Start reading Hard Targets: A Doc Palfrey Omnibus on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.
OR
Read for free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Hard Targets: A Doc Palfrey Omnibus [Kindle Edition]

Richard Creasey
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £4.64 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for £0.00 and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

  • Length: 258 pages (estimated)
  • Prime members can borrow this book and read it on their devices with Kindle Owners Lending Library.
Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Book Description

Doc Palfrey was one of the legendary heroes of British thrillers - a name that ranked alongside James Bond and The Saint on the best-seller lists. An all-action super-sleuth he saved the world on countless occasions.

He was the creation of the legendary and prolific author John Creasey - and his adventures were lapped up by millions of fans around the world.

Now Doc Palfrey returns in this action-packed omnibus for a new generation of thriller readers.

And who better to write it than the son of its creator - Richard Creasey.

'Hard Targets' collects in one place the first three best-selling adventures.

It includes -

Wings of Fear:

La Scala, the Milan opera house. The Doc and his beautiful partner Benadir Abhilasha survey a room filled with the nation's rich and powerful.

They are looking forward to a few days of music and luxury. But this will be no weekend break for Doctor Thomas ‘Doc’ Palfrey.

He is a member of Z5 - an international intelligence organisation dedicated to fighting the deadliest threats to mankind.

Now he faces a new sinister type of weapon - one which is smaller but more deadly than any unleashed on the world before. By the end of the evening, the children of the rich.and the powerful will be missing.

Can Doc and his team discover who is is at the hands of the brain/computer interface? What is it being used for and why do they need a set of abducted identical twins to complete it? What are the demands of an enemy who will pay any price for the ultimate vengeance?

With every step that brings Doc and his team closer to the truth, the enemy always seems to be one step ahead.

Burning Night:

The body of a gifted scientist is found dead.

The police think it was an overdose. But the special agent Doc Palfrey thinks it was murder.

Jacob Goldstein was a a gifted scientist specialising in robotics. As the Doc starts to search Goldstein’s home for clues, he becomes trapped in a burning wall of fire.

By the time he escapes the brutal inferno, he realises that not just England is being targeted. Uncontrollable fires are breaking out in cities all over the world - Tokyo, Paris, Moscow, New York, Washington and Los Angeles…

The whole world is going up in flames.

Who could possibly be starting these fires? How are they managing to target specific areas so rapidly? Can they be stopped?

With every step that brings Doc and his team closer to the truth, the enemy always seems to be one step ahead. And the Doc quickly finds that he too is in the firing line.

Deadly Sleep:

Vancouver Island. Canada. The notorious Professor Laurence Rondivallo is rumoured to be hiding there.

Rondivallo is a distinguished Australian biochemist. He is also a medicinal mass-murderer.

Suddenly, a patient is admitted to hospital with inexplicable medical symptoms. The doctors are baffled - and helpless.

Seventy-two hours later, another comatose patient is admitted into Chase River Medical Centre in Nanaimo. The 'Deadly Sleep' has struck again.

This is a case for Z5, the international intelligence organisation dedicated to fighting the deadliest threats to mankind. And it is a case for its greatest agent, Doc Palfrey.

But this is a mystery that will present the Doc's greatest challenge yet.

Why would the Professor target such a secluded island? What is his deadly endgame? And can he be stopped before millions shut their eyes - for the last time.

'Hard Targets' is perfect for fans of Clive Cussler, Tom Clancy and Matthew Reilley - as well as the John Creasey originals.

The new Doc Palfrey stories have been widely praised -


"A blistering thriller. It takes off at a hundred miles an hour and speeds up from there" - Matt Lynn, author of the best-selling Death Force series.

'This book hits the ground running and doesn't let up until the final page.' Scott Griffin, best-selling author of The Benefactor.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading inde


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 553 KB
  • Print Length: 258 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd. (13 Nov. 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00CLQ0PR4
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #457,326 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Richard is a lucky dyslexic. Luck No. 1 was growing up surrounded by words -- his father, John Creasey, was the world's most prolific author. Luck No. 2 was looking for a job when television was up-and-coming -- for fourteen years Richard was the documentaries' boss at Central TV. Luck No 3 was co-founding The Digital Village with leading thinkers and doers -- including Douglas Adams cult writer of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. (Napoleon: Luck is half in everything.)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Vivid and succinct 8 May 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
Doc Palfrey thrills us again in Hard Targets, an omnibus of Richard Creasey's latest works; Wings of Fear, Burning Night and Deadly Sleep. Creasey creates a modern James Bond hero. He uses cutting-edge technology and almost merges his thriller with the sci-fi genre with his exploration of potentially destructive modern gadgets. His ideas are unique and imaginative, and the plot is fast-paced and full of action. All three books are well written and quick to pick up. Hard Targets is definitely worth reading, I recommend it to anyone who enjoys thrillers.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Shazaam 27 July 2013
By LS
Format:Kindle Edition
Excellent scullduggery with classic Bulldog Drummondness, twisted, evil villains and wit. Short stories that would easily convert into memorable feature films or a mini TV series. Well done Mr Creasey. Keep the nib well sharpened.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars A new Creasey! 27 July 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Delighted to see a new Creasey title. Now lets review the entire works of Richard's father John! A long over-due celebration if an amazing life's work is needed.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Authentic Doc Palfrey thrillers 8 May 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
I was a massive fan of John Creasey and the original Doc Palfrey thrillers, so I was slightly apprehensive about Richard Creasey resurrecting Doc. However, I need not to have been concerned because Richard Creasey has done an excellent job in recreating Dr Palfrey and his adventures and I cannot wait for another novel by him. Hard Targets is an omnibus of Doc Palfrey's latest three adventures, Wings of Fear, Burning Night and Deadly Sleep. The plots for all three are exciting, fun and fast-paced; true thrillers in every sense of the word. The stories read well and the plots are simple and quick to read, great for when you're travelling or only have a little time in which to read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category