Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars29
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2011
Having recently been through the experience of caring for and nursing a dying beloved one to the point of death, I looked for material that could help me cope with and better understand the grief I now experience after the passing of my life partner. J. William Worden's Grief Counselling and Grief Therapy is a comprehensive and scientifically well-grounded handbook that is also humane and free from dogmatism. Worden helps both students of (e.g.) medicine, psychiatry and social work - and the grieving reader - to begin to understand the sheer complexity and unpredictability of the greving process within a broad interpretative framework. Above all, Professor Worden helps the reader distinguish between 'normal' and 'abnormal' grieving.
0Comment15 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2011
I'm currently studying to be a Cruse bereavement volunteer after suffering many deaths (old and young) over the past 20 years and borrowed an old version of this book from our Cruse branch. I loved it so much I bought this updated version. Not only is it a fantastic reference guide for those of us studying grief and bereavement but it's written in such a clear and sensitive way it would be helpful for anyone struggling to understand their own grief or the grief of others. I can't recommend it highly enough.
22 comments9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2011
I bought this book a few weeks ago and is a fantastic read. I'm studying Counselling so needed the book for an assignment, but even if i wasn't, it would be a great book to have, very helpful. The price is very reasonable and the book was delivered super fast!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
I continually have to get a new copy of this, as i leave mine with clients who find it useful. Essential reading for those involved in bereavement support, one of the semnal texts really.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
It's s good book for counselling students. It gave good information and background on grief. It's a good book to keep for refreshing the information.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Read this book after reading the incredable book 'on death and dying' by Elizabeth Kubler-Ross in which I learnt so much about how a person feels when he/she is dying. This is a helpful book for counselors and health care workers to understand grief. yes I would recommend it along with E Kubler-Ross book
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2011
A fantastic review of various aspects of grief. The auther gives his opinion without declareing it must be right, he points the reader to other ideas and the book is well referenced. A very good acedemic work, well worth having on your bookshelf
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
I would recommend this book to anyone working with the bereaved.
It is very informative and written clearly and comprehensibly.
An excellent book.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
I like the way that this edition shows the author's progressive approach, he has adjusted his model to reflect his experience and changing society.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
Super book, excellent for my course in counselling, very insightful and helpful information on such a delicate subject. Highly recommended.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Earn a MA in Counseling Online. Focus in Clinical Mental Health!
  -  
Life coaching to help you better manage your mental health.
  -  
If You are Struggling with Grief, We Can Help. Call for Counseling.