Start reading Guardians Of The Rainbow on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Guardians Of The Rainbow [Kindle Edition]

Rory Freckleton
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £8.99
Kindle Price: £3.49 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £5.50 (61%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £3.49  
Paperback £8.99  
Kindle Books Summer Sale
Kindle Summer Sale: Books from 99p
Browse over 600 titles from best-selling authors, including Neil Gaiman, John Grisham, Jeffrey Archer, Veronica Roth and Sylvia Day. >Shop now

Book Description

The Family Unity Party is striving for power. Providing you are the perfect model of their ideal family you are safe. But if you stray from convention, you will pay a heavy price.
Against a background of growing civil decay and unrest, fifteen-year-old Jake Holdencroft becomes acquainted with Nathan Tasker and a friendship blossoms through their love of music. As they grow closer, Jake feels the stirrings of something deeper beginning to develop. However, the confusion and fear of being different frustrate the growing liaison. When Nathan’s enraged father, a leading light in the Family Unity Party, discovers their secret, he pursues Jake with an angry mob in tow.
However, unknown to Jake, he has an unexpected rescuer. Once free of the terror of persecution, a new life beckons as part of a hidden but sophisticated gay community, deep in the financial district of London. This is a dangerous world, in which a battle with increasingly violent authoritarian forces is about to start. As Nathan also becomes embroiled in the growing chaos springing from their tentative love, the question remains as to whether the two boys will ever be allowed to be together.
The answer depends on an elite squad of highly trained agents known as the Guardians of the Rainbow.

Publisher Comments: This is a wonderful story. It is an exploration by a brave new author into the world gay men and women still face, that of terrifying prejudice. Freckleton combines action, adventure, gentle romance and social issues with a deft hand. Gay or straight, we can guarantee you will enjoy this exciting story! It really is a modern day spy thriller in the vein of James Bond or Bourne.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Page of Start over
This shopping feature will continue to load items. In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading.

Product details


More About the Author

I came late to writing, but have well and truly caught the bug now. Whether anyone is interested or not, I shall continue to write stories. I believe passionately in the two books I've produced so far.

Looking back at my own experiences, I was keen to set a story which featured a gay teenage boy as the central figure and I was also determined the story should have a positive outcome. I particularly liked adventure stories when I was younger, and thought that it was about time the boy got the boy instead of the girl at the end of the story.

I have a degree in Biochemistry from Oxford University, which has enabled me to earn a living teaching science. I have done this for over 30 years, giving me the opportunity, in a small way, to nurture some exceptionally talented students who have gone on to do great things.

However, it is equally important to me that I have a diploma in music from the Open University. I sing, play, compose and conduct music with local groups whenever I can.


It was my boss, a former headmistress at the school I work at now, who started me thinking about writing. She would make comments about how funny my reports were (even though they were not meant to be) and how much she enjoyed reading them. In the end, I thought I might as well give it a go. After all, they do say we all have one book in us if only we took the time and effort to write it.



What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great write, and a great read! 13 Sept. 2012
By Andrew
Format:Paperback
As far as i am aware, this is the first book of its kind, and it is written with a specific target auidence in mind (school leavers and teenagers.) I am slightly outside this target group, but never-the-less the book is fluid enough to appeal, because it introduces and deals with concepts that gays have to deal with generally. Some people "come out" much later in life, and go through the same sorts of feelings, situations, and emotions that are shown in this book.
That is the first positive thing: a book that can have a target auidence and yet still appeal outside of that.

The book is cleverly written in that the first half of the chapters are short, sharp and snappy - bearing in mind teenage lads may read this, and lets face it, a lot of them have little time for reading books. Therefore it is just enough to keep their attention and appeal going, and when the book gets really "juicy" later on, the chapters are longer and more indepth - good psychology!

The book as a whole is light and fun yet serious, and the true meanings behind the book and the message it is trying to project really show. There is a lot of action and fast paced movement to the book - it is so dynamic, and i think this would certainly appeal to the target auidence and wider people in general.

If the ordinary world doesnt know anything about gay people, then they should read this book, because it is gives an idea of what many young adults have to go through when they grow up. This is done in a tasteful way, as the book isnt overally sexual, so would be fine or gays and straights, young and old, alike - it is just a novel!

I could well imagin this being turned into a film, and i can definitely see scope for a sequel, as gay men and women face many challenges past the teenage years!

The only thing i found a disappointment was i have been unable to find Nathan's number, to ask him out on a date hehe ;-)

Well done!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great new story 9 Jun. 2012
Format:Paperback
Guardians of the Rainbow is first and foremost an adventure story and the review quote on the back isn't wrong, it's just like James Bond but the lead characters are gay. There are moments which will break your heart and moments which will make you laugh. There are also moments which will make you angry as you watch Jake having to suffer other people's prejudice while trying to come to terms with his new life.
It's a poignant story at times and gaining an insight into how young gay people feel about their place in the world is illuminating. But above all, it's never preachy, it's never condescending, it's just a really good tale, well told. I really hope we see more of Jake (and a few of the older characters who are just lovely!).
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Read 6 July 2012
By Encayoh
Format:Paperback
This really is a terrific read...

The characters are very well defined, and you're quickly feeling their anxiety and emotions, which come to the fore as the story concludes.

Once I was able to suppress my disbelief, as the plot could be considered a little far fetched, the story really picked up pace, and I became totally immersed within it.

Rather refreshingly, there wasn't a reliance on smut and graphic detail, and tender moments were described with a delightful old-fashioned sensitivity.

An excellent read, and I'm looking forward to knowing what happens next to these wonderful characters...
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A chilling and enthralling story 20 July 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I have just reached the end of this terrific and exciting story and am left wanting more of these delightful characters who were developed with sensitivity and insight. I also found the background somewhat chilling and not necessarily so fanciful as one of the other reviewers implies. I would dread anything like this happening in our country if an extreme element ever became a powerful force. We should not be complacent. Having said that, this is a splendid story for any age group and it moves along at a good pace. A real page turner. I do really hope that this book reaches a wider audience and that Rory Freckleton writes a sequel.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun and safe for everyone 27 Jun. 2012
By Sophie
Format:Paperback
This is a lovely story. It's exciting, action packed and intelligent. It also tackles young gay relationships in a way rarely seen, with sensitivity and tact. There are NO sex scenes, which means it is safe for young adults, though I'd class it as an adult book simply because it never compromises on intelligent language, depth of character or the complex social issues it tackles. I really enjoyed reading this story. It is poignant and thrilling.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Was this review helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category