Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars164
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 7 September 2006
Take a man with an absolutely fantastic voice. Add some of the greatest songs of the last 25 years. Mix in an acoustic guitar, and apply absolute emotions of happiness, sadness, love and hurt to each song and you have james Taylors Greatest Hits.

How anyone can describe Taylors voice as bland is completely beyond me. It is Pure Class. Thats why his songs are love now as much as they were in the 70's 80's and 90's.

Its a must have album for people who appreciate beautiful songs, sung by a fantastic singer.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2012
Anyone who is a fan of James Taylor's wonderful voice ought to own this Greatest Hits album. All the hits are here, and it is easy to see why tracks such as "Carolina in My Mind" and "Fire and Rain" made him famous. Although the tracks towards the end of the CD, particularly the live version of "Steamroller", may be less well appreciated by those who only know the hits, it would be well worth your while to buy this just for the first half, and for those with an open mind these slightly less famous tracks are a joy.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2003
James Taylor is regarded as a legend by almost all whom have listened to his music. I agree. He is a legend. He can write songs which hold such meaning and convey such passion. This almbus captures and condenses his huge mass of work into what I consider to be one of the single greatest albums of all time. It has the only James Taylor songs you need hear on it. The opening song "Something in the way she moves" is a beatiful example of his ability to sing and play complex finger-style guitar. "Steamroller" is just amazing to listen to as it is both musically brilliant and hilarious at the same time. While "Shower the people" may be a little flimsy, it in no way dimishes the rest of the album as the calibre is so high. 99% of people regard him as a truly fantastic singer-songer writer. 1% are able to recognise his expertise and skill with a guitar. But, for some unfathomable reason, too few realise the sound of his voice. When you listen to "You've got a friend", just stop and LISTEN. He has to have the most beatiful voice ever. I exaggerate not. His voice is simply amazing. This album has a few of those songs where you hear his voice at its best. "Country Road" is a wonderful, lively song. "You've got a friend" is by far the best cover of a song ever. And, well. What can yuo say about "Fire and Rain"? This is a true gem of a song. Inspired by the loss of his close friend Suzanne, this is a beautiful example of folk music. These really are great hits. Legend.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2010
there's something just fabulous about James Taylor. Listen to Mexico - it just reminds me of sitting on a beach in some far off hot and beautiful place sipping a tequila sunrise!
James has just the best melodic tones in his voice - he doesn't need loads of different instruments flying around when he's singing just his guitar.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2009
James Taylor: Greatest Hits
This is a great, laid back album. If you are a casual fan, this album has everything you need.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2001
As Greatest Hits albums go, this is a must for everyone. Those of you who do not have any James Taylor in your collection, this album is for you. From the soft 'Folky' sounds of 'Carolina' and 'Fire and Rain' to the hard blues sound of 'Steamroller'. I knew this guy was good, this album tells you how good, if you missed him first time round.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 June 2016
This is the 'Greatest Hits' album by James Taylor, first issued in 1976. It's presents 12 fantastic songs - and remains the best-selling album of his career! Taylor demonstrates his amazing talent as a singer-songwriter, as well as a musician, within the genre known as folk-rock (although he often transcends this genre). The songs are beautiful - representing genuine classics (such as "Carolina in My Mind", "Something in the Way She Moves", and "You've Got a Friend"). His vocal style works perfectly with the gentle - often poignant - melody of the music.

Of course, this album no longer represents Taylor's greatest hits - as he's released several albums and singles since 1976. Nonetheless, it expresses the very best of Taylor's work during the early years of his career. If you're a fan of folk-rock from the 1970's, I thoroughly recommend this excellent album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 1999
This album gathers together all the best 'tunes' of the great man.I remeber first hearing 'Fire and Rain' back in the summer of '72 and it still stirs those same emotions in me today. From the counrty ballads of 'Carolina'& 'Sweet Baby James' to the excellent live version of 'Steamroller Blues' I highly recommend any fan of great music to get this album ASAP
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
I have listened to James Taylor for better part of 40 years an it doesn't get any better than this album featuring the best of this wonderful singer/songwriter. Used to won this back in the vinyl days but sadly lost it so I was delighted to see it listed as a CD with downloadable mp3s. If you are not old enough to remember it first time round, give it a try. My grown up daughters were raised on this and similar kinds of music and still like it even although they have developed their own musical tastes. No way I could give it less that the full 5 stars.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2000
I just love Jmes Taylor and this CD holds his all time greatest hits although I can think of so many more! 'Fire and Rain' is simply a classic along with 'You've Got a Friend' but other amazing tunes that touch your sould include 'Carolina in my Mind' and 'Shower the People'. If you don't know much about James taylor buy this ablum and have a taste you'll soon learn to love him!
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)