Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars122
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 May 2012
This book is good fun and I have completely fallen in love with the Boxer Puppy (I won't give away his name). It tells the story of how a city girl who loves to party has her life completely transformed when buying a Boxer dog puppy.

Alice lives in Soho and her life consists of focusing on her career and attending glamorous premieres and parties. Her life is completely transformed when her and her partner decide to buy a puppy.

This book has some hilarious anecdotes, tips on how to clear up doggy poo (don't wear a long scarf), and builds a realistic picture of the responsibility of owning a dog. If you were planning on buying a puppy for the first time I would definitely recommend reading this book beforehand. The author states on numerous occasions that it is not a training manual, however, it is a good way of preparing you for the damage puppy can do to furniture, also how much time and commitment is required to become a responsible dog owner.

For the puppy's first birthday Alice holds a birthday party at her office for him, this was one of my favourite parts of the book. The food ordered, the balloons, gifts and also the reactions of the other members of the office.

There are many other funny moments in the book which I do not want to spoil. The story is also a love story and there are some really touching moments in the book.

I am also a dog owner and can relate to a lot of the tales in the book, I can also relate to the fact that the good times outweigh the bad and your dog will end up being a part of your family (and most probably will end up sleeping in your bed!)

A lovely story, 4 stars from me.

Becky Sherriff (The Kindle Book Review).
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2012
An entertaining and relatable memoir about the ups and downs (but mainly ups) of owning a dog, and how it changes (read: takes over) your life for the better. Like anyone who owns or has grown up with dogs, I could happily sit and talk for hours about them - sharing tales of their adorable antics with whoever will listen. Offering honest insight into what it's really like to share your home with a canine companion, anybody who's thinking about taking the plunge and getting a puppy should read this. Filled with hilarious anecdotes, this is no boring pet manual - it covers all the common (and not-so-common!) mistakes, misjudgements, and surprises that owning a dog entails. Doggy-tastic in all respects.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
I am so pleased I downloaded this book and that Alice took the time to capture all those moments with Basil. This is the first review i have ever given and was prompted to do so by Basil's facebook page- it was great to see some pictures. I read Alice's story whilst on holiday and couldn't put it down. As a dog owner & lover ( of Charlie, my Westie), Alice's words resonated with my own experiences of loving & bring up a canine companion, but this story is also about a life journey as we move through the decades. Thank you again & congratulations on a great book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2012
I was half-expecting designer handbags and a designer dog but no (thank heavens). There was mention of a pair of lovely blue sandals (naughty Basil!) and tales of poobags in handbags (not in designer handbags!) but the story centred around Basil the Boxer puppy and Alice's life at the time. No spoilers, but, I can say - as Alice says very early in the book - that the dog does not die. So enjoy it without fear of tears!! It's a lovely read.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
I always know a book has really tickled me when I insist on reading exerpts out to anyone who'll listen! I chuckled my whole way through. If you've ever owned a dog you'll relate to lovely Basil, and all the antics that he and his owner get up to as they get to know each other. Alice creates a very vivid picture of their life (illustrated with lots of amusing poo stories - who doesn't love a good poo story!) and it is a great fun read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
I have always wanted to share my life with a Boxer, I loved the breed on first sight, yet due to circumstances was never able to have one. Though I have had other dogs in my life, all terriers, 3 at this moment in time, the gorgeous face and gangly legs will always be my first doggy love.

Tales of a Soho Boxer is a wonderful read, it made me laugh out loud twice, which is unheard of for me. The situations described are so funny at times that you'd think them made up if not for me remembering being in similar predicaments.

Wonderful and thank you for sharing this story.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2012
There was I just getting into some race-against-time page-turner of a thriller that I'd downloaded the previous week, and you announce this and consequently take over my life for a few days! But thank you. I absolutely adored it. Utterly charming, un-put-down-able, well-written, laugh-out-loud funny... just brilliant. To be honest, it can be so easy to take dogs for granted (I'm entirely guilty of doing it from time to time), but your book has made me realise just exactly what an insanely beautiful and loving companion I have in my own dog; that we have in *all* our dogs. Thank you.

And the "damn you" in the title? Because you made this 33 year old man well up on a packed central line tube in rush hour! You see, I arrived at the end of the book and realised that I adored Basil as much as you. So yeah, damn you, Alice... for writing a massively entertaining and honest book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2012
I've never been a great book lover, but when I saw Alice had written about my twitter pal Basil I had to grab it. That girl has almost got us Boxers sussed, she now knows what we like and how we like it. Bringing a kid in to the equation too kinda of caught her out a bit, but hey that's hoomons for you, they never learn. From the off Alice falls straight into the trap of picking a pup on first sight, she wasn't the first and she won't be the last, I to was a `go to work' Boxer and loved all the attention, even the bosses played with me and the workplace happiness increased. Basil is treated just how every Boxer expects to be treated and he loves his family for it. Well done Alice for capturing the true spirit of us canine clowns that is the Boxer, it shows you have been paying attention to Basil and he will never forget you xxx

Yes my dads have pooh bags in every pocket!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
My first 18 years were spent at the expense of dogs...my Mum always bred them, showed them & obviously we felt loved but it was a great thing to throw back in her face when you didn't get your own way. Despite this, and despite dogs still affecting every visit we make to see her, I'd actually love my kids to grow up with a dog now. This is a book about a woman coming to terms with losing her shiny London life to a gorgeous bruiser of a Boxer and all of the lovely moments that have made their life together. By the end Basil is as much a character as the 'humans' and a lot less prone to vomiting in Berets. There is nothing twee or 'animals dressed as humans' about this book, just ace real life hang ups and dramas. Doggy Bridget Jones indeed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2012
I loved this book. Read it in two sittings, curled up on the sofa wishing I was being kept company by a dog throughout. As someone who desperately wants a dog, has tried to have a dog (twice) but whose cat keeps thwarting the missions, it was great to read an honest account of how your day-to-day life changes when a four-legged friend enters the family. Alice's account of her life pre-Basil is hilarious; just wait until you get to the bit about her considering a kitten... brilliant. Alice seems like just the kind of woman I'd like to be friends with - honest, self-deprecating, bright, funny and above all else, very caring. A heart-warming read on a soggy day.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)