Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Hindemith: Complete Viola Works, Vol. 1 Hybrid SACD, SACD

Price: £13.13 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
Only 6 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
21 new from £9.44

Amazon's Tabea Zimmermann Store

Visit Amazon's Tabea Zimmermann Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Frequently Bought Together

Hindemith: Complete Viola Works, Vol. 1 + Hindemith: Complete Viola Works Vol. 2
Price For Both: £31.56

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Product details

  • Conductor: Hans Graf
  • Composer: Hindemith
  • Audio CD (3 Jun 2013)
  • Please Note: Requires SACD-compatible hardware
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Hybrid SACD, SACD
  • Label: Myrios Classics
  • ASIN: B00CP57CSG
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 130,113 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Zwischen Berg Und Tiefem Tal
2. Nun Laube, Lindlein Laube
3. Variationen 'Seid Ihr Nicht Der Schwanendreher'
4. Trauermusik for String Orchestra With Solo Viola
5. Schnelle Halbe
6. Langsam
7. Mässig Schnell
8. Variante Eines Militärmarsches
9. Lebhaft. Bewegte Halbe
10. Ruhig Gehend
11. Lebhaft
12. Langsam. Schreitende Achtel
13. Leicht Bewegt
14. Lebhaft Und Munter

Product Description

Product Description

Der Schwanendreher (The Swan Turner) concerto after old folk songs for viola & small orchestra Trauermusik (Music of Mourning) for string orchestra with solo viola Kammermusik No. 5 Op. 36 No. 4 for solo viola & large chamber orchestra Konzertmusik Op. 48a for solo viola & large chamber orchestra (early edition), world premiere recording Tabea Zimmermann commemorates the 50th anniversary of death of Paul Hindemith with the recording of his complete works for viola. Hindemith is regarded as a key composer for the instrument and was a famous violist, himself, and who premiered the viola concertos by Darius Milhaud and William Walton. The works recorded here in Vol. 1 include the viola concerto 'Der Schwanendreher' that Hindemith composed at the time when he faced massive agitation by the Nazis, as well as the intimate and touching 'Trauermusik' (Music of Mourning), written for the funeral of King George V. Besides these celebrated works, the album also includes two lesser known concertos: the 'Kammermusik No. 5' and the early edition of the 'Konzertmusik' Op. 48a in its world premiere recording. Tabea Zimmermann has teamed up with exceptional musical partners: the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester, Berlin, conducted by Hans Graf, who dedicate themselves to Hindemith s legacy. A second volume will include the sonatas for solo viola and for viola and piano and will be released as a double album in Autumn 2013.


ORCHESTRAL CHOICE Perf (5/5) ***** Rec (5/5) ***** Tabea Zimmermann s first volume of a complete survey immediately takes its place among the very best, not least for the warmer, woodier tone that she produces and puts to such musically penetrating use. --John Allison, BBC Music Magazine September 2013

There is a heartfelt passion and robust edge to Zimmermann s playing which blows away the cobwebs and brings these works very much to life. Making a highly sympathetic partner the excellent DSO Berlin is warmly expressive and well detailed. Austrian conductor Hans Graf holds everything together with confidence. I am delighted by this wonderfully clear SACD with its vivid and warm sound which I played on my standard CD player. The slightly forward balance of the solo viola is very much to my taste. This is certainly a Record of the Month . I m so enthusiastic about this release that will definitely be one of my Records of the Year . --Michael Cookson, MusicWeb International- November 2013

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Frank O'Phile on 18 Nov 2013
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I had seen this warmly recommended in a couple of places. I already knew and appreciated the playing of Tabea Zimmermann. Even though I 'didn't like ' the music of Hindemith (he's not a Britisher's favourite) I decided to buy. No regrets at all: the music is easy on the ear, and of course the performances are immaculate. Don't hesitate.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category