Heart of the Dragon (Atlantis - Book 1) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Heart of the Dragon (Atlantis - Book 1) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Heart of the Dragon (Atlantis) [Mass Market Paperback]

Gena Showalter
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (27 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £4.79  
Mass Market Paperback --  

Book Description

Sep 2005 Atlantis (Book 1)
Searching for her missing brother, Grace Carlyle never dreamed she would discover a secret world populated by mythological monsters—or find herself facing a sword-wielding being whose looks put mortal men to shame. But there he was, Darius en Kragin, one of a race of shape-shifting warriors bound to guard the gates of Atlantis, and kill all travelers who strayed within its borders. Now Grace's life was in his hands, and Darius had to choose between his centuries-old vow and the woman who had slipped beneath his defenses and stolen the heart of Atlantis's fiercest dragon.
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.


Product details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 377 pages
  • Publisher: Harlequin Books (Sep 2005)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 037377057X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0373770571
  • Product Dimensions: 16.9 x 10.8 x 2.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (27 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 666,509 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Gena Showalter has always believed in love. An avid romance reader, she decided to try her hand at a story of her own and is now the author of sexy paranormal romances. Fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon and Karen Marie Moning will find a new favourite in Showalter. Her wildly sensual page-turners have a mix of humour, danger and wickedly hot sex, a combination sure to enthrall.

Product Description

About the Author

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Gena Showalter has written over 17 novels and anthologies, including breathtaking paranormal and contemporary romances, cutting-edge young adult novels, and stunning urban fantasy. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heart of the dragon 25 Feb 2007
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I read this book after reading and loving The Nymph King. It did not know at the time that The Nymph King was the third book in the series, however as soon as I did I ordered the other two books. I didnt think it possible but I loved Heart of the Dragon even more than The Nymph King.

I was surprised with the low rating a previous reviewer gave as I was in lust with Darius from the first few pages and longed to be the one to awaken his senses. But then I like books where the hero initially tries to deny himself because he is honour bound to, despite his increasing desire. If you feel the same then you'll love this book.

I eagerily await the next book, which I believe is going to feature the Vampire King, another tortured soul.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
102 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended 11 Oct 2005
By Book Addict TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
Grace Carlyle battles discontent. After scaling mountains, throwing her self from airplanes, speed dating and acquiring a pierced belly button, she finds none of these activities fill the void in her soul. When her brother Alex disappears in Brazil whilst searching for the fabled Atlantis, Grace takes an extended leave of absence from work and heads off to the Amazon jungle to find him. Lost and angry after her guide betrays and abandons her, Grace stumbles through the jungle and into a cave, unwittingly crossing a hidden portal which transports her to Atlantis. This world is definitely not the paradise portrayed in legend. Instead it is a land of rejects, peopled by creatures the Gods did not want walking the surface of the world; dragons, minotaurs and vampires to name but a few. The secret of Atlantis must be guarded at all cost and any strangers from the surface are executed on sight. This job belongs to the emotionless and ruthless Darius en Kragin, a shape shifting dragon king and Guardian of the Mist. After witnessing the murder of his beloved family over 300 years ago, he willingly embraced a cold detachment and has not felt any emotion since childhood. With his men bored and restless during their training, even their meal time fights do not rouse Darius. To relieve their tension his men make a wager, each determined to make their king lose his legendary cool. None succeed and all are left astonished when a beautiful human redhead makes their king smile.
Ok this book does have a touch of Christine Feehan's "Carpathians", as Darius is only able to see in black and white before meeting Grace, and finds in her presence his other senses returning along with a raging desire to make this human woman his own rather than follow the law and kill her.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grace and the dragon 7 Feb 2009
By Jessica
Format:Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
Darius en Kragin, a dragon of Atlantis sees no colours and feels no emotions, he desires nothing from his immortal life other than the protection of Atlantis from those humans who live on the surface that would see his underwater city pillaged of its treasures and his people brutalised. Since his families violent death at the hands of such people Darius has protected one of the few portals into Atlantis viciously and without remorse, killing anyone who passed through whether they be innocent travellers or hardened soldiers or indeed man, women or child. But when a women emerges who carries with her a Dragon Medallion, something that only a dragon warrior possesses and a treasure forged by the very gods who banished the creatures of Atlantis to their city so long ago, can Darius kill her when she posses so many questions and seems to be able to lift the greyness that has been his existence and reawaken his deadened senses?

There is something missing in Grace Carlyle life. To fill the void she has become an adrenalin junky but nothing works for long. So she jumps at the chance to travel to the Amazon jungle after receiving a strange necklace from her myth investigating brother Alex. She begins to regret her decision when she finds herself lost in the middle of the jungle, with no water after her guide legs it and no sign of her brother Alex. Well a bad day turns into a horrendous one as she stumbles into a truly bizarre land and gets accosted by a sword wielding hulk of a man with the promise of death in his eyes!

I've wanted to read this book for awhile now but have waited for it to be rereleased.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I loved this story 25 July 2010
By Rebecca
Format:Mass Market Paperback
First book in the Atlantis series. I loved this story!! I loved the h/h!! They are such a good match for each other. The only reason I didn't give this book 5 stars is because I thought the story slowed down a little too much in the middle. Other than that, I thought this book was just amazing; I love Ms. Showalter's style of writing!! She packs her story with fun, adventure, sexy guys, and humor!
Grace Carlyle is searching for her missing brother. She is in the Amazon and suddenly stumbles into some mist and comes face to face with Darius en Kragin. Darius is a shape-shifting dragon who rules other dragons and defends the borders of Atlantis (which is filled with vampires, dragons, demons, nymphs, and countless other mythical creatures) against anyone who strays into its borders- by killing them. Darius has shut out emotion from his life when surface dwellers killed his parents when he was young. He doesn't show his emotions or see any colors... until Grace walks into the mist with her fiery red hair... so how is he supposed to kill someone who basically gives him life? He takes her "prisoner" and so begins a passionate story of love and adventure!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story line
I really don't have any adverse comments about this book. Heart of the Dragon is a book I would recommend to those who like mythical beings.
Published 17 days ago by Bee
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
......................................
Published 1 month ago by Chris
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
Five stars for mighty Dragon warriors , not read this author before but wasn't disappointed. Darius, king of the dragons, protector of Atlantis, kills every human that happens to... Read more
Published 6 months ago by freaky fairy
4.0 out of 5 stars heart of the dragon
It was better then I thought it would be. The romantic scenes are detailed but not too mushy lol once id started reading it I couldnt put it down!x
Published 8 months ago by loulou
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!
After reading the other reviews, and the synopsis, this book looked really interesting, especially as a fan of Gena Showalter, but it was not at all what I'd hoped! Read more
Published 10 months ago by Henri Kennedy
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book
gena showalter never lets you down with her books,great read from start to finnish.cant wait to start atlantis 2.and many more of hers.
Published 11 months ago by sheila ohara
1.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmmm
This book was my first venture into paranormal romance. It was very nearly my last. I did read the whole book but found it eminently forgettable. Read more
Published 20 months ago by isismoonchild
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
To be honest I'm a very disappointed, I really like Gena Showalter's books but this one I found to be long and quite boring! The story idea was good but the outcome just wasn't. Read more
Published 24 months ago by Alysha89
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!!!
Grace goes to the amazon looking for her missing brother and finds herself in another land (atlantis) darius is the guardians of the dragons and is charged with killing any human... Read more
Published on 23 Oct 2011 by mari
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but ultimately forgettable
Perhaps I am biased, but I had just finished J R Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series and thought I'd give Ms Showalter's Atlantis series a go. Read more
Published on 30 Jun 2011 by Mrs H Thompson
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback