Start reading His Dark Lady (Lucy Morgan 2) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

His Dark Lady (Lucy Morgan 2)
 
 

His Dark Lady (Lucy Morgan 2) [Kindle Edition]

Victoria Lamb
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £2.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £4.00 (57%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Whispersync for Voice

Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £7.99 after you buy the Kindle book.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £2.99  
Hardcover £14.71  
Paperback £5.99  
Audio Download, Unabridged £21.10 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.


Product Description

Review

"A powerful portrait of the pain incurred by the queen who turned herself into a living legend" (The Lady)

Book Description

An illicit story of romance and intrigue, set against a turbulent sixteenth-century England.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 701 KB
  • Print Length: 528 pages
  • Publisher: Transworld Digital (28 Feb 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B009A941LG
  • Text-to-Speech: Not enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #161,622 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Victoria Lamb lives in a farmhouse on the wild fringes of Bodmin Moor with her husband, five kids, two cats and a crazed Irish Red Setter. She is addicted to social media, and on dark nights has been known to sneak out and howl at the moon. She also writes poetry as Jane Holland, and other fiction as Elizabeth Moss and Beth Good. Her mother was the late romantic novelist Charlotte Lamb.

The Lucy Morgan (Shakespeare's Mistress) trilogy is set at the Elizabethan court: historical fiction combined with a spy thriller. 1 - The Queen's Secret. 2 - His Dark Lady. 3 - Her Last Assassin.

The Tudor Witch Trilogy is a paranormal romance series: a young Tudor witch struggles to escape the clutches of the witchfinder. 1 - Witchstruck. 2 - Witchfall. 3 - Witchrise.


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings 4 Mar 2013
Format:Hardcover
As in The Queen's Secret, His Dark Lady is told from four perspectives: Lucy, Elizabeth, Goodluck, and Shakespeare. And again there are two narrative strands; the one revolving around Lucy and Shakespeare, and the one revolving around the Queen and the Catholic plotters scheming to get Mary, Queen of Scots on the throne. Whereas in the previous book I preferred the romantic plotline concerning Elizabeth, Lettice, and Leicester over the assassination plot, in this book I infinitely preferred the sections dealing with the Catholic conspiracies and the effects being continuously under threat has on Elizabeth, above those dealing with the love story between Lucy and Shakespeare.

Why did the relationship between Shakespeare and Lucy bother me so? There are several answers to that question. To start off with, let me tell what the answer isn't. It isn't the fact that he was in fact cheating on his wife with Lucy. This is historical fiction set in Tudor times, as such it would have been surprising if he had been faithful to her. No what bothered me in this regard was the fact that he lied about it to Lucy. For someone to start a relationship with someone under false pretences, to create expectations where there can be none, is exceptionally cruel an unjust and I had a hard time swallowing Will's dishonesty. In addition, he's borderline abusive of his wife, demanding she sleep with him, and similarly, uses the excuse of being overwhelmed with passion to ignore Lucy when she tells him no. There were several times when their encounters felt more like rape than love-making, having Will insisting that Lucy's no actually means yes, and I found these scenes and the entire relationship quite disturbing.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting 2 April 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
The writing & plot were very good although at times not very clear. It follow on very from the earlier book & hope there will be a sequal
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read 4 Feb 2014
By Lorna H
Format:Paperback
I really enjoyed this book, the characters were involving and the plot interesting. Yes, some of the events weren't accurate/in chronological order based on the actual historical records, but this didn't matter to me and I enjoyed it anyway.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
By L. H. Healy TOP 500 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Hardcover
This novel is the second to feature the lead character Lucy Morgan, the first being The Queen's Secret.

This is another very enjoyable historical tale weaving fiction with real characters and detail from history, most notably Queen Elizabeth I, and a certain young playwright going by the name of Will Shakespeare. The story is set in the 1580s. Lucy is the dark lady of the title, one of the Queen's ladies-in-waiting, liked for her singing voice, she met the young Shakespeare briefly in the first novel, and here she becomes his muse. Several other characters from the first book make a welcome reappearance here, including Lucy's guardian Goodluck, once more involved in danger and intrigue. We learn that Lucy witnessed the secret marriage of Robert Dudley, beloved favourite of the Queen, to her cousin Lettice Knollys, and concealing her presence there from the Queen weighs heavily on Lucy's mind.

I enjoyed catching up with these characters again, they had stayed in my mind after the first novel in the series, in particular Lucy and Goodluck, and I was curious and excited to revisit their world and discover what adventures they would be involved in next. I was also gripped and intrigued by how the author portrayed Elizabeth during these turbulent times in her reign; her hopes and her health as she gets older, her ongoing feelings for Leicester, whose 'marriage was still a wound in her side', the threats on her life from those intent on removing her and installing Mary, Queen of Scots on the throne and the resulting doubts as to who in her circle she can really trust.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great follow up 6 May 2013
Format:Hardcover
Much has been written about Shakespeare including recently a book which claims that Shakespeare was in fact a pen name used by the Earl of Oxford. Victoria Lamb has used her fiction to imagine another Shakespeare. We see him through the eyes of Lucy, a singer and entertainer in the court of Queen Elizabeth. He is presented as a talented and intelligent writer but also a poor husband and a roguish seducer. Despite his bad behaviour this is a Shakespeare the reader can't help liking. However this is very much Lucy's story. The book moves forward in time from the events of The Queen's Secret to a court which is beset by intrigue and plots against the Queen at every turn. It is now the 1580s a dark and tense time at the Elizabethan court. Catholic plots and assassins are a constant threat and Elizabeth must decide the fate of her imprisoned cousin Mary Queen of Scots. Lucy is in the thick of it all, a witness to the elicit marriage of the Queen's favourite Robert Dudley to her cousin Lettice Knollys and entrusted by her guardian Master Goodluck to carry a message to a trusted friend instead she finds herself threatened. Her relationship with Shakespeare threatens to destroy her precarious position at court and Just as Lucy keeps her secrets from the Queen it seems that Will Shakespeare is keeping secrets from her. Whether you have read the previous novel in the series or not this is a fantastic novel of romance, intrigue and adventure perfect for fans of S.J. Parris, Alison Weir and Philippa Gregory.

His Dark lady is available now in Hardback from Bantam Press
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category