Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars29
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Patrick Bishop returns to Afghanistan with 3 Para to report on their recent tour of duty. His first book read like the plot of ZULU with the Toms surrounded on all sides and taking incoming fire. This time they get out and about on a wide range of missions; including the Kajaki Dam Convoy. The stories will continue to interest readers and the differences in direction between the two tours are an interesting commentary on the more distant world of politics and strategy. I was pleased to see a chapter on the Taliban. The realities of counter-insurgency are well explained by thoughtful officers and squaddies. The book is upbeat without being gung-ho.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2009
Having read the first account 3 Para ,which I found extremely well written and informative, I did think It lacked the ability to keep the reader riveted. This account of the 3 Para's second tour of duty has it all. It is well written and packed with educated anecdotes and information. It keeps the reader in there with the troops and I enjoyed every frightening moment of this tour that our boys went through. I do believe it is important to read the first book as this gives a thorough insight into the whole debacle our soldiers have been put through.
Patrick Bishop has written some very informative books which I have indeed read including fighter boys. He is a history writer and not a dramatist, ( Ed Macey, Andy Mcnab please note). His written narrative has become much better and I believe this book tops the lot.
44 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2012
After reading his other book (3 para) on kindle, i was looking forward to reading this. the book started off ok when he's talking about the troops from the 1st book but as the book goes along Patrick seems to move away from the 3 para activities & instead talks at lengh about the history of loads of stuff. i was hoping for stories of what 3 para where doing & following their missions but i was finding most of the chapters where about the Afghan problems or history or something like that, then a little bit about what the missions were like eg: getting the tubine mission ( for me it would of been a better read to here more of how they done it but instead i had to read about the turbine it self). Beware folks, the kindle version is not the same as the printed book. i had no photo's & only one blurred map in my kindle version. After complaining to the publisher they said they could not put maps or pictures in due to restrictions. WHY are kindle readers treaded different? They also said they cant update my book due to DRM! Patricks other book was much much better than this book folks. Let down by the content
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2009
Thoughtful and stylishly written. I dare say that Ground Truth is an even better book than 3 Para. No other writer captures the sense of honour and sense of duty of the modern British soldier. Essential reading for anyone interested in Afghanistan and modern warfare. I cannot recommend this superb book enough.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
Not as good as 3 Para, maybe as the 1st was very good, but would still recommend reading this book. Another great book by Patrick Bishop
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
Every Man An Emperor... Green On... "What manner of men are these who wear the maroon red beret? They are firstly all volunteers, and are then toughened by hard physical training. As a result they have that infectious optimism and that offensive eagerness which comes from physical well being. They have jumped from the air and by doing so have conquered fear. Their duty lies in the van of the battle: they are proud of this honour and have never failed in any task. They have the highest standards in all things, whether it be skill in battle or smartness in the execution of all peace time duties. They have shown themselves to be as tenacious and determined in defence as they are courageous in attack. They are, in fact, men apart - every man an Emperor. The Late Field Marshal The Viscount Montgomery
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
Good read, easy to follow, will definitely recommend to others. Better than many fiction books that are out there at present.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2009
I am going to disagree with everyone here. First I thought 3 Para was an amazing story and written excellently. I had assumed Ground Truth would carry on in that vain. It does not. It feels like this book has been cobbled together from newspaper clippings, TV, books and the odd interview. It is such a frustrating read because of the fillers. Its annoying since it takes him 4-5 lines to explain something one could in one line. I just got annoyed having to read a whole paragraph of filler just to get his point. Saying the book is about 3 Para is tenuous at best. If you are expecting page after page of 3 Para exploits return to Afghan this is not it. Every so often he'll mention a patrol or op but then spend the next 10 pages banging on about the weather, Afghan politics, UK politics, and other filler etc. One could argue its the bigger the picutre but then it glosses over that as well. So its neither a vivid account of 3 Para's return or a historical record. Frankly its just boring. A Pity since 3 Para was such a good book.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
This is a first rate description of real life events experienced by 3 Para in Afghanistan, should be required reading for a all armchair critics of our involvement in that country. Read 3Para by the same author first, as he refers to events described there in this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2012
I have mixed feelings about this book. It started slow and then picked up with the action but once again it ended weakly by writers feeling the need to pad the book out. It was ok, nothing spectacular
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)