Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Holst: The Planets / Egdon Heath

Price: £7.06 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10. Details
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
23 new from £2.95 7 used from £0.09

Product details

  • Orchestra: BBC Symphony Orchestra
  • Conductor: Andrew Davis
  • Composer: Gustav Holst
  • Audio CD (25 Jun 2001)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Warner Classics
  • ASIN: B00005MO9R
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 210,118 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Mars, the Bringer of War. Allegro
2. Venus, the Bringer of Peace. Adagio - Andante - Tempo 1
3. Mercury, the Winged Messenger. Vivace
4. Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity. Allegro Giocoso - Andante Maestoso - Tempo 1 - Lento Maestoso - Presto
5. Saturn, the Bringer of Old Age. Adagio - Andante
6. Uranus, the Magician. Allegro - Lento - Largo
7. Neptune, the Mystic. Andante - Allegretto
8. Adagio - Poco allegro - Andante maestoso

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By And/Burro on 16 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase
I was certainly expecting a lot from this recording of the Planets which was actually recomended to me by another Amazon reviewer. Plus when you have Sir Andrew Davis and the BBC's flagship Orchestra you would expect fireworks. Unfortunately it's a fairly substandard performance of Holst's masterpiece and Egdon Heath from Davis and the BBC Symphony Orchestra. You would at least expect fireworks from the opening movement Mars, but instead, it's more of a damp Squib. The rest of the movements are good, but only Neptune is special, thanks to the BBC Symphony Chorus who are very effective indeed. In fact, I would say they are the best Chorus I have heard in a Planet's recording and that's why I have given this review four instead of three stars.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful By no longer Maggie on 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase
This is a marvellous performance by the great English conductor, Sir Andrew Davis, who always brings out the very best in every orchestra he conducts. Compared to other performances of the Planets, this has to be far and away the best.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 2 reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Wow perfect performances 21 Aug 2009
By R. Rockwell - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Should be everyone's first choice
I must thank the people at the Rough Guide or never would have gotten to listen to Holst`s two orchestral masterpieces as they should be heard by the impassioned reading of Andrew Davis leading the BBC symphony orchestra. Other recordings I have of the Planets are good in certain movements and not others .This recording is a total triumph from start to finish. Mars is appropriately military. Venus the bringer of Peace brought tears to my eyes .Mercury the winged messenger is one of my favorite pars is beautifully performed. Jupiter the bringer of Jollity is quite brilliantly performed and left me breathless in admiration of Holst and the conductor. Saturn the bringer of old age is chilling. Uranus the magician is a sort of scherzo. Neptune the mystic is famous for its wordless chorus also brought tears to my eyes. I really believe that I never heard The Planets before hearing this which is one of the best Cds in my collection. I immediately played it again.
The fact that this recording also contains a version of Egdon Heath which was named after and deducted to Thomas Hardy site of many of his novels are situated makes this a top choice. Egdon Heath like Hardy's novels is filled with pessimism mixed with moments of pastoral beauty is the best version I have ever The fact tnat it is so inexpensive it's a sin not to buy
Please excuse typos I have a neurologic disease.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Earthbound 4 Nov 2012
By Tom Lawrence - Published on Amazon.com
This recording never grabbed me, but I revisited it after listening to Eugene Ormandy Conducts 20th Century Classics. Where the Ormandy shimmers with celestial textures, the Davis seems leaden and never gets off the ground.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category