Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
24
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2006
For anyone who knows, or who would like to know the region, this is a must. Unlke so many authors of this type of book, Ms Murrills has clearly spent many years getting to know and understand the area, and really has the feel of the untranslatable 'terroir'. She also has the talent to pass this underestanding on to her readers.

A plus - the illustrations are delightful.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2007
This book livened an already keen interest in France and in French Regional cooking. So many of the places are off the recognised travel guide routes - yet appear tempting from Angela Murrills' superb (delicious?) descriptions and Peter Matthews' illustrations. This has now become our travel guide "par excellence" - and the hotels, restaurants and sites of the Languedoc are , rightly, profiting from that.

Buy it, read it, and I dare you to say you won't visit!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2009
I really enjoyed reading this book as it gave me an insight into the area. It was what I had hoped for as a reading companion to my holiday in the Languedoc and more as I visited some of the places mentioned in the book and tried some of the receipes. I did indeed savour the food, history and mystery of the Languedoc. My only dilema now that I'm home is wither to keep it in the kitchen with my cookery books or in the study with my travel books.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
Angela Murrills journey through her beloved Languedoc is educational, witty, funny, and an amazingly honest account of years spent in pursuit of her passion. She takes you into a world of intrigue, history, fetes, festivals and heights in gastronomy, each season bringing something new to the plate to be relished and admired. The passion, artistry and love of good food is alive and thriving in this corner of France. I loved this book from start to finish
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2009
This delightful book takes you to the heart of this beautiful region of France. If you have already visited the Languedoc, it will bring back many wonderful memories and, if you haven't, it won't be long before you do! The fascinating bites of history and the delicious recipes totally capture the flavour of the area and its' people. I wanted to devour it in one sitting but tried to nibble at it to prolong the pleasure.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2011
I've just read this wonderful book in advance of a forthcoming visit to the Languedoc region. I chose my holiday primarily because of an interest in medieval history and the Albigensian Crusade. The book touches on those historical themes briefly but it's mainly a joyous celebration of the region's rich and varied cuisine, provincial village and family life. I loved the author's lively and descriptive passages devoted to the meticulous preparation of the Languedoc's mouthwatering dishes - confit de canard, cassoulet etc - and her revealing insights into the cycles of agricultural life in general, the wine, cheeses, fish and game conservation. The narrative includes some useful snippets of trivia too. So, for example, I learned that nicotine was named after a French Ambassador to Spain from the region, a M Nicot, who introduced tobacco to France mainly because he liked its medicinal qualities. And the fabric that subsequently became denim in America was a cloth mixed of white and purple thread that originated in Nimes, hence "de-nimes"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2009
read this before going to Languedoc on holiday. It was an inspiring read and had some great recipes. While we were in Languedoc it was mostly hot sun...not much cool shadow in August!Beware the busy roads/traffic jams near the coast if you are going to Languedoc in the summer..
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2015
Very informative and interesting. What a good idea including the recipes within the story. Personally know some of the areas and can easily see why the writer was seduced by the wonderful south of France. Only occasionally did I think too much in depth slightly rambling detail. Recommend a read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
Never did establish where and when they actually purchased a house in France; I found the book tended to ramble a bit. Loved the recipes though, will definitely try some!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2012
Great book, captures the essence whilst delivering factual information
The South of France is a magical place with light and space and somehow the French
have retained their authenticity in lifestyle and values, this book describes this with aplomb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)