Hollywood from Vietnam to Reagan...and Beyond and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Trade in Yours
For a £0.27 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Hollywood from Vietnam to Reagan...and Beyond on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Hollywood from Vietnam to Reagan... And Beyond: A Revised and Expanded Edition of the Classic Text [Paperback]

Robin Wood

RRP: £23.00
Price: £20.76 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: £2.24 (10%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 21 Sep.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £18.88  
Hardcover £67.18  
Paperback £20.76  
Trade In this Item for up to £0.27
Trade in Hollywood from Vietnam to Reagan... And Beyond: A Revised and Expanded Edition of the Classic Text for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.27, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

15 July 2003
This classic of film criticism, long considered invaluable for its eloquent study of a problematic period in film history, is now substantially updated and revised by the author to include chapters beyond the Reagan era and into the twenty-first century. For the new edition, Robin Wood has written a substantial new preface that explores the interesting double context within which the book can be read-that in which it was written and that in which we find ourselves today. Among the other additions to this new edition are a celebration of modern "screwball" comedies like My Best Friend's Wedding, and an analysis of '90s American and Canadian teen movies in the vein of American Pie, Can't Hardly Wait, and Rollercoaster. Also included are a chapter on Hollywood today that looks at David Fincher and Jim Jarmusch (among others) and an illuminating essay on Day of the Dead.


Product details


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

Hollywood from Vietnam to Reagan... and Beyond is one of the most impressive demonstrations by a film critic that 'to be political is to avoid the trivial.'... Wood's writing is rich, eloquent, and illuminating. If our culture is indeed facing the possibility of imminent extinction, his is an essential contribution to it. Film Comment "Extremely valuable... Offers the first large-scale interpretation of a period of Hollywood (and independent) filmmaking that presents the serious moral, psychological, and historical issues at stake." American Film New to this edition are Wood's gutsy defenses of My Best Friend's Wedding and Heaven's Gate, discussions of Hollywood today and teen party pictures like American Pie, and an essay on Day of the Dead... recommended. Library Journal Wood's commentary -- blending scholarly insight with a personal tone, knowledgeable about theory but not obscure, always interested in gender and sexuality but not overwhelmed by that interest -- will engage students at all levels of preparation in film studies. Choice Robin Wood is a serious and important writer, and this is a serious and important book... [A] wonderful collection of essays. Film International

About the Author

Robin Wood is a founding editor of CineAction and author of Hitchcock's Films Revisited (Revised Edition, Columbia, 2002) and Sexual Politics and Narrative Film (Columbia, 1998). He is professor emeritus at York University and the recipient of a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Society for Cinema Studies.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
First Sentence
This book is not a survey: it does not pretend to cover every trend, every genre, every cycle-let alone every film-in the period (roughly 1970-1984) with which it is concerned. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.5 out of 5 stars  2 reviews
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book, intelligent and enlightening 11 Sep 2010
By wizardglick - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book by renowned critic Robin Wood is a fascinating study of the motion picture business in the 60s and 70s and beyond. His analysis of Scorcese, Altman, De Palma, and Michael Cimino is spot on and intelligent. I escpecially appreciated his views on Michael Cimino and his 2 films, The Deer Hunter and Heavens Gate, a film that has been undeservedly maligned since its release. He seems to agree with me that Cimino has been unfairly blamed for the ills of filmaking in the 70s, and instead presents Cimino as a groundbreaking but misunderstood director. A must read for any serious film fan.
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must Have Film Knowledge 15 April 2009
By Matt - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is an extremely fascinating look at the film industry and you end up looking at these film in a whole new light. Sometimes the analysis gets a bit too cumbersome for its own good, but overall this is a must have book for any film loving person.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback