Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars128
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 June 2015
My first ZZ top album. As ever on greatest hits albums compromises are made. I dislike the propensity of produces to fade out the ending of tracks rather than wait for their natural conclusion. I would prefer that the musicians be allowed to 'do their thing' rather than being faded out to make room for an extra track. Others may see things differently. On my system presentation seems a little compressed, the band members appear to lack space, there is no room for the individual instruments to breathe. The sound stage is also compromised, lacking width and depth.

As for the music, difficult to tell if the shortcomings are a feature of this recording or on the original master. OK its good fun, and certainly gets the foot tapping, but there is little to motivate me to rush out and buy other examples of their work. maybe I should try another album just to check out the production values.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Though not a real fan of ZZ Top, occasionally a blast of this very good 'Best Of' compilation dislodges the ear wax and satisfies my craving for heavy, southern-based rock.

Some tracks are more commercial and can be heard in pubs up and down the country as bands (& audiences) love them, to cover and to rock along to. There's also quite a wide variety to their playing, they're not all 'Gimme All Your Loving', many here being more bluesy (check out Cheap Sunglasses, for some great instrumental playing).

This 18 track CD does all I want it to - and was good value. There may be better compilations out there and true devotees will always point to seminal original albums, but for the casual dropper-in on the loud beardy guys, this is perfect.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 August 2006
There's no doubt that from day one ZZ Top were a class act. Billy Gibbons had already shown his teeth as a guitarist in the late 1960s before helping found this formidable trio. Perhaps, though, they just became fed up with blowing bands off every stage in Texas and earning a reputation. With the "Eliminator" album they went for the commercial jugular, a mission that this collection represents.

The first few bars of "La Grange" offer a glimpse of the style that earned their initial reputation, earthy blues with the devil looking on. What little 1970s material is on show here however seems to have been buffed up so as not to make it sound too incongruous. More typical is the cover of "Viva Las Vegas", the title of which aptly describes their new-found gloss. In short, they decided to cash in. There's nothing wrong with courting the chart scene, of course. Tracks like "Sharp Dressed Man" and "Got Me Under Pressure" are irresistible chunks of hard driving boogie. But when ZZ Top don't hit the bullseye with this stuff they tend to be way off target.

"Legs" is a fine track, but the programmed rhythms are ominous. After this recording came tracks like "Sunglasses" and "Planet of Women", which are killed stone dead by that awful flat, synthetic 1980s influence. They should have steered well clear of it. "Eliminator" contains all you need of this kind of approach and is a better purchase, as are ZZ Top's early albums.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 September 2003
Now, by that I mean this. On a world-wide scale, things broke with Eliminator. Yet for 15 or so years before that they had been releasing good solid blues/rock albums. Selling loads in US and not much elsewhere.
This album - with a couple of exceptions - ignores the early/earleir years, and concentrates on 1984 onwards. SO alothough it's a fine compilation, I can only hope that we can get a fuller 'Best of' one day which includes all the years.
So, of this stuff we have everything which is expected. "Gimme All Your Loving", "Sharp Dressed Man", "Legs", "Sleeping Bag", "Gun Love" etc . . . There's a couple from Deguello, incl "Cheap Sunglasses" and a couple from El Loco, incl "Tube Snake Boogie".
So from a world-wide perspective it is the greatest hits; but oh for an all-encompassing "Best Of" to include the early years.
22 comments|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2009
Good to boogie to, energetic and mindless; that's ZZ Top in a nutshell. Signature tune 'Gimme all your lovin' was arguably the best thing they ever did and a millstone around their necks, as after this point it all got a bit bland and formulaic. One for the car stereo on a long dull journey.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
I love zz top and this album does what it says. All the classic greats are here along with a few lesser known tracks. Tube snake boogie remains my favourite but there is something here for everybody. Great price too. All your ZZ Top on one album!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2005
I actually remember when we thought ZZ Top was going to be a one hit wonder. They had "La Grange" and then that seemed like it was going to be the end of the road as the Seventies fizzled out. Then 1983's "Eliminator" came out with "Gimme All Your Lovin'" and suddenly ZZ Top exploded as a rockin' blues based power trio. When it comes to putting your pedal to the metal and having a driving beat nobody beats ZZ Top. In fact, in one of Stephen King's "Dark Tower" books one of Roland's crew recognizes the bass line from a ZZ Top song coming from an evil city. See? Even in fictional dimensions the servants of the Dark Man know the value of ZZ Top. Some people say they cannot tell the difference between "Sharp Dressed Man" and "Legs," but that is their headache; people like that probably cannot tell who has the longer beard, Billy Gibbons or Dusty Hill (ironically its not Frank Beard, LOL). ZZ Top has been keeping me awake at night grading student papers for almost two decades and if I am not mistaken, a vehicle that looks a lot like their snaZZy red vehicle was car of the year or something like that. Even if you are not inclined to have their entire oeuvre on your shelf, then you have to at least have this "Greatest Hits" collection. Remember: "they've got a lot of nice girls out there."
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
I had this as a cassette and decided to re-acquaint myself with it in CD form. Great stuff. My favourite used to be Legs but now I think it is one of the weaker tracks. It is rock with self awareness and humour. Witness Pearl Necklace and Cheap Sunglasses. They are also pretty mean musicians too especially Billy Gibbons who probably doesn't get the recognition he deserves as a rock guitarist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
Whilst I am pleased with this CD, I have to mention that among the well-known great tracks such as Sharp Dressed Man and Gimme All Your Lovin, there appears to be lesser known, more repetitive type songs that I personally can take or leave. It is a pity that great tracks from the Afterburner album were not included in this medley of hits which would have made this CD for me a 5 star!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
Sorry late been very ill. Great album, brill tunes
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)