Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars16
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 January 2013
Purchased this book after seeing it in a local supermarket.
Decided to have a flick through and ended up putting in the basket.
Well researched, interesting and informative. (ignore the below review 'neen')
Living in Manchester and interested in history & genealogy etc., gave an interesting insight to the times too.
Recommend to anyone wanting a good read!
Well done Alan!!
Looking forward to more from the Author!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Quite an interesting read and worth a look into days gone by and how the attitudes of both the police and the criminals have changed. It's a fair cop ,copper type of admission from a more chivalrous age though no less brutal. My interest in Manchester comes as a supporter of one off the the city's team ,City to be exact and have purchased a number of books relating to the place. I find it better to relate to places you actually are aware of. Tough life in days gone bye and this book gives a slight insight into that. Worth the buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
Very interesting short stories. I also knew Harry Allen`s daughter, Christine. The family had the Junction hotel pub at the corner of Higher lane at Besses junction. We knew he was the hangman, but weird to actually know who he hanged all these years later, reading this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
A very interesting book with murders from the past in areas I actually know. This book is an easy read ideal as a holiday book or for me a chapter before bedtime! Enjoyed this book and have ought another in this series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
It is as if the author cut and pasted the information from a public library source. Whilst I accept that it should be fact based it only served to leave the reader wanting answers; poorly researched and presented
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
Very interesting book has lots of cases that I had not heard of before and I read a lot of true crime and am also from Manchester. I recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
quite an interesting read, especially for those interested in the history of Manchester, an insight into life from the commoners point of view
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
A real insight to some of the murders that have happened in Manchester throughout the centuries. Very informative and an interesting subject!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
All of Alan Hayhurst's books are about the area I live so they relate more to me.This book again brings the people alive (good for a book on murders).This book along with the other four by the same author have been thoroughly enjoyed and look forward to any more he may publish.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
recieved was for a xmas gift so dont know how it was enjoyed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)