Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars220
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.15
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 November 2013
I'm a massive fan of Scott Mariani, but this is no where near his normal standards. It's almost like reading another authors work. It's ok for a quick read, but don't expect too much.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
I didn't know what to expect from this book. I have read all the Ben Hope books but this is such a departure from this genre. I could not put the book down from about a third through and hated what was happening but was yet enthralled! The ending is, yes, unrealistic, but horrifying and scary. I can't say I enjoyed the story but it was gripping and I wanted to know how it would end. You do get a certain insight but you hope that it won't happen - but it does. If you want disturbing, this is it!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
I choose this because I have read most of Mariani's books, but I was disappointed with a weak plot and rather rushed story.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
Excellent A very good read but not before going to bed. Any more in the future. A lot of difference from Ben Hope
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
Having read every Scott Mariani book to date it was with complete surprise that I stumbled across this his latest. A complete change of direction this one but every bit as good as all the previous books. No action heroes or vampires just the unknown. I would recommend this to any Mariani fan or for that matter any fan of the supernatural. However don't read it alone if you live in an old creaky house.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
This is a typical Mariani book with lots of twists and turns to keep you reading. He does a lot of research and although fictional, his books are also educational in some way. It has a strong storyline and good characterisation.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
Having read books by this author previously (The Doomsday Prophecy and The Mozart Conspiracy, to name two) I started reading expecting something along the same lines. How wrong I was. This short book had me gripped from the very beginning and once I started reading I just had to keep going. An excellent book, with loads of detail that kept me on the edge of my seat, and checking I was alone.

I'm going to read Bring Him Back now, hoping for the same enjoyment from that.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
I was somewhat disappointed that this story was so short and lacked the usual Mariani depth of writing. However, i almost had to stop myself from being so afraid to turn over each page. A gripping and terrifying story and i certainly couldn't put the book down. The story has also added to my paranoia about moving into a house where somebody has passed away or disappeared from. A must have book, but don't be alone when you are reading this story.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
This book was so addictive I just couldn't put it down. Scott Mariani has to write more chillers as really enjoyed it and am left wanting more.

I'm such a big fan of Scott's 'Ben Hope' series but he has surpassed himself with House of Malice and really hope there will be more books in the near future.

I highly recommend this book...but don't read it alone!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
I was really looking forward to this supernatural novella having enjoyed the Vampire Federation books so much and I wasn't disappointed. Scott Mariani does scary so well!

A bestselling author who's gone missing, a spooky cottage in the middle of nowhere and more things that go bump in the night than you can shake a Kindle at - I was hooked from the beginning and couldn't wait to find out what happened to the heroine.

I feel there's definitely scope for more stories set at Summer Cottage and I can't wait to see what Scott does next.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.