Hot Blooded: Book 2 in the Jessica McClain series and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Hot Blooded: Book 2 in th... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Ex Library book with usual stamps and stickers. Good Clean Condition Book. Over 2 million items sold. Fast dispatch and delivery. Excellent Customer Feedback. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Hot Blooded: Book 2 in the Jessica McClain series (Jessica McCain) Paperback – 23 Apr 2013

20 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£8.99
£0.21 £0.01
£8.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card for your child's school by voting for their favourite book. Learn more.
  • Prepare for the summer with our pick of the best selection for children (ages 0 - 12) across Amazon.co.uk.

Frequently Bought Together

Hot Blooded: Book 2 in the Jessica McClain series (Jessica McCain) + Cold Blooded: Book 3 in the Jessica McClain series (Jessica McCain) + Full Blooded: Book 1 in the Jessica McClain series (Jessica McCain)
Price For All Three: £25.97

Buy the selected items together


Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card and 30 Kindle E-readers for your child or pupil's school.
Vote for your child or pupil(s) favourite book(s) here to be in with a chance to win.

Product details

  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit (23 April 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0356501280
  • ISBN-13: 978-0356501284
  • Product Dimensions: 12.5 x 2.2 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (20 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 215,473 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

Rising star Carlson is rapidly building a rich world filled with intrigue, betrayal and hidden prophecy; all in all, this series second is a magnificent showing (RT BOOK REVIEWS *TOP PICK*)

A roller coaster ride from start to finish that is not to be missed! (A BOOK OBSESSION)

Full of heart-pounding action (THE NOCTURNAL LIBRARY)

A fantastic addition to a series that has basically everything I want from my urban fantasy: Layered world-building, pulse-racing action, witty writing and characters that grow. If, like me, you were left missing Kelley Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld when it ended, this may just be the series to help you fill that void. I'm counting down the days until Cold Blooded (VAMPIRE BOOK CLUB)

Action packed and one of those books that is hard to put down (ALL THINGS URBAN FANTASY)

Book Description

The second Jessica McClain novel - a fast-paced and irresistibly sexy urban fantasy novel perfect for fans of Kelley Armstrong.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 24 April 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
MY REVIEW
I downloaded a free e-copy of this from Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.
I love the cover as it has the main character of Jessica on the front and fits really well with the other book covers in the series. There's the byline of Hunt To Kill which is what is happening to Jessica and her gang as they go to attempt to rescue Rourke. I don't like the quote from another author about the book, my feelings are that such quotes should go on the back of the book or on an inside cover perhaps.
Would the cover make me pick it up in a book store? Yes definitely. Though as I have read part of the series I would have been looking for this book too.
The blurb tells the reader enough to entice without giving too much away and also saves the odd twist and turn for a surprise to the reader.
So the book picks up literally where the other one left off. Jessica, her brother Tyler and pack member Danny set off with the vampire guides to find the hidden lair of the goddess who is holding Rourke against his will. Oh yeah and there's a late addition to the travelling party of Ray, the cop who has recently discovered what Jessica is!
They come across many challenges in the form of strange beastie's and life forms that they have to kill or subdue to gain the final access to the Goddess Selena's lair.
There were definitely times when I thought Mmm I didn't see that one coming, and the odd wow what the heck! moments too. I love the characters and how we get to explore some of them in more depth. I enjoyed Ray's funny side, the way he injected some humor into the darkest of plights. I loved Naomi, her tragic existence at the hands of Selena, then her escape yet she still had the willingness to help Jessica seek out Selena.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By kara-karina (Nocturnal Book Reviews) on 23 April 2013
Format: Paperback
I am really enjoying this new name in urban fantasy genre. Amanda Carlson proved that she can write decisive, interesting, fully capable of kick butt decision making characters; create a wonderfully complex world-building and end her books with a big bang. And I LOVE that. This is what encompasses UF genre for me!

Hot Blooded might be even better than Full Blooded. The whole book is about Jessica and her companions on the move to get Rourke from a really crazy, sadistic Goddess, Selena. Again, Rourke is in Jessica thoughts but he doesn't domineer the plot. Even when they are back together, there is no moochiness I so dislike in instant love/perfect mate shifter relationship. It's all go, go, go, act now, love later as it's only appropriate in the situation.

There is also a deep, lovely connection between Jessica and her brother, Tyler, interesting developments with a couple of vamps who help them on their journey, Eamonn and Naomi, and ever so amusing snarkiness of human police detective, Roy.

Roy, I am rooting for you! Don't you dare disappear in the next book! I fully expect you to play an important role in this series :)

Overall, it's an excellent, action packed urban fantasy, reminiscent of Rachel Vincent and Caitlin Kittredge's writing, so if you loved both of these authors, I suggest you don't miss out on Amanda Carlson!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition
In the first book of the series, Full Blooded, we are introduced to Jessica McClain. Jessica is an oddity - born the daughter of her packs Alpha, life should be good. But there is a problem with that - female werewolves aren’t supposed to exist. And no one in the pack is willing to let her forget that she is a freak of nature. Once past puberty and not having shifted, Jessica thought she would live out her life as a human. She left the pack behind, starting a new life with a new name.
Everything was going well, until her wolf decided it was time to surface.

Hot Blooded, the second book of the series, picks up just after the events of the previous book. Told almost entirely on the road, with brief phone updates connecting Jessica to her father and pack at home, Jessica and her rather ‘unusual’ traveling companions, including two vampires loaned to her by the Vampire queen.

It took me a while to read Hot Blooded for NetGalley. I started to read the book, but soon realized that I would be much better served to read the first book first. It pulled the story together for me, in a manner which I wasn’t feeling until reading the first. While there are things I didn’t care for all that much. Jessica is a bit of a Mary Sue, overcoming apparently insurmountable odds on her own.

What I did enjoy about the story is just how compassionate Jessica is for all creatures, including humans – a personality quirk that her werewolf brethren definitely are not happy about. Jessica is strong, intelligent and has her own mind, a rarity in the urban fantasy heroine tropes of the day, making her a perfect addition to the genre. I hope that she retains that compassion across the series.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
If the first book in this series, Full Blooded was fast paced, then this second book was Usain Bolt on skates, going downhill. Wow. There is little time for Jess or any of her friends to catch their breath as she, her brother, Tyler and their pack-mate Danny head off to rescue her mate, Rourke from the crazy goddess Selene. The only help they have are two tracking vampires and a police detective, Jess is trying to save now he knows about the supernatural world. The story is relentless action while at the same time exploring Jess's new abilities and what makes her different (apart from being the only female werewolf of course!)

I loved Jess's determination and how much she cares for others. Her care for Ray despite their troubled history was a nice insight into her personality especially as other supernaturals never really gave him much thought. Her growing friendship with the vampire, Naomi also shows her willing to rethink the inbuilt prejudice many supernaturals have. The relationship between Jess and Rourke feels a little more natural this time (it was a little too insta-love previously) and I really liked the way Jess's powers are different from anything else in this world without making her too isolated. She already has family, friends, a mate and her own thoughts and opinions.

The action is frenetic and involving with each new challenge different and distinct. Jess doesn't back down no matter what is thrown at her. At the same time she learns more about vampires in general and Naomi in particular, which helps give a wider perspective of what Jess could mean to the wider supernatural world and not just the wolves. I was hooked right from the beginning and never bored as Jess fought and thought her way to Rourke.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback