Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars19
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£18.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2006
This album holds special meaning for me. It was the first KISS album I ever bought and about 40 or 50 have followed since. So naturally I always look back with fond memories of playing the record during that warm spring of 1998. And I still love the album to this day. As with Crazy Nights, it gets a lot of criticism and I feel most of it is unwarranted.

The three singles are fantastic; Rise to It and Hide you Heart are great songs and Forever is KISS' Beth on the 1980s. There are many other fine songs like Cadillac Dreams, Silver Spoon and Somewhere Between Heaven and Hell. The only downer on this album is the amount of filler. The band simply churned out (seemingly) every song they had scralled down over the last few months and leads to such poor licks like Boomerang, Read my Body, Prisoner of Love and Love's a Slap in the Face making their ugly way onto the record. Had the above tracks been deleted, they would have had a very strong 11 song album. As it is, the good songs are still there, hence the good review.

As with all of KISS's material, judge for yourself. This band has been unfairly knocked by critics who never got it and ignored by people for the same reasons others fell in love with them. So listen for yourself and tell me it's a poor album!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2009
Having not been a fan of kiss at all and was forced to listen to crazy nights and subsiquently got hooked i bought this album as a follow up... certainly not as powerfully synth ladened but a solid effort none the less. I have enjoyed going back to this album as it does hold some anthem songs. To me it still sounds fresh today... which is more than you can say for westlife
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
WELL 1989 WAS THE YEAR THAT THIS CD WAS RELEASED AND THE LAST TO FEATURE THE LIVING LEGEND DRUMMER ERIC CARR. IT IS BETTER THAN ITS BETTER THAN CRAZY NIGHT AND ASYLUM BUT NOT QUITE AS GOOD AS THE ANIMALIZE CD/ LP . THERE IS SOME VERY GOOD SONGS ON IT - READ MY BODY / THE STREETS GIVETH / RISE TO IT / FOREVER / CADILLAC DREAMS / HIDE YOUR HEART. THESE SONGS ARE HEAVY & POWERFULL THEY GIVE KISS A GOOD REPUTATION AND STAND UP TO THE LIKES OF EUROPE AND POISON . SADLY THIS WAS THE LAST CD/ALBUM TO FEATURE ERIC CARR ON DRUMS AS HE SADLY PASSED AWAY IN 1991 R.I.P. BUT KISS CARIED ON WITH NEW DRUMMER ERIC SINGER BUT THEY NEVER MANAGED TO CARRY THE MAGIC OF THE ERIC CARR YEARS .

SOME OTHER GOOD KISS CDS/LPS TO CONSIDER - CREATURES OF THE NIGHT / LICK IT UP / ANIMALIZE.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 December 2008
it was now beyond a joke,every album a couple of decent singles,a couple of average rockers to make you think they might be on the right track and the rest fillers,this disc is a perfect example of why cd's are killing the music world,in days gone by 30/40 minutes of your best was generally what was put out with some lesser tracks relegated to b'sides etc,with the advent of cd,quality control goes awol and its fill it up boys with as much as you can,how many discs in the cd generation do you own of new recordings which are genuinely 70 plus minutes of classics,not many - check your collection,this disc is overstocked with filler,certainly hide your heart(bon jovi clone) and forever(foriegner) are superb singles if not genuine kiss,betrayed certainly brings back memories of the 'duece' days,but really, rise to it(cinderella) and read my body(def lepard) is this acceptable from the greatest band in the world,from inovaters to copycat band really disappointing,thankfully the transient chart audience had moved elsewhere and kiss sales stalled,this didnt go platinum immediately,possibly never did and a wake up call was sent,the tour stumbled and faltered,but the set list was now far more acceptable to the kiss army ... from the depths there was only one way and that up!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
AFTER THE 2 VINNIE VINCENT ALBUMS " CREATURES / LICK IT UP " WHICH CLEARLY PULLED KISS OUT OF THE GUTTER THEN CATAPULTED THEM BACK INTO THE LIMELIGHT . THEY RELEASED ANIMALIZE THAT WAS ALSO EXCELLENT. THEN THEY STARTED ON THE DOWNWARD SLOPE WITH ASYLUM / CRAZY NIGHTS THAT WERE JUST HARTY FARTY BUBBLE GUM WANNA BE ROCK ALBUMS . THEN AFTER A YEAR OR SO THEY BOUNCED BACK WITH THIS ALBUM WHICH HAS SOME GREAT TRACKS LIKE - RISE TO IT / THE STREETS GIVETH / CADILLAC DREAMS / FOREVER / HIDE YOUR HEART .
SADLY THIS WAS THE LAST ALBUM KISS MADE BEFORE ERIC CARR'S SAD PASSING .
AFTER THIS THE ALBUMS JUST CONSIST OF PURE PUKE .
YES KISS STINK IN MY BOOK . SIMMONS / STANLEY & THE OTHER 2 ARE THE WORSE KISS LINE UP EVER .
THEY SHOULD REVERSE THE BANDS NAME BECAUSE THAT'S HOW THEY MAKE ME FEEL SINCE MR CARR PASSED AWAY .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
I think it's an excellent hard rock album made in the late 1980s. Unfortunately, only the ballad Forever became a hit from the album, though there are a lot more songs with good melodies. If you're into good rock'n'roll, you'll enjoy it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2016
It's unfair to lambast this album when thinking out of context. Kiss in the 1980s was predominantly the Paul Stanley show. Gene Simmon's songs were pure fillers and his output was zilch. Paul Stanley, a talented songwriter, has always been the softer side of the band, and has melodic sensibilities, so the album's direction towards a Bon Jovi style hard rock is likely and suitable.
 Still, this album is loud n proud, and I mainly like the Paul Stanley songs. Perhaps if this was a Paul Stanley solo album it would've gone down well with the fans. I love songs like Hide your Heart, You love me to hate you, Forever, king of Hearts, Rise to it, read my body - classics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2012
This one hadthe gigantic world wide hit 'forever' on it. However it was filled with songs that were headed toward hard pop and that makes this one more of a unfocused effort than there last 5 releases. Their next release would curb this direction but here we have some really good songs and some really average songs that any band could have done. the highlights save this one though and pull it up for me out of the pits. It's a three and a half star release to me. The concert for this tour though were awesome. There was a giant sphinx head that shot lasers out of it! THe tour was far superior to the cd but that's the way it goes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
One great ballad in Forever.
The remaining 14 songs are just poorly written, well below average pop/rock. Kiss never sunk so low. Luckily from here on, they embraced their past, and eventually put the make up back on and reunited the original band. There's a couple of Paul Stanley songs (Silver Spoon & King Of Hearts) which are passable, Gene Simmons songs should of never been released to the public. Eric Carr's Little Caesar is not bad. The production is absolutely horrible, I can't think of a worse sounding rock album. Avoid at all costs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2003
"Back to the roots" ? Give us a break ! A perfect example of quantity over quality is what "Hot In The Shade" really is... 15 songs of which 5 worth noting, and thus a whole album worth of filler songs is what you get on this album. By the end of the '80s KISS was desperately straining for their past glory of the mid/late '70s era. Not just in terms of record sales and concert attendance, but also when it came to writing good material. During the late 80's, so-called "heavy", melodic bands like Bon Jovi and Europe were selling records by the truckload and scoring hit singles with the help of songwriters like - in the case of Bon Jovi - Desmond Child, who was also the co-writer of KISS's biggest selling "disco-rock" worldhit to date, "I Was Made For Lovin' You", back in 1979. Not having been able to really "get on top" again after several lineup changes during the '80s (original drummer Peter Criss left the group in '80 and was replaced by Eric Carr, original guitarist Ace Frehley left in '82, replaced by Vinnie Vincent from '82-'84, in turn replaced briefly by Mark St. John in '84, and from there on Bruce Kulick would be the "hired gun") and after taking off the trademark makeup in '83, during the late '80s KISS apparently wanted to put themselves on the map again by writing more radio-suitable material to recapture the audience interest - they had already abandoned their early 80's metal sound ("Creatures Of The Night", "Lick It Up", "Animalize") with the release of the pop-metal, synth-laden "Crazy Nights" album in 1987. While this album did well, concert attendance was disappointing and it seemed as if interest in the band really started to wane by the end of the decade, much in favor of other bands that, quite frankly, did this sort of thing better. Despite their loyal following, KISS was no longer a really "big" group and, quite simply put, desperate at this stage. That's where "Hot In The Shade" comes in... and failed miserably.
In a nutshell : 2 decent, energetic, Simmons-penned tracks, "The Street Giveth And The Streeth Taketh Away" and "Betrayed" add some heaviness to an otherwise very "lightweight" album, as do Stanley's catchy opener "Rise To It", the rallying "Hide Your Heart", and lastly the quality ballad "Forever" which was a modest MTV hit. Other than that, this album varies between - at best- mediocre songs ("Cadillac Dreams"), quite boring ones ("Somewhere Between Heaven And Hell", "Little Caesar", "Silver Spoon") and downright lame ones ("Love Is Like A Slap In The Face", "Boomerang", "Read My Body"). There's not much to say about this overall disappointing record. KISS were clueless, nearly broke after a lawsuit with Phonogram, and surviving rather than thriving on the road. Moreover, Stanley and Simmons were utterly confused - with every album they claimed to having made their Son Of "Destroyer" (the highly acclaimed, Bob Ezrin produced 1976 album) - that would bring KISS's sound "Back to the roots" - every time it turned out to be much ado about nothing. It is no surprise that during live shows and on compilations the band has put out during the last few years, the mid/late 80's era is completely omitted. There simply wasn't much going on. So if you get this, be prepared to reach for the "skip" button on your CD player quite often. Yawn.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)