Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
376
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 December 2012
I have to admit to downloading this book because it was free for my Kindle and I enjoy the Tudor period of history immensely. Therefore, I am fairly well read on this era but I still thoroughly enjoyed this quick read. I'd recommend this as a really good starting point for anyone interested in Henry VIII's wives and/or Tudor history in general.

I really enjoyed Julie Wheeler's version of Anne of Cleves; some of the books I've read or listened to have not been so kind to her. There are pictures of paintings scattered throughout, which are particularly good for an ebook and the one of Anne of Cleves is one of my favourites and very flattering.

Well written and concise there is a lot of history compressed into this little book.
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
Love the history in an hour books, informative and quick to read. If you like to read history this is a simple and effective way to get started and highlights which parts interest you most
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
This is actually Henry's wives in considerably less than an hour! A bit disappointing as they could have gone into a great deal more detail and still kept it a short book. I'd like to see this expanded - twice the details and length and it could still have fitted comfortably into an hour.
Still, a slightly informative addition to my passing fancy into Henry VII.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2016
Nice to read history like this in a short time I've learned more that ever about the Tudor period perhaps Henry was in great pain and didn't mean to be so evil those poor wives lived such a short time tragedy and our history these books would be excellent in schools although I'm uncertain what period in history is covered these days
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
Loved the Tudor times especially Henry VIII and the info in this short concise breakdown on his marriages was really interesting, it wasn't deep, long drawn out or boring. For anyone who wants to know the basics regarding this subject I feel they would enjoy it. The value for just 99p was worth every penny especially if young people are interested in this subject, I feel Ms Wheeler did an excellent job so much so I have bought more in the History in an hour books what a great idea
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
I love history especially the Tudor Times, so I found this book fascinating and educational. I would recommend this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
Most history books I find give far too much detail when sometimes all you want are the bare facts. (I wanted to read about Richard III once but the book ran to over 600 pages and was so full of sub-notes etc. that I had to give up on it.) This book does just what I wanted and gives enough information about each of Henry's six wives to be interesting and informative. It is very readable and gives all the essential facts without rambling on unnecessarily.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
This book was one of those, it's free so I might as well download it...

And I have to say it's pretty good! I'm fascinated with the Tudor Era and have read a lot about Henry VIII and his wives... and this book is a good intro to the story. Its accurate and touches on the politics of the day, which is no mean feat. Did I manage to read this in an hour? Yes, I think I did. Its a nice handy into to the era, and I'll look out for the others in the series.

The only thing that could have improved this book would have been to cite some sources and to provide a 'further reading' list.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
I really enjoyed this easy to read and clear but interesting account of the lives of Henry VIII wives it added a little more dimension to the stories I have read before relating to their personal characters and feelings and facts I had never known before so I liked the book a lot and will read it again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
I read this book as it says in one hour. Such simple information to just look up a date of this period in time.

Was well worth the money and I will definitely buy other books of this one hour read. Easily rated at five stars from a person who usually never gives more than four.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.