Happy Hour in Hell: Bobby Dollar 2 and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Buy Used
£0.01
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Hemingways
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: An EX LIBRARY copy in VERY GOOD overall condition. May have some library stamps, marks etc.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Happy Hour in Hell: Bobby Dollar 2 Hardcover – 26 Sep 2013


See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£3.87 £0.01


Product details

  • Hardcover: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton (26 Sept. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1444738607
  • ISBN-13: 978-1444738605
  • Product Dimensions: 15.8 x 3.6 x 24 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (28 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 370,087 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Former singer, shoe-seller and radio show host, Tad Williams is now a full-time writer. His Memory, Sorrow and Thorn series established him as one of the most internationally popular fantasy authors of recent years.

Product Description

Review

Praise for THE DIRTY STREETS OF HEAVEN:

'When I heard that Tad Williams was writing an urban fantasy novel, I got all tingly. Now I've read it, and it's even better than I'd dared to hope. It's snarky, fast-paced, and above all, original. You should be tingly, too.'

(Patrick Rothfuss)

'Tad Williams' ... famous four-book trilogy was one of the things that inspired me to write my own seven-book trilogy. [ I ] said, "My god, they can do something with this form," and it's Tad doing it.' (George R.R. Martin)

'This is urban fantasy at its best.' (EpicBookReviews)

'A very promising start to an exciting new series from one of our greatest modern F/SF authors.' (Geek Syndicate)

'Readers who enjoy Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere, Kate Griffin's A Madness of Angels, Jim Butcher's Dresden Files will most likely be as entertained as I was... Highly recommended.' (SFF World)

Book Description

Love is Hell.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Veiligo on 3 Oct. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This reads like a linking book in a trilogy - the middle book where everything goes wrong before the penultimate showdown and the main character ends with his face ground into the dirt. Except it's not nearly as entertaining as The Empire Strikes Back.

Instead of being swept up in events, this time Bobby goes on his own quest and spends an inordinate amount of time being tortured. It became so tiresome that I started skimming large sections of the book just to see what happened at the end. The torture scenes read like gratuitous events thrown in for a bit of grotesque colour, and while it is a relief that Bobby seems to emerge from them with his jaunty outlook and sense of humour intact, it does make you wonder what the point of them was.

The overall background universe of the series was developed with just enough detail to keep you wanting more. A couple of the twists were fairly predictable, but I felt this book was just trying to set the scene for a massive denouement later in the series. In fact, I hope the entire set up of Heaven and Hell in this universe is shattered beyond recognition.

I will probably buy the next book in this series, because I am a devoted Tad Williams fan, but after reading this I had to go out and immediately buy a trashy romance with a happy ending just to improve my mood.

Writing style: *****
Characterisation: *****
Pace: *
Plot development: *
Ending: *
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By paul r on 9 Sept. 2013
Format: Hardcover
Happy Hour in Hell (Bobby Dollar book 2)
Bobby Dollar returns and the afterlife just ain't getting any easier for our hero!
I've been a fan of Tad Williams' work since I first picked up The Dragonbone Chair way back in the early 90's but was sceptical when I heard what the subject matter of his new series was. Needless to say the blend of urban fantasy, noirish plotting and sense of humour soon won me over and I devoured The Dirty Streets of Heaven in around 2 days.
Somehow I was lucky to receive any early copy of the second book and sat down to immerse myself in the continuing adventures of the angel Doloriel.
Firstly let me say that Happy Hour in Hell is a relevant term as there is very little happiness for our leading character, starting with an elevator trip straight out of Angel Heart as he's delivered to his starting point on the neronian bridge.
Experiencing Hell from its lower depths to its despicable capital Bobby D has very little to smile about and proves that Dante gave us the PG13 version of what's to come if we don't all behave ourselves.
Picking up where TDSoH left us Bobby is determined to get back his demonic girlfriend from her ex (who just happens to be a Grand Duke of Hell) and forms some unexpected alliances to get to Hell where his troubles really begin.
Tad paints a pretty vivid picture of the underworld and its occupants, presenting us with the idea that Hell is a society that makes you work for everything that you need to survive (and by work I mean the daily 9-5 doesn't end just because you died it just gets worse!) and that unlike Heaven it seems to be solidly based on a familiar capitalist framework. You need money to eat, you need shelter and you need water (of a type) to drink.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 5 Nov. 2013
Format: Hardcover
OK, the second book in the series and to be honest with you, one that after the pretty epic beginning felt more than a little flat. Our principle hero is still as strong, the dialogue excellent but when you add to this something sadly lacking with the plot as well as overall story development all round left me feeling a little cheated. That's not to say that it's a bad book, its just that when the tale isn't furthered it feels more like filler for a solid and high action conclusion in the third part. A great shame.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 5 Nov. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Not as good as the first Bobby Dollar book. Too much time spent on just escaping from the bad guys and a rather disappointing ending, not with the outcome, just in the way it seemed to fizzle out!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By sue on 2 Jan. 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
As an avid Tad Williams fan, Memory, Thorn and Sorrow rates as one of my all time favourite books I started the Bobby Dollar series with great anticipation. The first book lived up to expectations, new ideas, excellent characterization and a rock solid plot, so I couldn't wait to read the next installment. Unfortunately this proved to be very disappointing, the original idea was good--- an angel disguised as a devil looking for his lost love in hell and there were some interesting ideas about the actual format of hell itself ---- BUT--- there are only so many times you can read about strange sexual activities, torture, pain , blood and general yeuck before it actually becomes rather boring. I finished the book as I am hoping it was a rather tortuous means to a thrilling third volume with Mr. Williams back to his usual stoncking form.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By PaulC on 7 Aug. 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Yawn! How many pages can be used up in one trip through hell with limitless damage being done to a 'demonic' body. From what recall form school days Dante did it much better.
I liked the first Bobby Dollar book- the characters and the structure of Heaven etc were really entertaining.However, this was one big yawn. The walk through hell on the spurious search for his lover has nothing going for it at all. Even the supporting characters are not well delineated.
I will really have to think hard before committing to the third book- if I even bother.
Could have been told in 150 pages, and would have been far the better for that.
Oh well, can't win them all.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback