Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars31
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 16 February 2006
Finally, 6 months after the US release, Hart to Hart has made it over to its second home, the UK. The series itself is a rare thing. It has all the ingredients to make the perfect viewing: Beautiful people, romance (and they're married...to each other...shock horror!), glamourous locations, a dash of mystery and adventure and a sprinkling of comedy. No graphic violence, adultery, gratuitous sex or bad language.

The dvd itself is everything we would expect, although, after years of watching this series on dodgy vhs, I'd have been pleased with anything! It is beautifully packaged with an assortment of images and pleasantly pleasing menus.

The extras are worth the money alone. Included with the 23 episodes (including the extended pilot) is a half hour documentary 'The Hart of Season One'. It features interviews with RJ, Stefanie, Leonard Goldberg and Tom Mankiewicz as well as some out takes. All very interesting but the gem on this dvd is the commentary featured on the pilot episode. I am a great fan of commentaries but this one beats all.

The affection that RJ and Stefanie feel for the series and each other is obvious in every comment. Tom Mankiewicz (director and sometime writer) also adds his tuppenceworth, mostly about the girls but he does also have some very interesting background information on the show and the filming. There are some great stories involving Lionel Stander (Max) and his refusal to read the script, the Malibu fire that was burning on the first day of filming and lots of other treasures which I won't spoil for you.

I can't recommend this dvd enough and can only hope that series 2 (with more commentaries please!) will follow shortly.
0Comment|49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2008
The packaging says the DVD has English and German audio when in fact it has the same as the Region 1 release, namely English and French, same for subtitles. The packaging states that it has English, German, Greek, and Turkish subtitles but unfortunately only English and French. The current 86% off Amazon deal is the sweetest and you won't find this set cheaper, not even used.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 8 December 2012
I'm sure this used to be on television on Sunday afternoons, did it not? That's quite an obstacle for a show to overcome in the popularity stakes, to be forever associated with bath night and a last-minute stab at six lots of homework before being sent to bed before Esther Rantzen and the 'That's Life' team got cracking. But this show has enough going for it (Stefanie Powers, Stefanie Powers and... oh yes, Stefanie Powers) to be just about able to survive all that.

Now, I'm all for a spot of romance, don't get me wrong. I always walk on the outside of any lady and I would only ever break wind in front of one in the very direst of emergencies. And I can definitely appreciate the 'romance' of this programme. Jonathan Hart ('a self-made millionaire' - try saying THAT in any other voice than Lionel Stander's), together with his somewhat sinister cigar-chomping manservant, manage to ensnare the quite magnificent Stefanie Powers and convince her to abandon her hard-hitting journalistic career in order to join Jonathan in a matching 'His and Hers' bath robe set. So far, so normal. Right?

The fact that Jonathan is devoid of either personality or facial expression and yet can still get Stefanie Powers to share an en-suite with him makes me hate him and his money even more. Then again (if I can manage to control myself for ten seconds - and it's lucky I'm not watching Stefanie Powers at this moment, or else even that would be about five seconds more than I could ever hope for), the show is supposed to be fantastical. It's supposed to be glamorous and it does achieve that. The theme tune alone is a piece of seventies' magnificence.

Series One is pretty standard in terms of plots and character relationships. One or both of the Harts usually end up in a Situation Of Extreme Peril from which they are dramatically rescued, whereupon they fall into each other's arms and go in search of those matching 'His and Hers' bath robes. I must give a special mention to the episode entitled 'Death In The Slow Lane' though, since it features a lovely performance from the wonderful Jeremy Brett. Perhaps most famous for his portrayal of Sherlock Holmes in the eighties and early nineties, he also makes for a very good villain. This episode is partially set in London, although Hollywood achieves that effect not with some expensive overseas location shooting, but with a few bobbies on the beat and a routemaster tourist bus. Oh, and a black cab. Blimey, guv'nor - stone the crows.

The classic car chase, where neither vehicle seems capable of going at more than about four miles an hour, is a particular joy. As is the bit where Jonathan Hart ends up face down in the gravel. That'll teach him to steal Ms Powers from me.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 February 2008
I have great memories of watching Hart to Hart when it aired here in England. Thanks to this season 1 DVD set, you can enjoy the magic all over again. The 2 hour pilot episode is especially noteworthy. The Harts go under cover on a health farm in hopes of discovering more about the death of a close friend. The rest ofthe season doesn't dissapoint, join the Harts as they try to help a little boy and his mother, fend off Soviet spies and and dastardly plans. Glamour, humour romance and high jinks all in one place. As ever, faithful servant and friend Max is at their side looking out for them along with cute dog, Freeway.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
I have happy memories of watching Hart to Hart on Sunday afternoons with my Mum in the early 80s. Robert Wagner and Stephanie Powers have such great on-screen chemistry it is no wonder both their real life partners were jealous. This is a glamorous series full of good-looking people and beautiful locations.

The two hour pilot is included here and it is embarrassingly awful. Robert Wagner in a white onesie and what looks like an ill-fitting toupee has no end of cheesy lines. I thought it would be the story of how the Harts met but it isn't. Set in a health-farm the plot is laughable and the acting as hammy as anything I've ever seen. We will swiftly move on. My review would have been five stars if it hadn't been for this hammy horror.

The plot to most of the series episodes goes like this: Jonathan & Jennifer flirt outrageously with each other, every single man Jennifer meets tells her how beautiful she is, she gets kidnapped and Jonathan saves her. Alternatively Jonathan gets into danger when investing in a new business. Whatever the variation on these storylines the Harts will almost certainly end up in fluffy his'n'hers bathrobes by the end and you just know Jennifer never goes to bed with a headache. The Hart's don't have any children to get in the way of their escapades, Max the gruff-voiced butler and Freeway the dog make up their little family.

This is perfect rainy day viewing. Yes Robert Wagner may be a bit smarmy and the plots are hardly taxing on the brain but it is glamorous, romantic and fun. Wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
Another old brilliant TV series that only has two seasons in England as Region 2/PAL. I can't understand why so many TV series' over here only have two seasons released the rest are available in the US as Region 1/NTSC. He's some others series over here that only have two seasons available. The Streets of San Francisco, The Fall Guy, TJ Hooker, McCloud and now Hart To Hart. I came across some others but I forgot the titles. How are we supposed to collect all our favourite TV series' over here when a lot of them only have the first two seasons available? It's bad enough when some of them are too expensive such as Hart to Hart: Season 1. I can't understand why it's £53.00. I remember when it used to be £5.50. It's not a limited edition just like a lot of the other TV series' that cost too much just for one season from over £40.00 and upwards. I want to get the complete box set of Hawaii Five-O (starring Jack Lord) but one problem, the box set costs a shocking £189.00. I love the series but I'm not paying £189.00 for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2009
I have to say this first series is excellent value for money, not only do you get the Pilot but the whole first series over 18 hours of fab retro tv, 23 episodes, now where do you get that value today, most series are about 10 episodes long if that.
It takes me back to my youth as with a few other different shows, its something you can sit and enjoy watching.
I am slowly running out of normal tv to watch these days, a little fed up of the same intense series with physco killers etc, good to have something great to fall back on. I'm sure the next series will be just as great viewing as the first thats my next purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2006
If you were a fan of Hart to Hart in the early 80's when it was weekend prime-time viewing in the UK (like I was!) re-live it now with this dvd set. The extra's alone are worth the money for any fan and it's nice to hear the banter between Stefanie and RJ during the commentary on the pilot.

Roll on season 2!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2008
have now watched season 1 of Hart to Hart and you know i liked it. i liked all the episodes especially the pilot. it's great watching it with the commentary on. Robert Wagner and Stephanie Powers have great on screen chemistry that you do think they are a real life married couple. what i do like about hart to hart as well is that there is a sense of humour in each episode and you do feel yourself smiling at the end of each episode.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
it came very fast with great service. This hart to hart has action, a romantic couple fighting for the true, fun to watch and love the dog Freeway. I just cant stop watching it again and again. Its extremely popular in France, so if you haven't seen it get it. Its not one of those boring dvd, you will love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)