Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars35
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2012
Really enjoyed this novel. Had some sizzle and funny bits - couldn't put it down and ended up reading in one go! Couldn't resist and have ordered the other two in the series and am waiting for the fourth as well!! Recommend reading it!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
A tale of a fundamentally good girl behaving very badly, her banishment by cold and unfeeling parents (maybe that had a lot to do with the bad behaviour?) and the redemption that being loved and needed can bring.

I absolutely loved Fox and the way he reacted to Miranda. What girl doesn't love a smoking hot hero that works his butt of to save orphans?

I know I point it out a lot, but there were a few typographical and grammatical errors (it seems that it is just about impossible to find an ebook without them), and I it would be nice to seem them fixed.

I snagged this as a freebie download, but I would happily pay to buy this offering by Ms Burke and am looking forward to reading the whole of her series, Secrets and Scandals.

For me a 4 star read all the way, and highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
This book was a page turner to say the least. I found it highly entertaining and enjoyable.

Miranda, the daughter of a Duke, spoiled, entilted, and does anything to get into mischief. Is sent away by her parents to stay with her Aunt and Uncle in Wiltshire. Her Aunt and Cousin volunteer at a local orphanage and so Miranda is forced to volunteer. The question is will it help bring her elitist attitude around and teach her a few things about life?

Fox, or Montgomery Foxcroft gives every last penny he has to keep the orphanage going and continues to take on children that otherwise would have no place to go. Although he has two estates and 2000 acres of land he, his staff, and the children are barely getting by. His clothes are in tatters and anything he has had of value he sells to make sure others do not go without. But there are a few things he has that you can't take away which is pride and the love of the people around him.

Fox and Miranda's story unfolds and I really enjoyed every moment of it. My only slight niggle is how long it actually takes for Miranda to realise what is right in front of her is more valuable than any other thing.

A few very hot and steamy scenes. One especially suprised me and oddly enough it takes place in a brothel.

Looking forward to reading Jasper (Miranda's Brother's)story next!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
this is the first book ive read by this author ive got to say i enjoyed the story line
what ruined it for me was that the sex scenes were dragged out more than necessarily needed so i landed up skipping through them i will read the other books in the series as i said it was a good story line i just hope the sex scenes are shortercs them.being long doesnt add anything to the story line
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
As a lover of historical fiction and romance, I started this book with high hopes and I wasn't disappointed. Well written, funny, heart-warming and sexy - a great light read that I finished in one go. Couldn't resist buying the rest of the books in the series after this great debut novel.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2013
A spoiled brat who has been sent away by her father, a Duke, to learn the error of her ways, meets both a highwayman and a man struggling to keep an orphanage going. It is a romance, so inevitably she falls for someone unsuitable. While she does start to change because of the influence of the orphanage, she tends to fall back into her old arrogant ways to try to please her parents. I did find her vacillations rather irritating because she did not seem to have the courage of her convictions. Likewise, the hero did not quite ring true, with his dogged commitment to the orphanage not being in keeping with some of his temperamental outbursts.
However, despite these criticisms, the book was worth reading. Also I feel that the series gets better through the next 2 books (I haven't read the subsequent ones yet).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
Quite a good story, however, the use of Americanized terms was annoying as the story was supposed to be set in England and have never used dollars as a currency. Suggest a better proof reader.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Enjoyed this book, bought the next two in the series. Will probably look for more by this author. Typical story of love verses the social standards of the day.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
This is one if you want escapism and a bit of erotica the plot is ok if there are some inconsistencies and gaps. The main characters are quite likeable with the hero cast as a male Cinderella very poor but handsome meets gorgeous heiress who has never thought of anyone else except herself but within days changed into the most hard working caring person
In the story of course there is a happy ending one good point the epilogue tidied up endings for some of the other characters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
This is the first book I have read by this author. I found it a little slow at first. But once the story got going I could not put it down. It is about a regency ton wild girl sent to the country to made her ways working in an orphanage owner by the handsome poor landowner who turns highwaysman to fund the orphanage. Both fall in love even though everything works against them. I would read another book by this author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse