Hellboy: The First 20 Years and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Trade in Yours
For a 2.04 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Hellboy: The First 20 Years on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Hellboy: The First 20 Years [Hardcover]

Mike Mignola , Scott Allie
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
RRP: 14.99
Price: 10.49 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: 4.50 (30%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 18 Sep.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 7.91  
Hardcover 10.49  
Trade In this Item for up to 2.04
Trade in Hellboy: The First 20 Years for an Amazon Gift Card of up to 2.04, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

1 April 2014 Hellboy
The first issue of Hellboy hit the stands in March 1994. In twenty years Mike Mignola has expanded Hellboy into the most exciting group of books since the early Marvel universe, and his style has influenced art and illustration far beyond the world of comics. This deluxe, oversized hardcover presents Mignola's favorite covers and illustrations in gallery style, from his first drawing of the character through twenty years of publishing. Key pieces of Mignola's art are presented alongside sketches and studies to give a unique look into his process.

Frequently Bought Together

Hellboy: The First 20 Years + Hellboy in Hell Vol.1: The Descent + B.P.R.D. Hell On Earth Volume 8: Lake of Fire
Price For All Three: 30.43

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product details

  • Hardcover: 136 pages
  • Publisher: Dark Horse (1 April 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1616553537
  • ISBN-13: 978-1616553531
  • Product Dimensions: 30.7 x 20.6 x 1.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 235,195 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for fans of Hellboy and Mike Mignola 23 April 2014
By Parka HALL OF FAME TOP 50 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover
Length: 1:07 Mins
Here's the second Hellboy artbook. It's not the sequel to The Art of Hellboy that was released in 2004 though.

Hellboy: The First 20 Years is a 20th anniversary artbook to celebrate the character and title that Mike Mignola created.

So unlike that 2004 artbook, this one features just art without any commentary. What you'll see are mostly cover art for Hellboy, B.P.R.D, and some from Abe Sapien, Witchfinder and others. Selected pieces have sketches provided, not a lot, and there also also some comic partially inked comic panels.

There are about 20 pieces or pages of art from before 2005, and the rest are from the last ten years.

The art is fantastic of course. The style is very recognisable Mike Mignola. Striking and bold. Lovely use of blacks that really suits the mood of the comic and character. Even Peter de Seve who wrote the introduction also drew in similar style for his guest art. There are a few watercolour pieces that look really different from the others.

It's a nice hardcover artbook. 136 pages. Large and tall format to fit the typical comic book dimensions so that the covers can be reproduced big, and they are reproduced very well in this book.

It's a fantastic book for fans of Hellboy and Mike Mignola.

(See more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars 2 July 2014
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Great collection of Hellboy art.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.5 out of 5 stars  13 reviews
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for fans of Hellboy and Mike Mignola 23 April 2014
By Parka - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Here's the second Hellboy artbook. It's not the sequel to The Art of Hellboy that was released in 2004 though.

Hellboy: The First 20 Years is a 20th anniversary artbook to celebrate the character and title that Mike Mignola created.

So unlike that 2004 artbook, this one features just art without any commentary. What you'll see are mostly cover art for Hellboy, B.P.R.D, and some from Abe Sapien, Witchfinder and others. Selected pieces have sketches provided, not a lot, and there also also some comic partially inked comic panels.

There are about 20 pieces or pages of art from before 2005, and the rest are from the last ten years.

The art is fantastic of course. The style is very recognisable Mike Mignola. Striking and bold. Lovely use of blacks that really suits the mood of the comic and character. Even Peter de Seve who wrote the introduction also drew in similar style for his guest art. There are a few watercolour pieces that look really different from the others.

It's a nice hardcover artbook. 136 pages. Large and tall format to fit the typical comic book dimensions so that the covers can be reproduced big, and they are reproduced very well in this book.

It's a fantastic book for fans of Hellboy and Mike Mignola.

(See more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hellboy Through The Years 27 Mar 2014
By Jonathan Balofsky - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
Mike Mignola's Hellboy is one of those series that comes along once in a blue moon. It struck a chord with readers of all types for its masterful blend of folklore, mythology and occult storytelling as well as detective fiction a times.
The characters truly seem real ( a real feat considering the protagonist is a demon from hell) and we as readers were drawn into their stories.
Hellboy has always appealed to fans of all types because of the masterful writing and the way it bucks trends. But the art is also a main point. Mignolas's art is on a whole different level than most comic artists and his drawings seem alive.
Hellboy: The First 20 years is an artbook retrospective taking us through the two decades the big guy has been around, with minimal text. Mignola lets the art speak for itself. We get to see how the characters evolved, what art stood out, and what Mignola liked best.
The art shows not only how the characters evolved but also various ideas for characters, some that can to be, some that came in different ways, and some that never ended up being.

The book itself is built well. Its near the same size as the library editions and will not fall apart. It really shows off the beauty of the art contained within the book. The binding is solid and there are no problems with the pages when opening the book. Best of all despite the amazing build of the book, its very affordable unlike many other art books. This was clearly a labor of love from Dark Horse to give something to the fans and it shows. But this is more than just an art book. In many ways it is the history of the character showing what was and what could have been in ways I mentioned earlier.
This is a must have for any fan of Hellboy, but those who are not fans can still appreciate it for the beautiful artwork and the history of the comic contained within. That alone will make you a fan. Indeed, I expect this might help introduce some new readers who appreciate art, to see the awesomeness of the series.
Hellboy has has a great first 20 years. here is to 20 more. 20 more years in which we see more adventure, more myths and folklore mentioned and a good deal of Hellboy kicking ass!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic collection of art for a great price. 25 April 2014
By Stephen W. Green - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Pretty cohesive example of Mike Mignola's later work. Beautifully produced, this will add a great source of inspiration to your comic or art library.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the Fan, the Completist, or the Casual Browser 22 Mar 2014
By Pop Bop - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
If you're a fan you may be drawn to this book by its complete Hellboyness. Starting with the first drawing of Hellboy, artist Mike Mignola takes you through twenty years of Hellboy memories. There is no story arc, indeed there are no captions or explanations apart from an introduction and a forward. But there is Hellboy from every angle and in various media.

But say you're a more casual fan, but still admire the illustrator's craft. Well, this book may prove even more rewarding. Mignola's point here was to display the evolution of Hellboy and consciously and intentionally, to also track the evolution of his own artistic approach to Hellboy. Mignola notes his move from excessive detail to an almost minimalist interpretation. In the Introduction, Peter de Seve observes that as Mignola has cast aside detail his drawings have taken on "a craggy volume, as if all the elements, including Hellboy's pitted face, are carved in stone." The work has a "sculptural quality".

That observation is so right and so appropriate to the creation and presentation of Hellboy. It also suggests what it is you can discover by perusing this volume.

So, happy Hellboy fan, or just an art admirer, it seems to me that this book is worth a close look.

Please note that I received a free advance ecopy of this book in exchange for a candid review. Apart from that I have no connection at all to either the author or the publisher of this book.
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice art collection for Hellboy fan 18 Jun 2014
By Right Hand of Doom - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
If you're a diehard Hellboy or Mike Mignola fan, you've probably already seen most of what's in this book. It's essentially a gallery of Hellboy-related art from his inception to the present. As with all of Dark Horse's books, it's exceptionally well put together and will look handsome in any book collection. Would make a great gift for casual fans and a welcome addition for completist as well.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback