Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars14
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2000
This book make a fascinating read. It is written almost as a hacker's notebook, detailing how a system is targetted and then attacked. Fortunately the book didn't scare me, instead it did reassure me as I was aware of most of the techniques discussed. But the value lays in the way that the book is a summary of all those thousands of web pages discussing vulnerabilities and hacking tools. The book is less than 500 pages yet still covers the pre-amble to an attack and the major weakness (and how to exploit them) of Win 9x, NT 4, Novell and Unix along with other sections on Windows 2000, network devices, firewalls, web servers etc. Some knowledge of Unix and NT services and TCP/IP is assumemed, but it makes a refreshing change to have a book that isn't 1000 pages of padding taken up by TCP/IP and the history of the Internet (again!).
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2000
This book will become the bible for wannabe script kiddies everywhere. The book explains how to conduct an attack against most sorts of computers and network elements and then describes how to circumvent the exploit. Basically, if the attackers are reading the former then you had better have read and implemented the latter. If you only have one book in your armoury then this should be it. Well written and interesting it thoroughly deserves to be a best seller, at least in the computer security industry. I would have given it the 5th star had there been an accompanying CDROM with the various tools mentioned in the book but the companion website is nevertheless very good.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2000
I initially thought that my NT systems were as secure as they needed to be but after reading this book it has really opened my eyes to the mutliple methods that can be employed to break into systems. If you have any external links be it dialup access, permanent internet connection you must read this book. Even if you don't it is imperative you read this book to prevent unauthorised access from your 'trusted' local users !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
i am not a system adminsitrator just a normal computer user i dont want people to "hack" my computer so i bought this book to find out how to stop them. and it has worked i now follow a simple set of rules from the book when on the internet. if you are paronied (which you should be) on the net then get this NOW! it might just save your computer!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2000
Does exactly what it says on the tin.
How to hack into nearly all networks and systems. If you have Netware, NT, Unix, Linux, routers or dial-up networking then you MUST read this.
Gives simple instructions on the easiest ways to close up the loopholes. If you value your data then you MUST read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2000
A very interesting and worth while book to read. Very good with lots of info on hacking, both how to hack and how to prevent it. Could have been better with a CD with the tools explained but Hackers 2000 2cd rom has everything u need on it which is explained on it, better of buying both of them!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 1999
This book is a must for system administrators. I've been studying Unix security for many years, and the authors of this book know what they are talking about! It is easy reading, but goes down to sufficient level of detail to give you a complete understanding (or points you to the appropriate URL)
It contains detail on scanning and securing:
* Windows 95/98
* Windows NT
* Novel Netware
* UNIX
* Dial Up lines
* Routers
* Firewalls
* Web Servers
The only complaint I have about the book is that it does not come with a CD containing all the tools referenced. Yes, they are available from the book's FTP site, but I distrust any programs downloaded from the Net, and the book does not warn the reader about how to treat downloaded programs.
Nevertheless, I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2000
If your a newbie in the world of computer security and fed up with trying to find answers on the internet then this is a definate book to read. It introduces the aspects concerned with all kinds of security and will improve your understanding of the subject.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2000
This book covers common 'sploits that all the klubies and kiddies try to run against evert network / system that happens to be running an effected deamon. the author has gone into a great amount of detail over things that have been cover over and over already. More attention could have been paid to coding (C, perl and sh. scripting) and to things such as ip/tcp hijacking or packet sequence prediction. Firewalls seem to be well overhyped in this book, when even the most popular and supposedly best firewall is far from secure (as those at DefCon 8 will agree :-)). I was tempted to give this book an even lower rating, yet I have a great deal of respect for the author and am sure he could have done much better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2000
This is a good intro into cracking. Though it is a bit hands on. For this matter it would have helped to have the utilities described on cd rom. I am now searching for a more detailed text.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)