Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 July 2015
Don't waste your money! Having started learning Greek a few weeks ago and having a good grip of the pronunciation as well as several resources for it already, I found so many mistakes of pronunciation (transliteration all wrong) on the first pages of this book! The question that begs itself is: if she makes such mistakes from the beginning, how can I trust the rest? As if that were not enough, the grammar tables are presented without any reference whatsoever to which pronouns they refer to, not even naming what is "singular" and "plural"!!! I had to look that up in another book to find out! The fact that in Greek one doesn't need to spell out the pronouns in context does NOT mean that the author should not mention them at all so we, English speakers, would have at least a reference as to which person it is, or if it's singular or plural!!! As if that, too, were not enough, there are NO EXAMPLES of the grammar elements in sentences under each heading, but just very few examples at the end of each chapter, AFTER having covered so much grammar. You're just supposed to memorize it without examples!!! Then, SLOPPY sentences such as this (page 17) " The definite article is always used, whether the indefinite one can be avoided." !!! What on earth does THAT mean? Is it the case of an author who hasn't mastered English? Or, a case of the ABSENCE of revision/editing? I feel really ripped off and upset. Do NOT recommend this to anyone (and to see it is coupled with grandiose claims on the cover front, back and middle!).
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
What an appalling book!
Language learning in the 21st century can be exciting and interesting.
This book is neither.
After a reasonable first chapter on pronunciation, the author begins Chapter 2 by launching into tables of indefinite and definite articles, and their forms in the various cases. There is no indication of what is meant by 'case', and the table does not indicate which are singular and which are plural forms.
Then we have tables of personal pronouns and verb conjugations.
Subsequent chapters deal with situations and seem to be rather better - not that this would be difficult.
The trouble is that one glance at chapter 2 is likely to put most people off.
If you want to learn Greek in 7 days, this is NOT the book for you.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Right from the start this book assumed a degree of linguistic ability that not everbody posses. If I had not previously studied Latin at school, I doubt if
I would have got past the first chapter, as the concept of noun cases are not explained, simply assumed.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
This was a poor Kindle buy. Not only was the teaching method suspect - I was a teacher of three languages for 39 years - but there were numerous errors of presentation and proof reading seemed mediocre.For instance romanised pronunciation offered regularly failed to pick up the th sound of delta, the absence of the n in andio or the correct pronunciation of gamma.
In addition the Kindle version could not cope with tables, half being lost to the right.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
it assumes you know the letter sounds and shapes and can read greek after about 3 pages mabe for someone who isnt a novice
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
How can anybody learn a language in 7 days? It is impossible.

Dagny Taggart is a fake.

A recent article in The Washington Post exposes Taggart to be an Argentinian male named Alexis Pablo Marrocco. But he didn't write this book himself -- he contracted it out -- just as he did the other 84 books he has "written" in the past year; one book every five days. Then he paid people to write five star reviews

All of Taggart's books are reported to be full of mistakes.

Apparently Amazon didn't check him out.

This all came to light when a real author, Goans314, published a rant about Taggart in the forum /r/books on Reddit.

I have to give it a star rating to get this published, but it clearly is not worth even the one star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
This is a useless book. It is far too superficial to be of any use to a beginner in the language. It is clearly written by someone with English as a second language. The grammar and the quality of writing is very poor. This along with an inconsistent structure makes it almost useless as a learning guide of any sort, far less learning in 7 days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2015
In the author's sales blurb is this shocking solecism: "both you and me are alike". If she can't get her English grammar right, what faith can we have that her Greek grammar will be correct? I won't be buying this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
WOW this book had great information, whether you can learn it in 7 days is debatable but I have gained a good understanding of the Greek language in the 12 days that I have been using this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
I didn’t realize how much of an influence Greek had on the English language until reading this book. Not only do I enjoy going through the individual lessons, but it’s also cool to see some of the connections between Greek and English. I plan on moving on to some more challenging Greek guides after I’ve finished this one, but I will definitely be flipping back to this one on multiple occasions.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.