Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars253
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£5.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on 8 November 2012
Own a Samsung 46" 3D LED TV and just watched Groundhog Day and also compared it to my DVD version.
Amazing transfer. Well worth the upgrade. Pictures and colours are nice and sharp.

You know the details of this now classic comedy, so I won't go into it.

You also get :-

25 mins doc - Groundhog Day - The Weight Of Time
6 mins doc on Groundhogs (Marmots)
6 mins of deleted scenes
10 mins interview with Harold Ramis

Head down to Gobbler's Knob and get a copy ;)
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on 2 August 2009
Just dealing with the Blu-ray transfer, this was better than I expected and played in the UK (I assume the disc is region free). There was less grain than I presumed there would be. Details were sharp, colours pleasant and overall I really enjoyed the upgrade from the DVD version to the Blu-ray. Very fresh.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 11 June 2012
This is my favourite film of all time starring one of my favourite actors of all time, so of course I'm somewhat biased! However, this is a wonderful film and it wouldn't have worked if Bill Murray didn't play the lead. His sarcasm and wit drive this film but it also contributes to the pain he suffers throughout his journey. This film is up there with It's a Wonderful Life. The message of the film is simple - being kind to people will ultimately make you a happier person. This may sound very corny, but I'm not the most positive person in the world and even I was touched by it. The fact that Buddhists endorse this film says a great deal! An essential film for any collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 March 2013
There's really not a lot you can say about Groundhog Day that hasn't been said before. It's unlikely that anyone remotely interested in Bill Murray would have long since seen it by now, and in all likelihood loves it because it's nailed on one of Murray's finest pictures. Of course, as is the case with comedy in general, there are those who don't like it, but in my experience it's the one comedy movie that tickles the funny bones of most the most! Some have seen it just the once and loved it but feel it is a once only movie, others such as myself return to it yearly like an old friend because it's a pick me up, a tonic for the troops, it never fails to deliver the goods.

That it has struck such a chord over the years is no surprise, it's a genius premise. Grumpy misanthrope TV weather man Phil Connors (Murray) is once again sent out to Punxsutawney to cover the Groundhog Day festivities. It's a place he considers as dull on earth, the festivities pointless and beneath the broadcasting talent he feels he has. The plan is to get the broadcast done and get out of Punxsutawney as quick as possible. But a snowstorm prevents him leaving and waking up the next day he finds he is stuck in the same Groundhog Day as the day before, and soon he finds that every day is the same day.

"I was in the Virgin Islands once. I met a girl. We ate lobster, drank piña coladas. At sunset, we made love like sea otters. That was a pretty good day. Why couldn't I get that day over, and over, and over..."

The film then follows a trajectory that sees Connors go through a number of psychological transformations. From despair to using the situation for nefarious means, to despair again and onto using his unique situation to do good. It's material tailor made for Murray who excels with a number of running gags that get expanded upon with each day. However, the ace up Harold Ramis' (director) sleeve is that the film is more than a comedy, it is also an intelligent character study, a message movie and it also doesn't lack for dramatic purpose, often proving to be a moving experience once the tickled rib pain begins to subside. It's a picture as deep in human awareness as it is rich with comedy value.

Andie MacDowell as Rita, Phil's producer and object of his lust throughout the story, proves to be surprisingly good foil for Murray's comedic ebullience. While elsewhere a number of reoccurring characters are performed memorably by the support cast (Stephen Tobolowsky and Chris Elliott standing out). Ramis keeps it brisk, never allowing the plotting to fold in on itself and the sound tracking is irritatingly catchy. But it's with the screenplay (Ramis and Danny Rubin) where ultimately Groundhog day is judged, be it the comedy or human interest, it's a zinger as written. And thankfully, with Murray at the top of his game, the brainy fun on the page is brought vividly to life on the screen. Groundhog Day, one of the finest comedies of the modern era. 10/10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
Beautifully constructed film that does three things nearly perfectly: entertains, enthrals, and enlightens.

The script is a million miles away from the A->Z scripts so often found in romantic comedies, and the turns taken keep you guessing, and you realise you're seeing something akin to growing wisdom with more and more experience.

When forced to live the same day over and over and over, we get Murray (beautifully playing his part) as the cynical weather reporter caught in a never ending loop of time. During this time, he gets depressed, bored, angry in turns, being even more nasty to those around him, or using this unique circumstance to find out about the people he has to interact with, and try and exploit this knowledge (to seduce women, for example). In fact, sometimes it may appear he is actually in some sort of hell of his own making.

Gradually he learns to accept what his happening, and tries to help people - but sometimes even this proves impossible (he helps an old tramp, spends some time with him, but before the day's out, the old fellow dies anyway).

He gradually stops doing superficial stuff, and starts to actually do something positive with all this time on his hands, and tries to use it in a less superficial or selfish way. He learns the piano for example after being charmed by a piano piece playing on the radio, and uses this new skill to entertain at a party. He takes time to help people, (stopping a kid hurting or even killing himself for example) knowing it's pointless anyway as the next day it all starts again. (how long is all this? 10 years? 100 years? 10,000 years?). Through all this, he comes to understand himself better, and release and enjoy the nice side of himself, falling in love (not just lust) with the leading lady.

A great story, great script and perfect comedy acting all rolled up. It's one of those films that transcends grouping - not just a comedy, not just a drama, not just a romance, and it works well on every level.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on 26 December 2001
Id actualy go as far as to say that along with Taxi Driver, Goodfellas, Brazil, Withnail & I, this is probably somewhere in the top 10 films ever made. Infact its probably the only american "feel good" movie that is sincere enough to work. Bill Murrays performance is beyond fantastic. What I like most is the philosophical questions this movie opens up, combined with hillarious comedy. Its a cheesy thing to say, but this movie really can be watched again & again & again..
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 31 August 2015
Classic film, still just as enjoyable as when it first came out. Phil is a weatherman dissatisfied with life. He's sent to report on the annual 'Groundhog Day', a day which turns out to be a very bad one. But when he wakes the next morning he finds he's living the same day over and over ... This may sound a boring storyline but it really isn't, as he gets to learn a lot about himself along the way. But will he ever reach the day after? Bill Murray is excellent in this film, and I'd definitely recommend to anyone who hasn't seen it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
I've resisted watching this film for so long, and only caved in when the offer came along!

It was great to see a fairly old and much referenced movie for the first time, and what a treat too!

I'm not sure what I was expecting, I didn't even know the "story" until just after it was delivered, but it was a nice film to watch and, despite the time-looping that is thankfully never explained, it manages to be creatively repetitive in way that illuminate the changes that Phil Connors/Bill Murray undergoes as he realises and profits from his time-looping and the complete reset that each night brings. It isn't a film you come to for insights into people, but they're there all the same - nicely done!

It isn't fall-about comedy - although we laughed often enough - but more subtle humour that is all about timing and delivery. In fact it's often not a funny film, but more situational and setting up expectations as to what's coming next, only to find humour in how Phil/Bill deals with it. I have to admit that with a couple of decades build-up I was expecting to be a little disappointed, instead I think we've found another Christmas eve film to join other things in a similar vein such as Maverick (funnier), the Despicable Me/Toy Story franchises and such films that go nicely with some forbidden food and a tipple or two, all while cuddled in front of the box!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
It's almost 2 February... It's almost 2 February... It's almost Ground Hog Day, again, and again, and again. This
[1993] twenty-two year old movie is a favorite of mine. It has been often repeated in various forms... "12:01"...
and, a recent one "Pete's Christmas". From my Amazon "Pen" name, you'd guess... and verify (if you SEE my
profile photo) my love of MONSTERS and TIMETRAVEL. This IS a great movie because it draws you in... with-
out just spitting you out. It's a fun trip that you actually enjoy MORE each time you see it... again... and again...

I've owned this in America on a video-cassette-tape-cartidge; in England on a 12" Laser-video-disc; in America
on a DVD; in Germany on a Blu-ray... and I'll buy it again on an 8K-chip... Kryptonian Knowledge Krystal, etcetera,
etc., again, and again... it's THAT good. Literally, time-less!

The writer/director, Harold Ramis, is dead now, but this MOVIE will be as popular as IT'S A WONDERFUL LIFE,
and other classic movies that just get better as they age... like a smell cheese that just repeats... and repeats...
and repeats in your empty stomach.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
This is without a doubt, one of Bill Murray's best films. It is both a fantasy and a comedy flick. The basic premise of the film is simple. A man is forced to relive the same twenty four hours, over, and over, and over again, ad infinitum.
Bill Murray is that man. An obnoxious Pittsburgh weatherman, he is in Punxutawney, Pennsylvania to cover its Groundhog Day celebration, along with his beautiful and altruistic TV producer, played by Andie MacDowell, and his patient, long suffering cameraman, played by Chris Elliot. Murray, playing an uncaring, unfeeling wretch of a guy, is, for some inexplicable reason, forced to relive the same twenty four hours in Punxutawney over and over again. Why? Who knows and who cares? What follows next are some of the funniest moments in film.
At first, Murray is confused. No one else, however, seems to be. As Murray continues to relive the same day, confusion turns to anger. Ultimately, that anger turns to mischievousness and indulgence. After all, what would one do, if there were no consequences to one's actions?
This premise provides for quite a few, very funny scenes. This puckish foray quickly denigrates into profound despair, as Murray realizes that he seems destined to relive the same day forever. Frequent, subsequent suicide attempts fail to stop the clock, and Murray rethinks his position. He concentrates, finally, on becoming the best man that he can be, with the lovely Andie MacDowell as his romantic interest.
Murray's transition from smarm to charm provides for many hilarious scenes that will leave the viewer howling with laughter. The ultimate impact of his transition from Neanderthal man to Renaissance man is, needless to say, a positive one. This redemption will ultimately prove to be Murray's salvation.
Murray provides droll, comedic delivery, and he is perfect in this role. Andie MacDowell is the perfect straight man and comedic foil. Together they make this movie one that the viewer will want to see again and again.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Truman Show [DVD]
The Truman Show [DVD] by Jim Carrey (DVD - 2006)

Scrooged (2012 Re-pack) [DVD]
Scrooged (2012 Re-pack) [DVD] by Bill Murray (DVD - 2012)

Ghostbusters/Ghostbusters 2 [DVD] [2005]
by Bill Murray (DVD - 2005)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.