Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2015
This book is well structured. You can say it is a book and an exercise book in the same time. You practice to write everything you learn. It is funny and easy to learn. The Hebrew is vowelized (meaning with Hatnuot or nikud) in other words the dots and dashes above the letters that help in pronunciation. Vowelized Hebrew books are perfect for a beginner/intermediate level. If you are beginner in Hebrew or any Semitic language (Arabic , Syriac Aramaic etc...) don't buy any book without vowels. These books claim that in newspapers, on streets panels, in TV etc…, vowels are not used. That is ridiculous. Non vowelized Hebrew is adequate for an advanced level not a beginner level.
I hope my review was objective and helpful. I should mention that there is many pronunciation systems of Hebrew (Sephardic, Yemenite, Ashkenazi etc...). This book is Sephardic (Spanish) pronunciation which is the most common. The most common does not mean the most correct or nearer to the original Hebrew. Maybe you are a kabalistic person or whatever. It is better to invest considerable time on pronunciation of Hebrew and familiarize yourself with different systems so that you can understand when someone is speaking Yeminite Hebrew per example. You can do it on YouTube which is unfortunately till now the best place. The Ain letter is pronounced as in Arabic Ain ع not as in the book. Khet in sephardic/mizrahi system is pronounced as ح in Arabic or ܚ in Syriac both languages I am familiar with. Invest in Pronunciation before anything else (grammar etc...). Unfortunately Google Translate till now (October 2015) don't have the listen feature for Hebrew and have it for everything else (Why I have no idea) so YouTube and forvo.com will be an option for you although not optimal.
Last remark: Handwritten Hebrew is not taught in this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
I liked the innovative way this book is presented and how it uses fun ideas to help the vocabulary stick in your mind. The stickers are great fun and the CD rom is well thought out and easy to use. The reason I haven't given 5 stars is I found the transliterations a bit confusing - but all in all I would reccomend this book especially for adults with little time to dedicate to language learning.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2011
I want to learn hebrew and there is no classes where I live.
This is the next best thing.
Teaches you the most commen words and cd helps you along.
very good
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2000
I was really interested in learning Hebrew, and this book was so helpful - it has a clear, easy format, as well as extras, such as flashcards and stickers to help you. You only need to devote ten minutes of each day to help you learn. I really recommend it, especially for anyone planning to visit Israel. Have fun learning using this great book!
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
First the good, the flash cards are useful but tatty and you have to cut them out yourself.
The sticky labels would be more useful if they were arranged in some kind of order that you didn't need to go looking for the ones referred to in the passages.
The text has been written in an awkward fashion without any clear indication as to what the exercises are and many illustrations seem to be irrelevant to the text or exercise on the page. The words at the foot of the page have no relevance to the exercises having been just put there in alphabetical order.
In general I found that I needed to spend 10 minutes just figuring out what an exercise was about, the mixture of hebrew and english being more confusing than useful.

Finally the software, at first pleasant to look at but quickly became boring. On a Mac poorly written, instead of a title one is faced with 'Flash player' we really don't need to know that flash player was used to write the program or display the exercises. Then the title page, pride of place in the centre just takes you to the writers names etc. something that only needed to take a minor position on the page. Finally full screen does not stay full, it reverts to minimum size as soon as another exercise is chosen. Very poor.
Not worth the money. I gave it three stars only not to be too unkind. Needs more work.

Better go for TALK NOW, now there's a much better program, professionally presented, nicely graded exercises. I use that nearly every day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
I teach Hebrew using the book in the begining. It is exciting althogh it teaches with systematical structures in Hebrew. It combines differet ways of teaching like quizes, labels and more. It makes learn Hebrew.fun.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2001
unbeatable if a family is visiting forign relations. It is childlike in its approach with plenty of colourful illustrations so all the family can grasp what is wanted. Even the youngest ones can look at the stickers ('window' fixed by the window for instance)with verbal reinforcement. Older ones can take part in the lessons in a similar way to doing crosswords together. If the children don't grab the book and fill in all the puzzle lessons first!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
I used one of this series to first learn Japanese. The Hebrew one is fun and informative but can be a bit confusing at times - though likely the new alphabet and reading right to left is the main reason for this. Its a useful book and i'd be tempted to combine it with other books when learning Hebrew, rather than relying on it solely. Hebrew for Dummies is great for reading through about the language in general & grammar. uTalk online is really helpful too. The more you study a language before you go somewhere, the easier it will be when you get there - even if you don't feel like you're learning much at the time! That's my experience anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
I think the title is a little far fetched, I would have named it Hebrew in one hour a day. - it is very well written and well worth buying.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
This book does the trick. Hebrew is difficult to remember but this approach breaks it down and provides the discipline
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse