Start reading Home Front on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.
OR
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Home Front
 
 

Home Front [Kindle Edition]

John A. Bray
3.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £2.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for £0.00 and get unlimited access to over 650,000 titles. Learn More
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Kindle Unlimited
Kindle Unlimited
Enjoy unlimited access to over 650,000 titles and thousands of audiobooks on any device for £7.99 a month, including this one. Learn more


Product Description

Product Description

A great nation is at war with itself.

A young and penniless boy - Johnny Madigan - lies about his age to become a Union Soldier.

But after fighting his way through some of the most brutal conflicts of the American Civil War and surviving terrible wounds Johnny Madigan now faces an even deadlier battlefield.

He must fight on the Home Front.

Johnny has proved himself a skilled spy. His commanders send him back to
to New York to penetrate an underground counterfeiting gang supplying forged US currency to the enemy South.

As he infiltrates the deadly cabal of plotters, he is sent to Canada where a murderous Confederate spy ring is plotting an armed uprising to take over New York City and hold it hostage - and so win the War for the Confederacy.

But in Canada, it is impossible for Johnny to tell which side is which.

Suspected by some of the plotters, he is seduced by the beautiful Letitia – herself a key member of the gang.

Her orders are to expose him.

Johnny’s dream is to return to childhood sweetheart, Deidre, who kept him alive as a destitute youth in the city’s slums.

But Letitia is impossible for any man to resist.

At stake is Johnny's heart, his life - and the outcome of the Civil War itself.

'Home Front' is an immaculately researched and fast-paced historical thriller that plunges the reader right into the murky depths of intrigue, plot and counter-plot that became the dark underside of the War Between the States.

It is perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Charles Frazier.

"This is the Civil War in close-up, in all its fury and glory. A fantastic, captivating read." - Richard Foreman, best-selling author of 'Sword of Rome'.

John A. Bray served for seventeen years in the New York City Police Department and took early retirement with the rank of lieutenant in 1976. After admission to the Bar, he served for four years as a prosecutor in the Department's internal disciplinary system. After leaving the NYPD, John practiced criminal defense law on Long Island and in New York City for 30 years.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent digital publisher.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 491 KB
  • Print Length: 283 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd. (19 Jan 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00B3F0524
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 3.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #633,157 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

5 star
0
3 star
0
1 star
0
3.3 out of 5 stars
3.3 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2.0 out of 5 stars Slow 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase
I found this book hard going. It took me ages to read, to be honest. Not my kind of story.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Great follow up to Flags of Our Sons! 18 Feb 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed Flags of Our Sons so I was interested to see how John A. Bray would develop the characters in the second instalment I was particularly interested in the love triangle that developed in this story. The assignment that Johnny undertakes places him close to his sweetheart Deidre, so you get more scenes of the two of the them together, instead of them interacting through letters which they do in the first novel. In Flags of Our Sons, I found the youthful relationship between Deirdre and Johnny a bit too sentimental, so I liked the fact that John Bray heated things up a little bit with the addition of the sexy and alluring female character, Letitia. Johnny becomes torn between the innocent and child-like Deirdre and the maturer, seductive character of Letitia. Bray intertwines the romance story with the war/ espionage narrative seemlessly. Letitia actually has a bigger role than Deirdre as she is one of the central characters involved in the criminal plot, and it was nice to see a female lead in a largely male genre. I am really enjoying this series so far and will definitely be looking out for the next instalment!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Home Front picks up where Flags of Our Sons left off. Johnny Madison has just completed his leave in New York. But this time, instead of returning to the army and fighting alongside the men at the forefront of the battles, he is being used by the Federal government as a secret agent codenamed 'Caleb 13'. His assignment as part of the intelligence service is to infiltrate a criminal gang in New York. New York has been beset by riots as the locals rebel against being drafted into a war and fighting for a cause which many of them do not believe in. The criminal gang poses a massive threat to the war effort as they are manufacturing counterfeit money which is flooding the system and ruining the US economy. Johnny must gain the trust of the ringleaders and report back the location of the counterfeiting machinery. However, the gang members soon become suspicious and the story builds as Johnny attempts to complete his mission before the gang find out his true identity.

Although the second novel in the series is completely different to the first - showing what the Civil War was like for those left behind in New York, instead of for those fighting on the front line - it is just as action-packed and exciting. It was interesting to learn about the growing unrest and unruly behaviour that was erupting in New York and which was almost as much of a threat to the government as the Civil War that was raging across the country. Home Front is an engrossing read which is well worth a try if you are interested in the US Civil War or espionage thrillers.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category