Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available


Great Singers - Jennie Tourel

Fryderyk Franciszek Chopin , Gabriel Fauré , Georges Bizet , Gioachino Rossini , Joseph Haydn , et al. Audio CD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
Price: £6.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, 28 July? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Product details

  • Orchestra: Philadelphia Orchestra, Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, Columbia Symphony Orchestra
  • Conductor: Eugene Ormandy, Pietro Cimara, Jean Morel
  • Composer: Fryderyk Franciszek Chopin, Gabriel Fauré, Georges Bizet, Gioachino Rossini, Joseph Haydn, et al.
  • Audio CD (3 Mar 2003)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Naxos Historical
  • ASIN: B00008IHVK
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 404,383 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. The mermaid's song (Now the dancing sunbeams play) - Haydn
2. A pastoral song (My mother bids me bind my hair) - Haydn
3. Semiramide: Bel raggio lusinghier - Rossini
4. Il barbiere di Siviglia: Una voce poco fa - Rossini
5. Zyczenie (The maiden's wish) - Chopin
6. Moja pieszczota (My joys) - Chopin
7. Niema czego trzeba (Melancholy) - Chopin
8. Carmen: Habanera - Bizet
9. Carmen: Seguidille - Bizet
10. Adieu de l'hotesse arabe - Bizet
11. Romance de l'etoile - Chabrier
12. Trois poemes d'un jour, op. 21 - Faure
13. Vocalise en forme de Habanera - Ravel
14. Si mes vers avaient des ailes - Hahn
15. Serenade - Mussorgsky
16. Field-Marshal death - Mussorgsky
17. O cease thy singing, maiden fair - Rachmaninov
18. In the silence of the night - Rachmaninov
19. Floods of spring - Rachmaninov
20. Alexander Nevsky: Field of the dead - Prokofiev

Product Description

I will ship by EMS or SAL items in stock in Japan. It is approximately 7-14days on delivery date. You wholeheartedly support customers as satisfactory. Thank you for you seeing it.

Customer Reviews

4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An engaging vocal portrait. 10 Feb 2004
I am grateful to Naxos for letting this major singer hit my eardrums and my shelves for the first time. The voice is strong in all its range; technique is assured; enunciation is clear whether the language is French, Russian, Italian or English; and breath control and phrasing are exemplary.
When Tourel’s Rachmaninov recordings were first issued, the authors of “The Record Guide” wrote, “She sings these songs with complete authority, great feeling and a beautiful tone”. Comparing her Rossini arias with those recorded by Conchita Supervia, they wrote, “Jennie Tourel’s recordings give much less trouble to reproduce; they are also much less fun”.
Thanks to Ward Marston, the producer and restoration engineer of this 75 minute CD, everything here reproduces with no trouble at all; indeed, the sound quality, considering that the recordings date from 1945-1952, is stunning.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category