Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars51
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£64.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 October 2009
Eagerly awaited and not disappointed. I have read other reviews criticising the Taschen production quality, and there were a few blemishes, but that does not detract from the enjoyment of the content, which is varied and thought provoking. Its imposing size on the coffee table is a great conversation starter and all my guests who have dared venture past the cover have loved it, despite their occasional reservations and modesty. The nudes (the vast majority of whom are female) are beautiful and tasteful, and universally appealing. Actually very good value as it will be a source of enjoyment for years to come.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2011
This book is no let down. It is prodominantly B&W with occasional colour shots throughout the book. For me, this book is a must because this guy was a master of composition which you have got to see in print. Helmut Newton doesn't seem to follow rules, the rules seem to follow him. Work dating back to the early seventies. Every shot I'm thinking why do I want to keep looking at this. The first impression I got when seeing this giant heavy book and looking through it was, what a total bargain, the most expensive and largest book I've ever bought and no regrets, an inspiration. It comes with the perspex stand which is just as well for the weight and protecting the spline. Beautiful printing and but for a couple of the photographs, every print has its own page, not split by the centre fold. If you're a photographer, get this book, you are the church and here's your bible. Eats Albert Watson. Just throw in a couple of other recommendations - Simon Annand 'THe Half', and Lillian Bassman ' - B&W, big books, loads of prints, wonderful, bargains)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2009
At last a version of this marvellous book which doesn't require a huge bookshelf and a large bank balance .And you get a mini version of the original display stand to boot!!What more do you need.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2010
A big book - not as big as the "orginal" but then much less costy. Nice perspex stand (you need it!).

Lost a star for me in some of the photgraphic print quality of some of the pictures.

Inspiring for the up and coming photographer.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2009
Great book and amazing photos. What an incredible photographer he was.
"small" piece of Art to enjoy home.

Helmut Newton: Sumo
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2010
Absolutely fantastic book. Bought as a birthday present for my husband. Comes with a book stand, which is really needed due to its weight. The ultimate coffee table book. Wonderful photographs, cant recommend it highly enough.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
An extraordinary book, and bought as a birthday gift for my daughter who expressed a wish to have it. She will be thrilled!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
Helmut Newton is a landmark, and this book published by Taschen is also a landmark of the book publishing in the 20 century, it was the most expensive and largest book published by the year 2000, in it's original limited editon form sold by auction in Berlin. This book is re-editet by Aalice Springs (June Newton) his wife and is the trade edition. This is delivered together with a plexi-glass book holder
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2010
If black and white photography is your thing then this book is for you. The images are stunning and the reproduction is extremely high quality.Photographs feature some of the great icons of the 20th century along with stylish erotic images of beautiful women and some men! This is a book of full of works of art and will provide many hours of pleasure. It even comes with a much needed book stand. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2012
Wonderful book. Yes there are some better-that-super quality issues on a handful of photos but overall the quality is superb. This book is not as definitive as some may think though. There are other collectable publications long out of print that illustrate some his more stylish work from the early 80s. No real complaints though. Incredible value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)