Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now
Biggest Ever Deals Event

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £0.00

Save £4.00 (100%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Homecoming Blues (Dalton's Blues Book 1) Kindle Edition

26 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"

Length: 89 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

Get a Free Kindle Book
Between now and 26 February 2016 you can earn a free Kindle Book by simply downloading and registering the free Kindle reading app, buying a Kindle Book, or buying a book. Learn more

Complete Series

Product Description

About the Author

I am a Indie writer from Swansea. I live with my fiancee Lisa and our two children, Tammie and Steffan plus a pychotic cat and two mad terrier dogs.-In this age of the digital revolution writers have never had it so good. Because of the ongoing changes in the publishing world, it has enabled myself and many others to be published far sooner than going down the traditional route. I have just had a short story published in a action anthology alongside Stephen Leather and many other great writers. Years ago this could not have been possible, now it is. Maybe the changes are a goodthing, maybe not. But one thing is for sure I achieved my dream far sooner than I ever thought.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3117 KB
  • Print Length: 89 pages
  • Publisher: Dragon Crime; 2 edition (16 Jan. 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B008A2208U
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (26 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #11,259 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?

More About the Author

(1965---) Born in Doncaster, South Yorkshire, and lives in the little village of Campsall. His writing has appeared in Action Pulse Pounding Tales vols 1 & 2 alongside best selling thriller authors Matt Hilton, Stephen Leather, Adrian Magson, Zoe Sharpe and Joe McCoubrey. Having been raised on a diet of seventies and eighties Pulp Fiction, and no he does not mean the film, books like The Destroyer series, Mac Bolan, et al,He intended his work to reflect those humble beginnings of his literary journey. His books are not the long drawn out War and Peace length tomes, and Andrew makes no apologies for this. He writes pure escapist fiction for the general entertainment of the mass audiences. Books that will take you out of the mundane everydayness of your life into a world of pulse pounding action and adventure, just like the old Pulp stories from back in the day. Yes there is violence,sometimes extreme, yes there is bad language, and slang, but the worlds his characters inhabit, this can be the norm. Some people will love them, some will not, it is the way the world revolves, different strokes for different folks. All you need to do is sit back buckle up and enjoy the wild roller-coaster ride, then at the end you can get off and rejoin your life. Don't read too much into them, they're just for fun.

The only thing for a writer
is to be himself
and take the consequences.

You can contact him via email You can also find him on Facebook here where he is always up to talking to readers, answering your questions etc.

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 26 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 21 April 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Where did the time go? I picked up Homecoming Blues and I'd suddenly lost and hour and a half of my life. I looked around my little reading spot and out of the window bewildered at the position of the sun.

Homecoming Blues I would classify more as an action than a crime novel. The intensity of the action and the speed of events really gripped me and I read the book into two sittings. Scorah delivers everything you would expect from a good action novel: Violence, two sets of bad guys, a girl and of course the comedy sidekick. There were cockney wisecracks galore.

This kind of novel will never win plaudits for emotional depth but for sheer escapism action packed fun it was a top notch read. Fans of Matt Hilton and Lee Child will love it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Warren Stalley on 23 Aug. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I first came across the author Andrew Scorah in the impressive ebook compilation Action Pulse Pounding Tales Volume One. Since then I have become very impressed with his writing.

Homecoming Blues tells the story of a battered soldier who comes back to London from the war in Afghanistan and straight into another war between the local crime lord and the Russian mafia. Forced into a rescue mission we soon see Jimmy Dalton unleash hell on the kidnappers and anyone else who gets in his way.

This short novel is the literary equivalent of dynamite as the protagonist blasts his way through gangsters, gorillas and goons. For some the local London slang may be confusing but the author thoughtfully includes a glossary of terms used which allows the reader to follow the novel without getting too confused.

This story is essential reading for the explosive scenes of destruction and compelling narrative. Once you start reading Homecoming Blues you cannot stop. I would strongly recommend this book for fans of Andy McNab or anyone who likes the action genre. Enjoy.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Brenda on 11 April 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
Homecoming Blues is an easy book to fall into. Get immersed with the compelling characters and fascinating storyline. This is a hardcore story that captivated my interest. This was an easy book to connect to and read as it was fast paced. I love the raw feel to this book. Definitely a great roller coaster of a ride. The dialog flows well and in a realistic manner.

This is a book that is full of action and suspense. I love how he gets right to the point. No playing around. This is a thrill ride filled with adventure and wit galore. This was a great escape.

“Two of the scariest noises in the world are the click-clack of double hammers on a shotgun at close range. The scariest thing to see is the twin barrels of said shotgun not a foot away from your face. This is the sight that greeted me on opening my eyes. Above the barrels hovered the face of Frankie Shenton. I might have known he would be the first to try for the reward.”
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Beathag on 6 July 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
Homecoming Blues is a fast action packed thriller which I absolutely loved!

I loved the way he described his characters, for example: "He was a large confident looking man, with a face like a kicked~in lunch tin and a huge mars~bar across his forehead, giving him a permanent frown".

The main character (Jimmy Dalton) despite being a bit of a thug, was a friendly one and has great respect for his father and it really showed in the novel how much they loved one another...

This paragraph really made me laugh: "The lightening flashed and I was about to run again when I saw a figure descend the flight of steps leading down to the lawn. He was wearing a yellow rain slicker, the kind you see on a killer in a bad American flick. I tried not to smile at the irony of it". This made me laugh because my young son has one of those coats and it too made me remember "those" movies!!

"All the pain and anguish which had built up inside me, boiled out in an explosive energy. I picked up one of the baseball bats, when I had finished, his head looked like a shattered alien fruit from the blows of the bat". I had images flashing through my mind after reading this paragraph and could really picture all the action and brutal violence which occurred to a lot of the characters in the book.

A fabulous debut and I think it would make a great movie. I cannot wait for the sequel ~ it is bound to be a brilliant follow on to "Homecoming Blues".

Brilliant, Well Done Andrew :-)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By tassy on 5 Sept. 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Homecoming Blues by Andrew Scorah is a no-holds barred blast away thriller set in the seedy London crime world. I love the author's direct style, clipped dialogue and frantic action, all perfectly wrapped into a neat bundle gift-wrapped in the full nine yards.
Jimmy Dalton returns from his tour of duty carrying hell on his shoulders. He has no time to relax with his father, chill with some beers, not for Jimmy. He is thrust back into the action and uses his considerable skills to search and rescue the daughter of a local gangland crime boss. But all is not as it seems, betrayal is one step ahead of Jimmy all the way.
If you like fierce action, martial arts and gun play then this book is right up your street. Never mess with Jimmy Dalton.
FIVE STARS or this action thriller and highly recommended.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful By CK on 1 July 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A really gritty book with action from beginning to end. I liked the main character, he was flawed and I also liked the wit - definately looking forward to his next book :)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions