Grimm's Fairy Tales: Complete Edition & Over 200 Fairy Tales and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Trade in Yours
For a 2.90 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Grimm's Fairy Tales on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Grimm's Complete Fairy Tales [Leather Bound]

Jacob Ludwig Carl Grimm , Wilhelm Grimm , Ken Mondschein
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
RRP: 35.00
Price: 14.76 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: 20.24 (58%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 11 July? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 0.77  
Leather Bound 14.76  
Trade In this Item for up to 2.90
Trade in Grimm's Complete Fairy Tales for an Amazon Gift Card of up to 2.90, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

24 Nov 2011
They are the stories we've known since we were children. "Rapunzel." "Hansel and Gretel." "Cinderella." "Sleeping Beauty." But the works originally collected by the Brothers Grimm in the early 1800s are not necessarily the versions we heard before bedtime. They're darker and often don't end very happily--but they're often far more interesting. This elegant edition of "Grimm's Complete Fairy Tales" includes all our cherished favorites--"Snow White," "Rumpelstiltskin," "Little Red Cap," and many more--in their original versions. With specially designed end papers, a genuine leather cover, and other enhancements, it's the perfect gift for anyone looking to build a complete home library. Many of these tales begin with the familiar refrain of "once upon a time"--but they end with something unexpected and fascinating!

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Spend 30 and get Norton 360 21.0 - 3 Computers, 1 Year 2014 for 24.99. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

Grimm's Complete Fairy Tales + Hans Christian Andersen: Classic Fairy Tales (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) + Aesops Illustrated Fables (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection)
Price For All Three: 56.76

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Leather Bound: 652 pages
  • Publisher: Advantage Publishers Group; Lea edition (24 Nov 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1607103133
  • ISBN-13: 978-1607103134
  • Product Dimensions: 4.6 x 15.9 x 23.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 19,489 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

About the Author

Jacob Grimm and Wilhelm Grimm (1785-1863) collected and published Germanic and European folk and fairy tales during the early to mid 19th century. Some of the world's most classic and beloved stories have been published by them, including "Rumplestiltskin," "Snow White," "Sleeping Beauty," "Rapunzel," "Cinderella," "Hansel and Gretel," and many more. Kenneth C. Mondschein earned his Ph.D. in History at Fordham University. He lives in New York, NY. Margaret Hunt lives in England.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing... Classy... 100% recomended 1 Jun 2014
Format:Leather Bound|Verified Purchase
Amazing. So classy looking. Got 2 for friends who just had babies as a keep sake for them and of course to hear he best bed time stories... Will definitely be getting myself one ASAP
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars NIcely bound 6 Jan 2014
Format:Leather Bound|Verified Purchase
I like the book very much and the translation is very much similar to the original version. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes to collect leather bound books.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful 27 Sep 2013
Format:Leather Bound|Verified Purchase
Absolutely perfect!

Leather bound and beautiful.

Pages are a little thin, but only to be expected as it would weigh a tonne otherwise!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.8 out of 5 stars  182 reviews
98 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning 28 Feb 2012
By Leah V - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Leather Bound|Verified Purchase
Originally I was between two leather bound editions, this edition and the Calla Edition. There were so many positive reviews for the Calla Edition that I began feeling swayed but ultimately I went ahead with purchasing this edition because it is the complete works of Grimms Fairy Tales whereas the Calla Edition is not the complete works. I'm not aware of how many tales are in the Calla Edition but this one contains over 200 tales.

For $16 I wasn't expecting it to be beautiful, I was mistaken. Between the thick leather cover, the owl gracing the inside cover, the gold pages and ribbon book mark, I was mesmerized. It is just so stunning and simple plus it will look marvelous on any book shelve.

Very much recommended: beautiful and stunning.
46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Macabre and Earthy, for Adults as Well as Kids 18 Oct 2012
By Kevin W. - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Leather Bound
For whatever reason, fairy tales have become sanitized beyond recognition. The name for this kind of censorship is bowdlerization. Named for Bowdler, who purged "questionable" passages from Shakespeare for a tame "parlor" version, the tales of the Brothers Grimm have experienced the same fate -- in recent memory most noticeably at the hands of The Walt Disney Company.

Fortunately, none of these stories have borne that fate here. You have a prose worthy of the original earthy German. And the stories are notable macabre. Brutal, cruel mothers, stepmothers and grandmothers. Perverse and less-than-human creatures bearing odd names like Rumplestiltskin. And endings that aren't always sweet.

The volume itself is beautiful -- heavily bound in leather, with outstanding illustrations.

Highly recommended for the beautiful and faithful translation, and for the visual and tactile beauty. Most importantly, for stories faithful to the often-sinister spirit of the endlessly-told originals. Rediscover these stories in their strange beauty.

Equally desirable for fans of THE Book of Word Games and Through the Looking-Glass. If these are your interests, buy this book.
24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read 2 Feb 2012
By joshua - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Leather Bound|Verified Purchase
This book is great for anyone who's a fan the imaginative storytelling you may remember as a child but with more of an adult spin to it. I would highly recomend this to ANY adult/pre adult for a little relaxing storytime with a slightly darker twist!
21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly Surprised! 7 May 2013
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Leather Bound|Verified Purchase
This edition of Grimm's Complete Fairy Tales is absolutely stunning! I read some of the reviews thinking that this will be a pretty awesome addition to my ever growing library, and I was floored by the amount of detail and work that was put into producing this work of art! The binding is straight up old world style, its just beautiful. And it feels good in your hands too. It almost feels like an old grimoire or something, it has a magical quality to it - which just completes and compliments the stories themselves. I can't recommend this edition enough! And its so inexpensive too!
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my best Amazon purchases 1 Aug 2013
By J_Smith - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Leather Bound|Verified Purchase
This is the most beautiful newly-printed book I have ever seen.

The book is leather-bound with gorgeous deep burgundy leather and subdued, embossed cover art in two shades of red that continues onto the back cover of the book. The spine of the book would fit into a 200-year-old library if it did not look so clean and undamaged. The page edges are guided gold, and the pages are a light, antique cream color that adds to the book's aesthetics without detracting from the text's readability. Text size is fairly standard and easily readable, line spacing is very nice and readable, and a pleasingly wide margin surrounds all sides of the text. The book includes a roughly .25" wide bright red ribbon bookmark.

Note: The book actually looks much better in person than the Amazon listing's art would lead you to believe. I don't know why the picture on amazon has a large red circular blob on the front of the cover. The actual book looks a bit more subdued, and overall much better.

I hate it when a book looks old, only to have the illusion shattered by a giant "Penguin" or such publisher's logo on the spine or back cover, or a conspicuously white barcode and ISBN number in the middle of the back cover. I was pleased that this book's barcode and isbn info were printed on an easily removable sticker applied to the back cover of the book. With the sticker removed, the book would look at home in the classiest of libraries (the publisher's logo was tasteful adapted into a simple gold-embossed monogram "CC" that was seamlessly matched with the rest of the spine's text).

On top of the book aesthetic features, Grimm's Fairy Tales are an excellent read for children and adults alike. I appreciated that this book contained simply the stories, without page and pages of bulky appendices, editor's notes, and other features that clutter the book without adding anything I would actually use. The book is 652 pages of 201 stories and 10 legends, with only a brief introduction at the beginning. Perfect.

Overall, this book is stunning, and will probably be the most impressive book in most buyers' libraries. If I had paid $44.99 for this book, I still would not have felt ripped off, but at a price of around $16.00 this book is an incredible deal. Of all my purchases on Amazon, this ranks highly among my best.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback