Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Handel: Messiah

Price: £8.38 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
16 new from £5.47 1 used from £3.49

Product details

  • Audio CD (10 Nov 2003)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Warner Classics
  • ASIN: B0000SZ5A2
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 173,960 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Handel : Messiah : Part 1 Symphony
2. "Handel : Messiah : Part 1 ""Comfort Ye"" [Tenor]"
3. "Handel : Messiah : Part 1 ""Ev'ry valley"" [Tenor]"
4. "Handel : Messiah : Part 1 ""And the Glory of the Lord"" [Chorus]"
5. "Handel : Messiah : Part 1 ""Thus saith the Lord"" [Bass]"
6. "Handel : Messiah : Part 1 ""But who may abide?"" [Alto]"
7. "Handel : Messiah : Part 1 ""And He shall purify"" [Chorus]"
8. "Handel : Messiah : Part 1 ""Behold, a virgin shall conceive"" [Alto]"
9. "Handel : Messiah : Part 1 ""O Thou that tellest good tidings to Zion"" [Alto]"
10. "Handel : Messiah : Part 1 ""O Thou that tellest good tidings to Zion"" [Chorus]"
11. "Handel : Messiah : Part 1 ""For behold, darkness shall cover the earth"" [Bass]"
12. "Handel : Messiah : Part 1 ""The people that walked in darkness"" [Bass]"
13. "Handel : Messiah : Part 1 ""For unto us a child is born"" [Chorus]"
14. Handel : Messiah : Part 1 Pastoral Symphony
15. "Handel : Messiah : Part 1 ""There were shepherds abiding in the fields"" [Soprano]"
16. "Handel : Messiah : Part 1 ""And lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them"" [Soprano]"
17. "Handel : Messiah : Part 1 ""And the angel said unto them"" [Soprano]"
18. "Handel : Messiah : Part 1 ""And suddenly there was with the angel"" [Soprano]"
19. "Handel : Messiah : Part 1 ""Glory to God"" [Chorus]"
20. "Handel : Messiah : Part 1 ""Rejoice greatly"" [Soprano]"
See all 56 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
...and it would just be perfect! this is a good recording that carries some of the excitement and passion of a live concert. Singers, choir and orchestra are technically excellent (and tenor Janutas the star of the performance) yet we miss a better intonation of the English language in his lips, and the same goes for the choir, which also has Lithuanian as its mother tongue. Don't get me wrong, their performance is excellent, this would just be the pickle!
In short, a ridiculously cheap option for grabbing Messiah in a modern, good-sounding recording with modern instruments that ensure a perfect tone and brilliance; Warner generously throws in the text with translations to French and German (many other record labels are just that stingy not to enclose it)
And yes, Menuhin's hand is there as well and you'll surely notice the passion he brings onto the recording.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 1 review
Exciting performance with an exuberance I enjoy 17 Nov 2014
By Sanpete - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
This is a live performance by a Lithuanian orchestra and chorus at a German music festival, with moderately-sized forces and modern instruments, led by famous violinist-turned-conductor Yehudi Menuhin in the year of his 80th birthday. But this isn't a stuffy old-fashioned performance, quite the opposite. It brims with energy, practically racing at times.

The soloists have fairly light voices appropriate to the style. The women in particular produce some beautiful moments. Some of the soloists have trouble with pronunciation, and there's some of the usual struggle to hit the notes. If you're sensitive to that kind of trouble, this probably won't be enjoyable for you. It doesn't spoil things for me, as I'm used to much worse in live performances.

The sound is good, in a reverberant acoustic, with very little audience noise.

By the way, the product description is wrong about this being one disc, it's two, the complete work.
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category