (presumably profit-making) book about it!

Readable, but not in the same league as the beautifully written My Family and Other Animals by Gerald Durrell
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback