Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now
Happy Hour in Hell: Bobby Dollar 2 and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Buy Used
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Greener_Books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Happy Hour in Hell: Bobby Dollar 2 Hardcover – 26 Sep 2013

33 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
"Please retry"
£2.95 £2.94

Black Friday Deals Week in Books
Visit our Deals in Books store to discover Amazon's greatest ever deals. Shop now

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Product details

  • Hardcover: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton (26 Sept. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1444738607
  • ISBN-13: 978-1444738605
  • Product Dimensions: 15.8 x 3.6 x 24 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (33 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 408,812 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Former singer, shoe-seller and radio show host, Tad Williams is now a full-time writer. His Memory, Sorrow and Thorn series established him as one of the most internationally popular fantasy authors of recent years.

Product Description



'When I heard that Tad Williams was writing an urban fantasy novel, I got all tingly. Now I've read it, and it's even better than I'd dared to hope. It's snarky, fast-paced, and above all, original. You should be tingly, too.'

(Patrick Rothfuss)

'Tad Williams' ... famous four-book trilogy was one of the things that inspired me to write my own seven-book trilogy. [ I ] said, "My god, they can do something with this form," and it's Tad doing it.' (George R.R. Martin)

'This is urban fantasy at its best.' (EpicBookReviews)

'A very promising start to an exciting new series from one of our greatest modern F/SF authors.' (Geek Syndicate)

'Readers who enjoy Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere, Kate Griffin's A Madness of Angels, Jim Butcher's Dresden Files will most likely be as entertained as I was... Highly recommended.' (SFF World)

Book Description

Love is Hell.

See all Product Description

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Veiligo on 3 Oct. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This reads like a linking book in a trilogy - the middle book where everything goes wrong before the penultimate showdown and the main character ends with his face ground into the dirt. Except it's not nearly as entertaining as The Empire Strikes Back.

Instead of being swept up in events, this time Bobby goes on his own quest and spends an inordinate amount of time being tortured. It became so tiresome that I started skimming large sections of the book just to see what happened at the end. The torture scenes read like gratuitous events thrown in for a bit of grotesque colour, and while it is a relief that Bobby seems to emerge from them with his jaunty outlook and sense of humour intact, it does make you wonder what the point of them was.

The overall background universe of the series was developed with just enough detail to keep you wanting more. A couple of the twists were fairly predictable, but I felt this book was just trying to set the scene for a massive denouement later in the series. In fact, I hope the entire set up of Heaven and Hell in this universe is shattered beyond recognition.

I will probably buy the next book in this series, because I am a devoted Tad Williams fan, but after reading this I had to go out and immediately buy a trashy romance with a happy ending just to improve my mood.

Writing style: *****
Characterisation: *****
Pace: *
Plot development: *
Ending: *
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By paul r on 9 Sept. 2013
Format: Hardcover
Happy Hour in Hell (Bobby Dollar book 2)
Bobby Dollar returns and the afterlife just ain't getting any easier for our hero!
I've been a fan of Tad Williams' work since I first picked up The Dragonbone Chair way back in the early 90's but was sceptical when I heard what the subject matter of his new series was. Needless to say the blend of urban fantasy, noirish plotting and sense of humour soon won me over and I devoured The Dirty Streets of Heaven in around 2 days.
Somehow I was lucky to receive any early copy of the second book and sat down to immerse myself in the continuing adventures of the angel Doloriel.
Firstly let me say that Happy Hour in Hell is a relevant term as there is very little happiness for our leading character, starting with an elevator trip straight out of Angel Heart as he's delivered to his starting point on the neronian bridge.
Experiencing Hell from its lower depths to its despicable capital Bobby D has very little to smile about and proves that Dante gave us the PG13 version of what's to come if we don't all behave ourselves.
Picking up where TDSoH left us Bobby is determined to get back his demonic girlfriend from her ex (who just happens to be a Grand Duke of Hell) and forms some unexpected alliances to get to Hell where his troubles really begin.
Tad paints a pretty vivid picture of the underworld and its occupants, presenting us with the idea that Hell is a society that makes you work for everything that you need to survive (and by work I mean the daily 9-5 doesn't end just because you died it just gets worse!) and that unlike Heaven it seems to be solidly based on a familiar capitalist framework. You need money to eat, you need shelter and you need water (of a type) to drink.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 5 Nov. 2013
Format: Hardcover
OK, the second book in the series and to be honest with you, one that after the pretty epic beginning felt more than a little flat. Our principle hero is still as strong, the dialogue excellent but when you add to this something sadly lacking with the plot as well as overall story development all round left me feeling a little cheated. That's not to say that it's a bad book, its just that when the tale isn't furthered it feels more like filler for a solid and high action conclusion in the third part. A great shame.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
I read this book recently and am a bit disappointed.

The whole book was as expected, entertaining and a good read. I am not really satisfied by it, however.

The description of Hell and Dollar's experiences are over-the top and not convincing. His constant reminders to the reader are confusing and there is little point to them, they do take something from the story
continuity, and wear thin after the first 20 times. I mean this "let me tell you about it", " you will be grateful if I don't tell you how much it stank" ... so on.

It piles the horrible experiences on top of each other, trying to overwhelm the reader, not a bad thing but this was not done as well as I would expect.

There is a different modern story about a visit to hell - the "Surface Detail" by Iain Banks, that was I think done with more skill.

Also, I am very disappointed by the lack of the character development - Surely angels are supposed to be built from sterner stuff then humans - but even so after all the torture he experienced, there would have to be some changes. As it is, once back in his own body, it is as if nothing happened.

I did enjoy the book, quite a bit, but I was expecting a bit more. In fact, I am re-reading Surface Detail.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Bit of a disappointing book from Mr Williams whilst the first Bobby Dollar novel was a reasonabltpy good stab at an urban fantasy this one comes up short for the simple reason that it fails to meaningfully expand the story arc from then first. There are some token nods in developing the arc but the book ends almost in the same place it started.

Instead of the arc we get acres of descriptions and side plots in the hell in Bobby's universe as he gatecrashes it to find his lover Caz. It seems the author was so busy developing this part of his universe he forgot to move the story on so whilst Bobby's story is involving it feels a little like a sideshow and leaves the reader with more unanswered questions than ever before. If this is really intended to be a trilogy it leaves a lot of reveals for the third act. Bobby's sojourn in hell was definately an important part of this book but it should not have been all of the book.

Here's hoping this is a mid trilogy dip - rather than a sign of things to come as one doesn't get the feeling that this is a sub-genre that Mr Williams is fully comfortable with.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category